Buy the Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: ASCENT
Located in: Bike Parts, Mountain Bike Components, Bike Pedals
Entry-level price with pro-level quality and performance.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.7 stars
(based on 11 reviews)

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Dual sided entry(3), Highly compatible(4), Reliable entry/exit(3)
Best Uses:
Casual trails(3), Cross country(4), Single track(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(3)
 
Great set of Pedals
By D1PHAMVerified Reviewer from Santa Clara, CA on 12/2/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Dual Sided Entry, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal:

I have these on both of my bikes and I simply love them. They are easy to get in and out of, adjustable and reliable. Lighter than most other entry level pedals but they are still able to take a beating.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
excellent for the price
By GBVerified Reviewer from Philly Burbs, PA on 9/22/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Dual Sided Entry, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Reliable Entry/Exit
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal:

have used for over 5,000 miles on my commuter bike, plenty of dings, but no problems. entry /exit was a little stiff for the first 500 miles despite losening the tension. not the lightest, but reliable and the same price as a platform pedal. what have you got to lose?

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great entry level
By Droopy from Tucson, AZ on 5/31/2008
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Good entry level pedals, Good Platform, Reliable Entry/Exit
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
First pair of clipless, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal:

I purchased these a while ago upgrading from stirrups. I was hesitant at first about clipless pedals, but these pedals changed my mind fast. They were durable and reliable. I like long distance riding and these pedals have about 1100 miles on them in about a year and a half to two years. They even got me through the big climbs of the Sea Otter Classic with no problems at all. I just purchased a new set of pedals that are lighter and more appropriate for my road bike, however, I will be keeping these and using them for my mountain bike. [...]

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Pedals for casual use
By DolphinaVerified Reviewer from Vancouver, Wa on 12/1/2006
Pros:
Rugged
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Town use

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal:

A great pedal for the money. Worked well for commute/ shopping trips.
Always felt like I was on ice when standing to pedal out of saddle. There is too much play for me, as I prefer to have a solid connection for performance even while commuting daily year round.
I took them off my "work bike" and replaced with Look pedals which I also purchased [...] and like much better for everyday use, as my bikes are my car.
I will still use them on one of my occasional bikes.
I would not recommend these for hard everyday use though, just for those who want to enjoy being outdoors on a bike sometimes.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
ASCENT PEDAL IS GOD!!!!
By D3R3KVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 10/12/2006
Pros:
Highly Compatible
Cons:
None thus Far
Best Uses:
Cross Country, Single Track

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal:

Hey, please don't believe haters who said, the pedals are loose.. its not TRUE! Because I, myself am bmx cruiser racing. [...] I gave a try and using this pair of clipless pedals are great for [bmx] cruiser racing. I feeling this item pedals as axcatly smiliar with shimano spd 454, 545, on and on..I love this designe pedals for BMX racing/ MTB. I will buy these for my kids who ride bmx racing...

Go to buy pair of pedals without regret for REAL!!!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent pedal for the price
By Jim, Racer from FloridaVerified Reviewer from Gainesville, Florida on 10/9/2006
Pros:
Easy to clip out of, Really good value
Cons:
No
Best Uses:
Cross Country

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal:

I bought these for my girl friend who hasn't used clipless pedals before. I was a bit hesitant because I wanted her first clipless experience to go smoothly. They worked great for her first ride and although they released easy she didn't have any unintentionally releases. If you're looking to move up to clipless or just want to save a buck I don't think you could do better than these pedals [...].

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Pedal, Great Value
By GeorgeVerified Reviewer from San Jose, CA on 9/9/2006
Pros:
Highly Compatible, Rugged
Cons:
Could be lighter
Best Uses:
Road

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal:

I just bought my second pair of the pedals while on sale for $[...]. I'd been a longtime Look user on my road bikes, but got tired of those crappy plastic cleats wearing out in 1000mi, and not being able to walk around. I decided to try a pair of these pedals (as I got the pedals AND cleats for the price of Look cleats only). After 1000mi, my original pair still worked great, so I bought another. Amazing price/performance.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good
By DylanVerified Reviewer from Colorado springs colorado on 8/31/2006
Pros:
Highly Compatible, Lightweight
Cons:
Scratch easily but good
Best Uses:
Free Riding, Single Track

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal:

Very good product. Cleats are compatible. Me and 98% of my friends can clip into eachothers peadlas because of the cleats very good clips too.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
great for entry level, cant beat price
By omie from camarillo, ca on 7/28/2006
Pros:
Cheap
Cons:
Nothing yet
Best Uses:
Casual Trails

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal:

got these on my cheaper mnt/street bike that I use to commute to work on. They maybe cheaper than others, but get the job done easy. I agree with other two reviews, don't overlook it for an entry level pedal. I have shimano's on my other mnt bike simply because they were recomended over these as being more durable. cant really go wrong here. no cons as I have only had them a month.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bad Pedal. Sticks
By P Diddy from Colorado on 6/27/2006
Pros:
Cheap
Cons:
Pedal Sticks

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal:

Not Sure why, but these pedals stick about every third time you try to get out of them. No matter how loose you set the tension screws.... Have had lots of clipless pedals and bought these for my wife and they are not up to par. Spend the extra money to get good pedals.

[9 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value!
By ChuckVerified Reviewer from Colorado Springs, CO on 6/17/2006
Pros:
Highly Compatible
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Free Riding, Single Track

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Terra Clipless MTB Pedal:

I have never tried pedals like this before and was worried that I wouldn't like it. I bought the cheaper models because I didn't want to spend a lot of money for something I may not like. These pedals, so far have been great. I've learned to clip and unclip pretty easily and the tension screws are easy to adjust. I'm sure the more you spend the higher quality but someone looking to start out with clips I highly recommend getting these.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.