Buy the Selle SMP Pro Saddle on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Selle SMP Pro Saddle image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: SELLE SMP
Located in: Bike Parts, Bike Seats/Saddles, Men's Saddles
Revolutionary design to eliminate pressure in sensitve areas, the Selle SMP Pro bicycle saddle is engineered to limit compression on the pelvic floor for increased stability and a more comfortable position during long, hard bike rides.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Dries quickly(3), Durable(8), Good padding(11)
Cons:
Pricey / poor value(3)
Best Uses:
All around(7), Long rides(10), Road racing(4)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(11)
Was this a gift?:
No(6)
 
Best seat ever!
By TokyoSpin from Tokyo, Japan on 6/14/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Padding, Lightweight
Best Uses:
All Around
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

I am no pro, but I do put a bunch of miles on my bikes. This saddle is the best I have ever sat. I am literally amazed. The price was daunting, but if you put more than a 50 miles/ride on a bike, this seat is a must have.

 
SMP Pro
By JLR from Illinois on 5/30/2011
Pros:
Pressure points
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

This seat has really helped improve comfort where it counts. Others I ride with are not looking at this seat for comfort.

 
Best Saddle Ever
By Century Rider from Northern Virginia on 5/17/2011
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Padding, Lightweight, No personal numbness
Best Uses:
All Around, Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

At the age when the doctor tells you to be careful about all types of body stress especially restricted blood flow to your genital area during long rides. This saddle was great all around: no sensation of having reduced blood flow and no loss of bike control on hills or in the attack. Perfect.

 
BEST SADDLE EVER!
By Roadie4funVerified Reviewer from Bishop, CA on 5/3/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Padding
Best Uses:
Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

I have been experimenting with seats for nearly two years. I tried many seats designed to relieve pressure in the sensitive areas of my crotch. The Specialized Body Geometry saddles were the best I had found, but weren't totally working for me. Finally, I looked up the Selle SMP Pro saddle on Performancebike.com and read a number of raving reviews. I decided to order it and although no saddle sits like a LA-Z-Boy recliner, this is the best saddle I have ever had. I have ridden it at least 300 miles already and now that I am getting really used to it, it is great and will allow me to keep cycling comfortably. It takes some time to adjust and get used to it, but once I got it right, I am very happy with it. I am 6'2" and 195 lbs and 37" waist so the "Pro" model had the right width for me. Other widths are available in the Selle SMP line though. I set it up about 3mm nose high using a level across the highest part of the nose and back of the saddle. I ride fairly aggressively for a recreational rider and feel very confident with this saddle. It was expensive, but it is REALLY WELL MADE and the design is great. It is the first saddle that really feels like it was made for my anatomical structure. Thank you Selle SMP for a superbly designed saddle that will allow me to keep riding for a long time! The Performancebike.com purchase guarantee was important as I felt I could really ride the saddle and still send it back if it didn't work too.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth every penny!
By RAY2D2Verified Reviewer from Boise, ID on 2/18/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Padding
Best Uses:
All Around
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

I, like many, was experiencing problems with my seat and the numbing effects that an ill-fitting seat can have. I searched far and wide for seats to avoid paying the price tag on this one, but finally had to give in. After my first ride I knew it was worth every penny. You can feel the pressure relief from the specific areas and the geometry of the seat is phenomenal.

About the only negative I found on this seat is that some said it was too much padding. After trying out several seats (Just got off of a specialized) this seat has very similar padding, so dont let that scare you away.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Seat!
By MNriderVerified Reviewer from Minneapolis,MN on 8/31/2010
Pros:
Good Padding
Best Uses:
Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

I've tried many seat and I have finally fount THE ONE! I typically do rides of 30-50 miles and with this seat I have NONE of the numbness or discomfort in that region that other seats provided. The seat is expensive, but believe me it is worth it. Of all the things to spend some $$ on for your bike this should be one of them.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Solution to My Problem
By Lloyd from New Orleans on 3/24/2010
Pros:
Good Padding
Best Uses:
All Around, Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

I was having problems with swelling in the perineum area of my crotch for over a year. I continued to ride during that time and peridotically had to stay off the bike when the swelling and pain got too bad. I had an ultra sound examination to see if this was detrimental to my health but the test did not turn up much. After that exam, I was instructed that the treatment was to stay off the bike until the problem took care of itself. I was not quite ready to do that so I studied and researched for some alternative answer. Part of my research zeroed in on the saddle since that was probably the thing that was the culprit. In my investigation the concept and purchase of the Selle SMP saddle made the most sense to me but the price was holding me back. With that concept in mind, I purchased another saddle with a narrow cutout in the middle of the seat but, even though there was less pressure in the perineum area, I still got home after my ride with swelling and had to pick and choose carefully when I was going to ride again. So I decided to save and wait for the right time to buy the SMP. This occurred at the first of the year when Performance had their sale plus an additional 20% off. At that point I bought the Selle SMP Pro. The reason I bought the Pro is that from the pictures and information that I could gather, the middle channel seemed the largest and that is what I thought would resolve my problem. This saddle also has ample foamed elastomer for comfort. I received the saddle and installed it the beginning of March. I have ridden this saddle 250 miles since then and can tell you that after some breaking in of my crouch, my problem with swelling and pain has been resolved. I still have some lingering swelling but this saddle has not contributed to any additional increase. As a matter of fact the area is healing with no affect at all from the SMP Pro. I will provide this caution; I am finally getting use to this saddle after the mileage that I have ridden unlike some reviewers I have read. I feel that for me, since I am not being supported by distribution of my weight on the center of my crouch out to the sides but now with the new saddle and its designed contact points, my butt and sot bones needed the 250 miles to acclimate to this new position. After those miles I can now say that without a doubt, this saddle saved me from giving up cycling which has been a love and weekly part of my life through racing and riding for the past 30 years. Thank you Selle SMP for your product and its design.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
This saddle does what it says
By The MuleVerified Reviewer from Burlington NJ on 8/26/2009
Pros:
Good Padding
Best Uses:
Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

