Buy the Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump image
 
(based on 33 ratings)
Brand: ASCENT
Located in: Accessories, Bike Pumps, Floor Pumps
Inflating your tires won't be an uphill battle with the Ascent floor pump!
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
2 stars
(based on 33 reviews)
18% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to pump(16), Good handle(19), Precise(7), Rugged(10), Stable(15)
Cons:
Hard to pump(5), Inaccurate dial(8), Leaks(11)
Best Uses:
City bikes(7), Keep in the garage(13), Mountain bikes(8), Not just bikes(7), Road bikes(10)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(15)
 
Difficult
By BryceVerified Reviewer from Lamar, Co on 2/19/2009
Pros:
Stable
Cons:
Hard to remove Chuck, Inaccurate Dial
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Keep In the Garage, Mountain Bikes, Not Just Bikes, Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

Tough to seat correctly and when done pumping almost takes an act of God to remove from valves whether schrader or presta

 
Needs a different head
By str from calif on 2/9/2009
Pros:
Good Handle, Precise, Stable
Cons:
Hard to Pump, Leaks
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Mountain Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

The presta head leaked so badly I replaced it with it with a third party head. After doing this, the pump works ok on road tires - at least up to 120 psi.

 
Don't Bother
By kkauffmaVerified Reviewer from Southbury, CT on 12/9/2008
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Rugged, Stable
Cons:
Presta valve fit poor
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

After ruining two more tubes this week by pulling the stem out, I am junking this pump. Pay the extra for a better one.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
No good for the long run -
By cpine from los angeles on 10/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I pump up my tires before each ride to around 115-120 psi - 5 days/ week. 8,000 miles/yr Pump is ~1yr or less old. started out great & easy. Now, valve won't stay on tube stem. Not a durable pump. Spend more for a better pump that will last - you save in the long run.

 
Very Disappointing
By Steve from Texas on 10/3/2008
Pros:
Good Handle
Cons:
Inaccurate Dial, Poor fit on Presta Valves
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

After 2 months of use, the gauge is stuck at zero. The fit on Presta valves is very poor. It's not worth the bargain price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice pump with one big problem
By GaryBVerified Reviewer from Aurora Ohio on 9/17/2008
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Precise, Rugged
Cons:
Poor air chuck design
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Keep In the Garage, Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

Nice pump with one problem, when using with a presta valve, the chuck is hard to remove. The rubber seal locks around the threads. This requires too much upward pressure when you remove it. I have pulled the stem out of two tubes (you can not repair). This seems to be a design flaw that force me to go out and buy a new
(differnet) pump.

 
Worst pump I have evewr owned
By KVerified Reviewer from San Diego on 9/13/2008
Pros:
None
Cons:
Inaccurate read, Losses seal
Describe Yourself:
Collegiate/Pro
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

[...] I'm taking this one back yet again but this time I'm going to ask for a different brand. This piece of junk no longer creates a good seal after 2 months of use, I have confirmed that it has an inaccurate readout of 10psi with a local bike pro. It has cost me 4 tires now either in ripping the valve out or overinflation. Worst pump I have used in 10 years of cycling.

 
The worst pump I have ever used
By FidVerified Reviewer from Parker, CO on 9/12/2008
Cons:
Hard to Pump
Best Uses:
Keep In the Garage
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I have used a number of floor pumps over the more than 20 years I have been riding and this is the worst pump I have ever used. The Schrader side is so tight that at times I have had to grip the valve with pliers in order to remove the pump. The presta side is so loose that it will not stay on the valve beyond about 80 psi unless my son holds the pump on the valve. Use you money wisely and by a better pump.

 
***Save your money***
By AlexVerified Reviewer from Florida on 9/8/2008
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

Spend a little extra and buy yourself a good pump. The money I saved on this pump I've already spent on new tubes. Once you get the head on the presta valve forget it, you have to pull so hard that you will rip the valve right off the tube. Anyway, that has been my experience. Good luck and keep on riding.

 
I'm done
By RB from New Jersey on 9/8/2008
Cons:
Hard to Pump
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I'm done. Tried to make this pump work. Just broke off a stem and I'm done using this pump. Very hard to secure to the stem, hard to get off the stem. Auto value on the dual head worked 1/2 the time. Worst floor pump that I have ever owned.

 
Good Pump for the Price
By KenVerified Reviewer from Norwalk, CT on 9/5/2008
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Rugged, Stable
Cons:
Inaccurate Dial, Leaks
Best Uses:
Keep In the Garage, Not Just Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

After 5 years the Presta portion of the polymer head, which is the one I use most of the time, has worn and leaks. When new, it was so tight it was hard to seat it properly. Gauge is a few pounds off, but close enough. Good pump at the price. I'll probably buy another and save this one for Schrader valves.

 
head won't release on threaded valves
By cycledanVerified Reviewer from long island NY on 9/3/2008
Pros:
Good Handle, Rugged
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

Having used several pumps over 13 years, this is the only pump I have ever had where I couldn't release it from a tube and it broke the valve. I lubed the head but if you have threaded tube valves it just sucks. I wanted it as a back up pump for my trainer bike. I should have spent the money I wasted on tubes to buy a better pump.

