Buy the E3 Form Titanium Saddle on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
E3 Form Titanium Saddle image
 
(based on 42 ratings)
Brand: E3
Located in: Bike Parts, Bike Seats/Saddles, Men's Saddles
Improved comfort with increased power and efficiency; the E3 Form Titanium bicycle saddle does it all.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4 stars
(based on 42 reviews)
88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(6), Dries quickly(8), Durable(12), Good padding(9), Lightweight(34)
Cons:
Uncomfortable(8)
Best Uses:
All around(13), Commuting(12), Long rides(24), Road racing(20)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(18), Casual/ recreational(3), Competitive cyclist(4)
 
Comfortable is a Relative Term..
By mech130Verified Reviewer from Hunterdon County, NJ on 8/30/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Value, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

This is my second E3 saddle I have owned in almost 3 years(first one destroyed in a crash). I have to say the saddle is a great value. One of the best saddles for the money. My belief is that there isn't a comfortable road bike saddle out there. It is how much you can tolerate and what you are concentrating during the ride. During group rides I tend to focus on my performance so I feel no discomfort in the butt area. But on solo runs in the beginning I do feel some discomfort down there until my breathing and my heart rate is up and then I'm more focused on my output.

 
Great Seat Great Value
By Max MumboVerified Reviewer from Sturgeon Bay, WI on 8/18/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Not Enough Padding
Best Uses:
Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I do triathlons. My bike has aerobars so I ride in the down position most of the time. This seat is excellent for that. The first triathlon I used it in I increased my average bike speed by over 1mph over my previous best. I swim in speedos so I have no padding in my pants when I bike. After trying the traditional butt wedge seats, I opted for a more padded seat with my first seat. The problem is you sacrifice a lot of weight. This seat is feather light. I was concerned it would be uncomfortable but it isn't. In fact, I had some problems before with my feet getting a little numb on longer rides. This seat seems to have helped that problem. You really can feel your butt cheeks settle onto it giving you support. I am impressed – and it is a great value compared with the high priced models. I really don't think you can go wrong with this seat.

 
Can't beat it for the price
By GutbucketVerified Reviewer from Fenton, Michigan on 8/7/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Padding
Best Uses:
Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

Got about 2,000 miles of this saddle. It is great for the price and much more comfortable than other, more expensive saddles I've had. The saddle is not as wide as I had hoped and not as wide as it appears in the photo (nose is quite narrow which is why it looks wider). It's worth trying if you have had bad luck with saddles as I have.

 
E3 Titanium saddle
By MysticCountrymanVerified Reviewer from Graham, Texas on 7/23/2009
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Good Padding, Lightweight
Best Uses:
All Around
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I replaced my San Marco Laser with the E3 140mm. My sit bones measure 108mm or 4.25". I just returned from a 25 mile spin and the saddle was incredible. I could actually feel my sit bones on the saddle and I never experianced any discomfort. The absence of genital numbness was remarkable. My butt is a little sore now, but was very comfy in the saddle . It is usually the opposite for me. Buy this saddle. I did my research. Measure your sit bones first. I used a big ziploc with sugar and sat on the edge of my coffee table. Take a ruler and measure the distance between the indentions. I bought my saddle 32mm greater than my sit bone measurement (up to 40 would have been okay). It worked. Good Luck, r

 
Better than more expensive models
By Sweatin SteveVerified Reviewer from Tulsa, OK on 7/2/2009
Pros:
Durable, Fits most applications, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I have two spares waiting for one to wear out. I have one on my carbon racer and one on my aluminum hybrid. This seat provides the clearance needed to pedal without rubbing and provides excellent support. I've tried seats upwards of [$]and this seat is much better and more comfortable. I ride 35 miles per day commuting and put in 50 mile rides on the weekends. Very comfortable in the drops or sitting up.

 
Great saddle for money
By Gear Head from Columbus Ohio on 5/17/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

did 24 mile ride today. After 6 miles started to get uncomfortable. Quick adjusment it felt great the rest of the ride.

 
Best Saddle that I Have Ever Ridden
By PT CruiserVerified Reviewer from NY on 5/12/2009
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I'm 6'5" tall and 185 lbs. I'm forty years old and over the years I have tried over 20 different saddles. This saddle works better for me than any other saddle that I have ever tried. This saddle really does minimize numbness problems more than other saddles. The shape of the saddle and the lack of deep soft padding and the lack of cutouts really do work as intended. My previous favorite was the Saddleco Flow, but I would much rather be sitting on a Performance E3 saddle now.

