Buy the Selle SMP Extra Saddle on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Selle SMP Extra Saddle image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: SELLE SMP
Located in: Bike Parts, Bike Seats/Saddles, Men's Saddles
Revolutionary design to eliminate pressure in sensitve areas, the Selle SMP Extra bicycle saddle is engineered to limit compression on the pelvic floor for increased stability and a more comfortable position on your bike.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Good padding(5)
Best Uses:
All around(3), Long rides(4), Mountain biking(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(7)
Was this a gift?:
No(4)
 
Best saddle I have had
By love mtn biking from so cal on 6/11/2011
Pros:
Good Padding
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Extra Saddle:

Have only had the saddle for a month, but love it. Not necessarily for mountain, but works great for it!

 
More padding than I'd like
By J'aime faire du velo from Washington, DC on 5/25/2011
Best Uses:
Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Extra Saddle:

I found the padding on this saddle to be too thick and spongy. The nose is also quite wide, although it hasn't created any chafing problems for me. I'm still experimenting with the adjustment, but I would say it has helped my riding discomfort issues somewhat. Worth a try if you want an affordable Selle SMP, but I'll probably end up going for the Stratos.

 
Solved my problem
By UncrampedVerified Reviewer from Dallas, Texas on 4/23/2011
Best Uses:
All Around, Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Extra Saddle:

I rode bikes for 2 decades but had to give it up due to butt cramps that started happening on occasion around the clock and always when I was on my bike. Three doctors said it was result of having ridden a bicycle so much. I tried TONS of saddles but nothing solved my problem. So I quit riding. I recently saw this saddle so I bought a bike and had one installed. Now, 265 miles later, I take great joy in knowing my problem is COMPLETELY solved and I am on the road again !!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
FInally, a saddle made for long rides
By Tri Guy from Chandler, Az on 1/29/2011
Pros:
Comfortable
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Ironman-length triathlons, Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Extra Saddle:

I have this saddle on my training bike and use it on my race bike for Ironman-distance and 70.3 triathlons. It's the first saddle I've used that completely eliminates numbness during hours in the aero position.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great seat for me
By Brian in Ft. Worth from Ft. Worth, TX on 9/19/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good Padding
Best Uses:
All Around
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Extra Saddle:

I know, saddles are a personal item. If you're 6'1", 190 pounds, with a medium frame, I highly recommend this saddle. I don't experience any pain anymore when I ride and it makes going out all the more enjoyable.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
No more numbness, very comfortable!
By KleinVerified Reviewer from Aloha, Or on 3/11/2010
Pros:
Good Padding
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Extra Saddle:

This is the best seat I have ever had.
Looks great. Very comfortable, and eliminated the
numbness and tingling I had before.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Most comfortable saddle I've ever had
By RockDocRichVerified Reviewer from So Cal on 10/23/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Padding
Best Uses:
All Around
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Extra Saddle:

I've been using this saddle for about 3-4 years and it is without a doubt the most comfortable saddle that I've ever used. I have tried several models of Specialized and Fizi:k and none come close to the comfort of the Selle SMP. I am not a racer, rather I just like to do all day rides like centuries. I used to go numb after 60-70 miles, now I can ride the full 100 without any numbness or soreness.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Seat...have it for about a year now
By That Random Rider from Dallas, TX on 10/17/2009
Pros:
Good Padding
Best Uses:
Commuting, Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Extra Saddle:

I have had this seat for about a year ago. Needed to make the change due to old the seat cutting off circulation to important body parts. So the change was made and I felt the difference instantly. Now riding even more and just feels great. The price is also reasonable which is another plus.

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for mountain biking
By MarkVerified Reviewer from Israel on 1/19/2009
Pros:
Eliminates numbness, Eliminates pain
Cons:
Takes time to get used to
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SELLE SMP Selle SMP Extra Saddle:

I use this saddle on my mountain bike. At first I found it uncomfortable, and it took a few rides until I got used to it. I tried the SMP Evolution, and found it much too hard.I emailed the SMP rep in the US (sales[...]and he told me that the more expensive SMPs are meant for racing, but non-racers would do better with the Extra or the Hybrid for mountain biking.I used to experience numbness from a number of other saddles, but this saddle has eliminated that.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.