 
Only lasted a year
By Joe from Ohio on 8/26/2008
Cons:
Leaks
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

In less than a year, it started to leak. Trying to use it, I bent a stem and ruined a tube.
Very poor quality

 
Plunger cracked in only 5 months
By BillyJoeVerified Reviewer from Kingwood, TX on 8/9/2008
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle
Cons:
Leaks
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

Used this pump on 2 bikes for average of twice per week for only 5 months before the plunger cracked and it won't pump air any longer. Would have rated it a 4 before this happened. Buying a different brand tomorrow.

 
Don't get if using on presta valves
By BCVerified Reviewer from Jamestown, NC on 8/6/2008
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Precise, Stable
Cons:
Head doesn't stay on, Leaks
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Keep In the Garage, Mountain Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I've had 2 of these pumps. First one I exchanged because it was all oily on the outside - didn't know what that was about. Second one worked great for maybe a month, then the head wouldn't stay attached to the valve. Seriously, I only used this pump a handful of times (<10) and it doesn't work. It might work for mountain bikes where the pressure doesn't get over 80 pounds.

 
Great Product
By Commander10Verified Reviewer from Stockton on 8/4/2008
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Precise, Rugged, Stable
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I have had this pump for 3 plus years and have had no problems to date. My son has this pump also again no problems.

 
Great! At first...
By Aging JarheadVerified Reviewer from San Antonio, Tx on 8/2/2008
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Precise, Stable
Cons:
Leaks
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Keep In the Garage, Mountain Bikes, Not Just Bikes, Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I use the pump for two road bikes (presta) and a mountain bike (schrader) and occasionally to inflate a ball. Found it difficult to insert and remove a presta valve into the head, but with use this problem disappeared. Then I discovered that the head would blow off a non-threaded presta valve before reaching 120 psi. Now it blows off a threaded presta valve before reaching the necessary pressure. I've owned it only a few months.

 
I Hate IT!
By RobbyVerified Reviewer from Chicago on 7/28/2008
Cons:
Inaccurate Dial, Leaks
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

This is the worst pump I have purchased, should have spent more money. Recently on a week ride three others had the same pump with the same problems, it won't seal and if it does you can't get it off the valve. It broke two presta valves that week. DON'T BUY IT

 
Dont buy if you have threaded presta val
By BlakeVerified Reviewer from West Point, NY on 7/19/2008
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

If you put this on a threaded presta valve it will not come off and will rip the valve away from the tube.

 
Average pump
By Roadie from Washington, DC on 6/30/2008
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Precise, Rugged, Stable
Cons:
Leaks
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Keep In the Garage, Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I've had the pump for 2+ years. I think overall it's decent product but the head leaks a little on Presta valves. I don't think this changes the reading that much. It works well for Shrader valves for my car tires. But I don't like that fact that the handle can not be locked down when stowed. Otherwise I would recommend it to others.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good value backed by great service
By HarryVerified Reviewer from Decatur, AL on 2/28/2007
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Rugged, Stable
Best Uses:
All bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

If the head is directing air to the wrong opening, I seal the opening I wish to use with my finger and give the pump a quick stroke. The head then automatically switches.

The presta side is very tight on threaded valve stems, especially when new. Eventually (after 3 years) a piece broke out of the seal and I couldn't get a replacement locally. However, I emailed tech support and they mailed me a new head - gratis!

I like the top mounted gauge - it is easy to read.

I ride about 6,000 - 8,000 miles a year and have used this pump exclusively for three years. Except for the problem noted above, the pump has worked flawlessly.

Bottom line for me: a very good pump backed by excellent service.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good pump, GREAT value.
By AcroAirVerified Reviewer from Chattanooga, TN on 1/24/2007
Pros:
Good Handle, Rugged
Cons:
Hard to Pump
Best Uses:
Keep In the Garage, Not Just Bikes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

The pump has exceeded my expectations. I must be lucky, too, because I've also not encountered the "stuck @ 20psi" problem, and I've owned my for over 3 years now. Also, the gauge does seem to be pretty accurate: after using the pump to adjust the air pressure in my car tyres, I double-checked the pressure w/ a conventional air-pressure gauge, and it was spot on. Seems to take a lot of pumping to inflate the car tyres, but I guess that wasn't necessarily its intended purpose, though. I've also had no trouble going back and forth between my road bike (presta) and mountain bike (schrader), except when I forget to lock the head! It's been a VERY good pump, ESPECIALLY for the money.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
for the price you cannot beat it
By Superfi from Diamond Bar CA on 12/8/2006
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Precise, Rugged, Stable
Best Uses:
Keep In the Garage, Mountain Bikes, Not Just Bikes, Road Bikes

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

we use is regularly on two bicycles ( three times per week ) even used on our two cars , after a year still no problems .