 
Great Saddle for the Money
By Chicken WingVerified Reviewer from Fresno, CA on 4/11/2009
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Good design, Lightweight
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

Excellent quality bike saddle. Using it on my cyclocross for commutes and early morning coffee shop sprints. Very light weight and good design. Plus you cant beat the price!!!

 
Did not work for me
By Torres from San Antonio, TX on 3/13/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Not Enough Padding
Best Uses:
Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I purchased this saddle based on the number of positive reviews it recieved. Unfortunately, it did not work well with my hind quarters. I did try and dial it in several times but the only position that made it tolerable was to angle the nose up which put pressure on other areas. This was my first aftermarket saddle, but the stock seat that came with my fuji rubiax seemed to provide more support. I've always had issues with saddle comfort but this one seemed to make them worse.

 
Did not work for me
By robparVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 2/19/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I wanted to like this saddle but it is to narrow for me. It needs about 1 inch more in width to fit my seat bones. The shape is good and avoids thigh rubbing. I wish it came in a wider width! Then I would buy it...

 
Great saddle at a great price
By justsayyesVerified Reviewer from los gatos, ca on 2/8/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
All Around
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

Bought this during closeout. Actually does what it claims in relieving pressure on the 'sensitive' areas. Much more comfortable - re: firm - than the Performance Team Saddle I have on my mountain bike. Using the E3 on my cross bike so long rides are not so likely. Nevertheless, it's nice and firm like a racing saddle should be and the innovative shape works for me. I'd give it 5 stars but I haven't put on any high mileage rides as yet.

HIGHLY recommended, but YMMV.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The E3 Ti saddle rules!
By They call me the Hammer from Golden, Colorado on 11/4/2008
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Padding, Lightweight
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I'm 6'4", 190 lbs, and am over 50 years old - ride 5 days a week - usually between 30 and 50 miles per ride - this saddle fits my sit bones perfectly - the amount of padding is perfect - the Ti rails absorb shock and road vibration - overall weight is great - the price was outstanding - have never gotten numb - I don't understand why anyone would pay more

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Am I sitting on anything? Oh wait I am..
By Lazlo from San Jose, CA on 10/2/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

The instant I got on the bike with this saddle, I noticed my legs weren't remotely close to rubbing-and i was wearing loose jeans!

Perhaps other companies have caught on, but what it is, is what it is. There's some serious benefit from this saddle not only regarding leg motion, but comfort and weight (~190g!). E3's explanation about the claimed lack of padding is to provide sufficient padding while avoiding the drawbacks of having too much. Plus, racing-oriented riders would benefit from this as stiffer=less power loss. But if you're not the racer type, it wouldn't hurt getting used to it anyway for the sake of your...yeahs...
The Ti rail setup absorbs shock nicely and leaves a stylish impression.

Only 'cons' I can imagine are the 1) narrow width, which combined with the stiffeness, may not feel too well with bigger riders. And 2) the thickness; maybe it's just because I swapped from a much older saddle design that was thicker. The problem with a thinner saddle is the requirement of raising your seatpost, affecting the durability in that aspect. But it's only a mm or so difference if you're in that situation.

Pretty, Light, Comfy, Stiff, Ergonomic....great saddle. Probably can do your casual A to B in less time...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent
By Seyekul-GuyVerified Reviewer from Clermont, FL on 8/10/2008
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Lightweight
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I have this saddle on my tandem, touring bike, and go-fast bike, and I have two spares in the closet. If you check out the research behind this saddle design you will probably want to give it a try [@]. I bought one as soon as it came out. It provided me with the desired protection for the jewels and all-day comfort. My only complaint: the front mounting point for the rails on my first saddle broke in a very minor fall. Nevertheless, given the fact that it seems to be always on sale at a ridiculously low price, I just bought another. I would note that I found the gel model of this saddle to be uncomfortable, so all of mine are the slightly more expensive ones with the Ti rails.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
not bad
By outlateVerified Reviewer from md on 7/2/2008
Pros:
Lightweight
Best Uses:
All Around
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I haven't tried too many saddles, but this one feels pretty comfortable to me. I have only had numbness on a few occasions, this saddle is a little tricky to find the right spot to sit, if you inch forward a little you start to get numb. But is worth a try, especially at it's sale price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Threw out the receit
By bulldog754 from san antonio,texas on 6/22/2008
Pros:
Perfect support
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

When I installed and made adjustments I thought I'd better keep the receit.Two hours and one long ride later I got home and threw out the receit. I'm 5'10 185 lbs and it gave me perfect support.