Your naughty bits will love this sadddle. Your wallet will hate it. This is the third saddle I've tried on my road bike, and it is definitly the most comfortable. After a few hundred miles back pain amd soreness have gone. The instructions indicated it was not compatable with my seatpost bracket, so had to shell out more $$$ for a new seat post. Buy it: If you value your naughty bits / forget it: If you're a miser.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this saddle
By Gris GrisVerified Reviewer from Denver, Co on 6/5/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

I bought this saddle as an upgrade for the stock saddle that came with my bike. I have not been disappointed. The price is high but the quality and, most importantly, the comfort are superb. No more numbness, this saddle has ride-all-day comfort. I love it. It is heavy if you're counting grams but the comfort is great. I've had this saddle through multiple century rides and it is comfortable to the end. The width is great for descending too.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Expensive, but well worth it"
By RickVerified Reviewer from Coral Gables (Miami), Florida on 4/6/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Padding
Cons:
Cost
Best Uses:
Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

Over the years I have tried many different saddles, and spent hundreds of dollars in the process. This seat is worth the money it cost. Yes it looks freaky, but after over 10,000 miles my SMP is still in great shape and so is my tush. Remember impotence is forever, that numbness can cause permanent damage. Spend the money.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Expensive but probably worth it
By Robb NanceVerified Reviewer from Hazen, Nv. on 12/3/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Padding
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
All Around
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

I've used this saddle for 6 months now and after 2500 miles I've found it to be the most comfortable one I've ever owned. It is also by far the most expensive saddle I've owned. Not everyone is going to be able to shell out [$] for one but if they can I don't think they'll be sorry. Most of my rides are 25 to 50 miles and with rare exceptions numbness is now a thing of the past. I ride alot of rough roads and the padding is adequate. How durable it is time will tell. The only con I can see at present with this saddle is it's price.

[12 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Watch the Width
By Paul from Cross Plains, Wisconsin on 8/23/2008
Pros:
Nice Feel
Cons:
Too Wide
Best Uses:
Long Rides, Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

I had been riding a Selle Italia Flight saddle and experienced some backaches on long rides with lots of climbing. I thought I'd give this saddle a try and see if it helped reduce the backaches. It did, however, I didn't realize that the saddle is quite a bit wider than the Selle Italia (147mm compared to 130mm for the Selle Italia). This caused some nerve numbness on the inside of my upper legs. I then squeezed the saddle closer together by wrapping it with electrical tape. Works fine now. Looking back, I should have tried the Evolution model as it's width is the same as the Selle Italia. All in all, though, I do like the saddle.

[23 of 26 customers found this review helpful]

 
My peter's savior
By CoreyVerified Reviewer from Germantown, MD on 10/2/2006
Pros:
Circulation friendly, Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Padding
Cons:
Price
Best Uses:
All Around, Long Rides

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

I bought my first road bike at the beginning of the year. I was professionally fitted. Everything felt great except for the excruciating saddle pain. I went through 4, fairly expensive, saddles before I tried the Selle SMP. This saddle is a miracle in men's comfort. I went from shooting pains after 25 miles with other saddles to zero pain after 100 miles with the Strike Pro.

This saddle is expensive and a bit heavy, if you're obsessed about weight. But if you're riding for fitness and fun and you think you might want to have children one day this saddle is your new best friend. If you have a difficult time with the price tag just think about all the money you'll save on visits to your "way-to-friendly" urologist.

Buying this saddle has made the biggest difference in the quality of my riding experience. I won't get on a bike without this saddle.

[25 of 25 customers found this review helpful]

 
I smiled the moment I first sat down
By NicolaiVerified Reviewer from Iowa on 8/20/2006
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Padding
Cons:
Price
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Pro Saddle:

I was getting numbness with my old saddle, which scared me. So I researched saddles and settled on this one. Love it. The moment I first sat on it, I knew everything would be fine, and I could enjoy riding again. I just finished a week long, 450 mile bike ride (RAGBRAI) a few weeks ago. I experienced no numbness of any kind. With the old saddle, I couldn't have gone half of day 1 without scary loss of feeling. It's incredible for me to know I can continue riding.

This saddle is expensive, which in my opinion is its only con... but how much is your health "down there" worth to you? To me it's priceless.

Very happy with the purchase.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.