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good pump, but keep a backup
By DarylVerified Reviewer from Fremont, CA on 12/6/2006
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Stable
Cons:
Needs Pressure in Tube
Best Uses:
Keep In the Garage

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

This is a really stable, easy to pump, and has a good gauge. HOWEVER, I have owned two of them and both had the same problem...the pump needs air in the tube to detect which nozzle in the head to send air through. If you are trying to inflate a totally flat tire, then you need to use your backup pump to get it started.
This pump is really just good for topping off your tires between rides. (I use an old junky pump to fix flats with.)

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Piece of junk .
By peanut from St. Paul, MN on 12/6/2006
Pros:
None
Cons:
Hard to Pump, worked for 1 month

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I'm writing this to spare someone else the agony of buying this pump and being grossly disappointed with it. After one month it just wouldn't seat properly on a presta valve. You have to press down so far that virtually all the air leaks out of the tube before you get the head locked. Then to get the head off you have to really yank on it and it makes an extremely loud hissing sound. I borrowed it to a friend before a ride and he tore the valve right off the tube.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
What's all the hubbub, bub?
By JeffVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 11/21/2006
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Great value
Cons:
That dang hose clip
Best Uses:
Keep In the Garage, Not Just Bikes

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

Maybe I'm just lucky, but I've had this pump for two years and it hasn't been a problem yet-- except for the irritating wire clip used to keep the hose looped securely around the base: it's a pain to unclip/re-clip. But the pump does a good job with presta or schrader, gets my tires up to pressure quickly, and also gets used to pump up the occasional soccer ball or basketball too. Much better (and cheaper) than the Zefal floorpump I had before that broke after one season.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Okay Pump
By Dave from Mount Airy, NC on 11/15/2006
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Stable
Cons:
Inaccurate Dial
Best Uses:
Not Just Bikes

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I have the exact same problem as one of the other reviewers. My pump has worked great for awhile but now my dial is stuck at 20. I also don't know what the actual pressure is in my tires, going by that dial. Other than that, I haven't had too many problems. I did rip a few valve stems off at first which completely sucked just before a triathlon, but now that I have used it a good bit, I haven't had that problem again.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Only has worked a couple of times
By dearmaria from NY on 11/14/2006

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I can't use on my bike anymore. It now just used for my wheelbarrel tire. The valve somehow switch to the large setting and I can't get it to plump on the small setting. I guess it is supposed to know when to switch to either the presta valve or schrader but it doesn't and neither do I.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not good at all
By Martin from Seattle, WA on 10/21/2006
Cons:
Leaks, Poor quality

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I've used the pump maybe 5 times total before the head broke and the pump is now unusable. Even while the head was in somewhat working order, it didn't make good seal around the valve so the air constantly leaked out.
I don't recommend this pump at all.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Could be better...
By JonVerified Reviewer from San Jose, CA on 8/26/2006
Pros:
Stable
Cons:
Inaccurate Dial, Leaks
Best Uses:
Keep In the Garage

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

I've had this pump for a year now, and it's been great until recently, when the dial just doesn't return to 0. It's stuck at 20! Now I don't know if I'm pumping 20 psi lower than I should, or if it just doesn't read anything lower than 20.

I do believe that pumps are supposed to last longer than a year.

To it's credit, I have used it plenty of times over this past year, with my 2 road bikes at 110 psi, mountain bikes, sports balls, and even my car tires!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome pump!
By TS from Santa Monica, CA on 8/16/2006
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Rugged, Stable
Cons:
Inaccurate Dial
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Keep In the Garage, Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

Had it for two years now, and it works great! Presto and Schrader both supported. The attach head is a little large (only an issue for really small kids wheels) but can be crammed in as necessary -- size hasn't stopped me from filling a tire yet. Delivers plenty of air volume for bike tires, but not enough to be used to inflate large inflatables (pools, etc.). The dial is helpful, but leaves a bit to be desired in dial-precision (the year / model I have has the dial at the base of the pump, not at the top like this one, so perhaps they've fixed this issue).

Reasonably rugged. I've had another pump go bad in the same time period. Overall, good value, and I would buy it again.

 
Not impressed
By Jack H from Clover, SC on 8/14/2006
Cons:
Inaccurate Dial

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

Gauge at least 20 lbs off. Difficult to remove from valve after pumping.

 
Didn't last
By MRB from Austin on 6/30/2006
Pros:
Easy to Pump, Good Handle, Stable
Cons:
Leaks
Best Uses:
Road Bikes

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Mega Force Floor Pump:

After a year the head is wearing out and leaking.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.