 
Great product for twice the price
By Gerry from RVC,NY on 6/18/2008
Pros:
Good Padding, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

Put on about 50 miles on it in 3 days. Great rides because of firm sitz points and very lightweight. Can't beat the value.

 
Great in the drops, iffy on hills
By ShutUpGeekVerified Reviewer from Omaha, NE on 6/18/2008
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Chafes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

This saddle keeps you from going numb, and it's great when I'm riding in the drops or aero. There's not much padding and some people won't like that. But on hilly rides, after about 40 miles the "corners" start digging into me, and I don't think any amount of chamois cream will help. The discomfort from the corners means I'm looking for a new saddle. That sucks, because I like everything else about it. Maybe if my rear were a bit narrower I wouldn't have this problem.

 
I love this saddle!
By T1025 from Seattle, WA on 6/16/2008
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I did some reading on this saddle before I ordered it but I still felt unsure if this saddle would work 'as advertised'. Well, it does!
It's a great saddle and it usually sells for under $40! I would definitely buy it again!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ouch!.....
By WmEbertVerified Reviewer from Lehigh Valley, PA on 5/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Cons:
Not Enough Padding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

The most uncomfortable seat I've ever ridden. Put it on my bike prior to a 50 mile ride and was in pain for most of it. I'm 6'2", 235 lbs and it just wasn't enough seat for me. NO padding to speak of at all. Might work for you, didn't work for me.

 
Great Saddle and price
By No2 from Annandale, VA on 5/14/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

Great saddle for most day rides. i use it for my daily commute (32 miles total) and have no problem. I am a short and light built, so this comment may not apply to a large built with wider seatbones spread.

It is also one of the lightest seat in its price range and above. I got it on sale and it is well worth it.

 
Works As Advertised!
By Trick Daddy from San Clemente, CA on 4/22/2008
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Durable, Lightweight, No numbness
Cons:
Not Enough Padding
Best Uses:
All Around, Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I'm 6'0 tall and 195 pounds and I've tried many saddles over the years but only the E3 Titanium has not caused numbness. I've been using it for rides up to 4 hours long which includes lots of climbing in the saddle. No problem with the E3. It's competition light, really comfortable in the drops and it costs a fraction of some other saddles. It could use a bit more cushioning. If you're having numbness it's hard to rationalize not trying this saddle.

 
Great Concept, but not wide enough
By cdpnycVerified Reviewer from New York City on 4/21/2008
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Chafes, Too Narrow
Best Uses:
Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I love the design and thought behind this saddle, but as other tall reviewers have written, it is just too narrow for me. (I am 6'1", 180 lbs) I also found that despite the narrow nose I still had chafing on the insides of my thighs (I rubbed the logo off the side of the saddle in the first 200 miles of riding). I would recommend this for people who are comfortable with narrow saddles. Great price, nice design...

 
Good fit, good value
By pawpieVerified Reviewer from DC on 4/14/2008
Pros:
cut/fit, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

Been riding this saddle about 10-12 hours a week for the past month, and it's felt good since first time out. The cut cradles your hammies/ sitbones, and I feel the added leverage while climbing in the saddle and pedalling in the drops.

Cant vouch for durability since I havent owned the product long enough. Also, I'm fairly small and prefer narrow saddles without excess "plush". Heavier riders expecting more overt cushioning might look elsewhere.

Saddle purchase are risky--it takes time to get solid impressions, and every person has different needs and preferences. The E3's low price mitigates this risk.

 
This saddle is for narrow sit bones
By Bianchi CyclistVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 3/5/2007
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Looks good
Cons:
Not Enough Padding, Too Narrow
Best Uses:
Road Racing, Shorter Rides
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I am a 6'1" 200 pound rider looking to go longer distances (building up to centuries). I was encourage by some of the reviews here that said the E3 form was GREAT for long distances.My first 200 miles (20-30 mile rides) with the E3 Form made me think I found nirvana -- I could tell instantly the saddle was a huge improvement over the stock saddle. At first I had a little numbness in the perinium, but thanks to a bike fitting I found out I had the saddle too far back and moving it forward on the rails fixed the problem.Once I started riding over 40 miles with the saddle I began to feel a little discomfort in the sit bones. When I rode 54 miles, two days later I tried to ride my bike and it hurt so bad in the sit bones that I had to turn around before the end of the block to put on a different saddle just to be able to ride! And this is with high quality ($100+) cycling shorts. The E3 form has almost no padding and is very hard, and adding miles to that made it feel like a brick to me.The E3 form is too narrow for me. If you have narrow sit bones, give the E3 saddle a try. It is a great saddle, and sports a fantastic price on sale here at Performance. However, it didn't work for me.

 
No Numbness
By MarcthesharkVerified Reviewer from Palmdale, CA on 2/25/2007
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
All Around
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

Just got done with myfirst ride on this saddle and no numbness! Thats a first since I started riding again. Way better than the cutout saddles I've been riding. The width did take a bit of getting used to but overall - excellent.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great seat!
By maricopa mattVerified Reviewer from maricopa, AZ on 1/4/2007
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Padding, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Long Rides, Mountain Biking, Road Racing

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

this is a great, very light saddle. For the price, it doesnt get any better. Just make sure you have a good chamois, otherwise it may feel a bit firm.

great flexibility, and a nice wide tail for sit bone support. I felt no pressure on soft tissues.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great road bike saddle
By Dave S. from Eastern PA on 12/30/2006
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Padding, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Long Rides, Road Racing

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I'm a 6'3" 200 lb cyclist and this saddle works better than any other saddle I've tried so far. It feels different than other saddles and took a little getting use to finding the right sit location. As advertised it does seem to allow better blood flow than other saddles and is very comfortable once you are used to it. The saddle is very light and for the price can't be beat.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Immediately uncomfortable
By ScottVerified Reviewer from Tucson, AZ on 11/24/2006
Cons:
Painful

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

Despite the description, this is a narrow saddle. The tail of the saddle was too narrow for the sit bones of this 6-ft 155-lb rider. This is the only saddle I've tried that was immediately uncomfortable because of pressure on the perineum. The saddle is well made and light.

 
The only saddle that worked for me
By Sam from Houston, TX on 10/23/2006
Pros:
Good Padding, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Long Rides

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

After trying out 4 different saddles I was finally found this the best for me. All the other saddles I tried were uncomfortable for long rides. I could do centuries with this one without feeling very uncomfortable. Saddle are a very persona choice. This may not work for everyone. It definitly worked for very well.

 
Very comfortable
By rsb from Brooklyn on 9/3/2006
Pros:
Lightweight
Best Uses:
Long Rides, Road Racing

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I bought this saddle about two weeks before doing my first century in May (2006). I was riding with a group of four and was the only one not complaining of numbness. I think if you're used to sitting upright, it's not going to work for you. But if you have a more "agressive" position on the bike, this saddle is great. It took me about a week to get used to it though - so don't expect to love it right away. But if you're planning on doing a lot of long riding - this saddle is great. It's now September, and I've done a number of centuries since then (not to mention long training rides) and I've never felt numb with this saddle. It's super light and super comfortable.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
light, comfortable - it delivers
By Long distance MTB from Portland, OR on 7/21/2006
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight, Range of motion, Supportive
Cons:
Unknown durability
Best Uses:
Long Rides, Mountain Biking, Road Racing

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

(This is a short term review. I've had the saddle a few weeks, and logged a few hundred singletrack miles on it.)

I've long searched for a saddle that does not cause me numbness. This saddle is thinly padded, yet comfortable - due to the way it supports the sitz bones and the flexibility of the shell. I'm putting this saddle on all of my bikes (5).

Like any saddle that offers enough support to be comfortable over long periods, this one will probably cause some tenderness during the first few rides of a season.

YMMV - Saddles are a highly personal choice, and like clothing, they must fit properly.

[7 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best lightweight for me
By Mr. NumbnomoreVerified Reviewer from Minnesota on 7/14/2006
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Good Padding, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Long Rides

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

This saddle takes a bit of getting used to. For/aft positioning is critical. However, only this saddle and two Brooks models (Team Pro and B17) have delivered numbness-free cycling for me.

I am very impressed with the saddle and have purchased two.
[...]

I have tried several other saddles, and so far this one is the best for me. Of course, it is a saddle, and we are all different, so YMMV.

Performance Bike Response: This saddle has a shape that is very similar to a Brooks Swift, if you like the swift you will love this one as it is less than half the weight and matches modern bikes a little better. . .

Performance Tech

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Stock up
By happy camper from Dayton, Ohio on 7/6/2006
Pros:
Pressure relief
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Long Rides

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I have tried dozens of saddles over 30 years of riding, and I can say without hesitation that this is the most comfortable one I have found.
Far better than any cutout saddles that I have tried. The wide rear section of this saddle supports the sit bones perfectly, and there is just enough of a dip in the middle to offer relief to sensitive areas. Great combination of comfort and light weight.

[2 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
This saddle is brutal
By road rider from Prescott, AZ on 6/9/2006
Pros:
Cool Look, Lightweight
Cons:
Not Enough Padding, Too Hard
Best Uses:
Road Racing

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I could not get comfortable on this saddle. If you are riding a cutout saddle this one will feel like a torture chamber. Other than its light weight it had no redeeming features.

[6 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lightweight but hard
By ricomundyVerified Reviewer from Angwin, CA on 5/24/2006
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Not Enough Padding
Best Uses:
All Around

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I've used WTB saddles for thousands of miles, but after reading quite a bit about the design and theory of the E3 saddle I decided to try it out. At 183 grams the Ti version was lighter than claimed which is a great and rare thing and for me was about the only positive thing. It is very thin on the nose, and I found it much more difficult to sit up and ride without hands. There was very little to clamp my thighs to to control the bike. It was possible, but I was a lot more wobbly than with other saddles. My main problem was the incredible hardness of the saddle on my sit bones, to the point of feeling like I had bruises even after a 30 mile ride. My sit bones are wide too and this saddle is very narrow so I was sitting on the edges. I did have to point the saddle downwards a couple degrees to be comfortable. There were a few times when riding when it seemed like it molded to me and I lost awareness of it, but the majority of the time I felt like sitting on a hard rock [...]. I will say that I did not notice any numbness which I've experienced with other saddles like the Fizik Aliante. I will also add that my hands and wrists and the balls of my feet ached a lot more after the rides with this saddle indicating that I was putting more pressure on those areas in an effort to relieve the pain of the hard saddle.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
e3 form ti saddle
By cmg from san antonio, texas on 5/22/2006
Pros:
Good Padding, Lightweight, PLENTY OF THIGH CLEARANCE
Best Uses:
After work rides, Long Rides

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

i thought this saddle wasn't going to be wide enough but it covers just fine. Similar to the Specialized Alias size 143 saddle but not as stiff and it has plenty of THIGH CLEARANCE. If you prefer flat saddles this one is to look at. It has the wing suspension system on the ti rails similar to the max flite so much of the road buzz isn't transfered. Long rails so theres plenty of room for adjustment. mine is set up dead flat with less than 4" of drop between saddle and handle bars. Great saddle i'm glad i bought it.

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect for centuries
By No E.D. for me from Brooklyn, NY on 5/19/2006
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Long Rides

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

Did a very hilly century with this saddle after only one training ride on it, and it was great. Around mile 85+ I was starting to feel the distance a little, but I've never ridden on anything that kept me happy that long. If you get numb [...] on long rides, definitely give this a try before you suffer permanent damage.

Also, maybe it was the saddle, maybe not, but I dropped almost EVERYONE I normally ride with. The saddle certainly didn't hurt my performance.

[11 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
does what it is said to do
By cyborg from north carolina on 5/10/2006
Pros:
Lightweight
Best Uses:
Long Rides, Road Racing

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

While I believe that all saddles take some time to get used to and that ultimately none of them are truely comfortable, I have about 6000 miles on one of these saddles and have no problems with numbness as I had with other saddles.

[7 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
[...]
By 'roid addictVerified Reviewer from 29 palms CA on 4/24/2006
Pros:
Great if you like weight on your hands
Cons:
Looks funny
Best Uses:
Commuting

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I could not get this saddle to work for me at all. The only angle that was not horribly painful had so much weight on my hands that my fingers went numb.

[...]

[7 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Truly Improved Comfort
By ScottChVerified Reviewer from Cary, NC on 4/18/2006
Best Uses:
Long Rides, Road Bike, Tandem

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

This saddle works very well on my road bike and our tandem. I had until now been using a Men's Terry Fly, and this made a substantial improvement. Most saddles - even with cutouts or "scoops" - still form an inverted wedge that presses against the inner edges of the pelvic bones. This substantially reduces blood flow that trust me, you don't want less of. It makes a great improvement for me on long rides (>40 miles).

[13 of 19 customers found this review helpful]

 
EXCEEDS EXPECTATIONS
By bicycling4ever from San Francisco, CA on 4/3/2006
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Very comfortable once dialed in
Cons:
Rear width may be too narrow for some
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides, Road Racing

Comments about E3 E3 Form Titanium Saddle:

I have tried 3 or 4 saddles claiming to do what the E3 does and the E3 is the first to truly deliver and I must say exceeded my expectations. The science behind the seat makes perfect sense and the actual seat design delivers as promised. I have done two double centuries on this saddle and as a true testimonial to comfort and pressure-relief the seat seems to disappear. It does take a wee bit of tweaking to get it dialed in but it is well worth the time in terms of comfort and in helping to avoid all those issues around squashing your sensitive areas while sitting on a saddle. Totally recommended.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.