Buy the Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal image
 
(based on 30 ratings)
Brand: CRANK BROTHERS
Located in: Bike Parts, Mountain Bike Components, Bike Pedals
The Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Bike Pedal featuring their original 4-sided pedal design is an excellent choice for the budget minded mountain or road rider.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 30 reviews)
88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Dual sided entry(8), Good platform(4), Highly compatible(7), Increases pedaling efficiency(5), Lightweight(21)
Cons:
Flimsy design(3)
Best Uses:
Casual trails(7), Cross country(6), Free riding(3), Mountain biking(12), Road biking(10)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(13), Casual/ recreational(4)
 
Poor Durability
By Jim the BikerVerified Reviewer from MO on 12/5/2009
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Increases Pedaling Efficiency
Cons:
Not Durable
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

This pedal lasted less than three months before the spring broke. I would understand if I used the item under extreme conditions although I have not (gravel roads). Faulty pedal? Other reviews seem to have no trouble with them.

 
Love these pedals
By desertdadVerified Reviewer from Albuquerque on 11/17/2009
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I bought these pedals while they were on sale and totally love them. I did not want a strictly road set up and I really wanted mtn bike shoes.

I can easily get in and out of these pedals while cycling through crazy Albuquerque. I highly recommend them

 
Easy!
By SteveVerified Reviewer from Knightstown, IN on 9/16/2009
Pros:
Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I finally got a thousand miles in this summer. So i have maybe 2000 on these pedals? I have a road bike, but I like to explore when I ride, maybe get off and walk or hit a dirt road or easy trail, so I use MTB shoes and these pedals. They work GREAT. Loved them from the first time I stepped in them. I literally don't have to look or even think about getting in them; just jam my foot down till it sticks. I was disappointed to see that they'd gotten pretty rusty, but they're still working fine. May go with an upgraded version next time.

 
Great Bang For The Buck
By Bottoboy from King of Prussia, Pa on 7/27/2009
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

These pedals are amazing. Ive had them for a few months now and Ive had no problems. These pedals can take a beating and keep on going. After countless miles on both my road and mountain bike, these pedals have performed beautifully. They have taken a few hard hits on rocks and kept going. Clipping action is easy to engage/disengage, and I have had no accidental releases while pedaling. Great buy for the money, worth every penny.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good for the money
By NM Rider from Farmington, NM on 5/1/2009
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I use these pedals on my mountain bike. They work very well, especially in muddy conditions. Mud shedding is excellent, and I like the float for technical sections both up and downhill. I have struck several rocks without any issues. I had an older pair of Candy C's and the wings eventually wore out and broke, but for ~$40 and 2 high-mileage seasons I would not complain. I switched to the eggbeaters to save a little weight,and because the platform on the candy's provided little or no benefit.

 
great pedals for mountain or road!
By FredVerified Reviewer from VA on 3/9/2009
Pros:
Good Platform, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I originally had purchased a mountain bike that had egg beater EXR pedals that were just junk. the grease or whatever was inside just caused too much friction. I pick these up on sale and immediately notice the fluidity of the bearings. Loved them so much I bought a second set to put on my roadie. (and allowed me to just use 1 set of shoes)

I'm leaning towards returning the smarty ones I bought to pick up a 3rd set of these!

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
great pedals
By Stevie Strangetones from Santa Fe, NM on 11/19/2008
Pros:
Easy to Maintain, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit, Rugged
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I had Time Attack pedals and when they finally fell apart I switched to the egg beaters. I'm really glad I did. I have the "original" eggbeaters on my single speed mountain bike. Now I've got the SL's on my geared Dean Ti Soft Tail and the Candy C's on my carbon road bike. These pedals are light weight, reliable and durable. Easy entry and exit makes them a no brainer for me. Even my 12 year old son likes them so much he asked for some for Christmas.
I've had only one problem on one set of pedals; after 5 years or so of hard mashing a bearing seized up. The inexpensive rebuild kit fixed it and I repaired it on my own. Once when rebuilding a pair I over-tightened the nut and broke the end of the spindle off. After a brief conversation with Crank Bros on the phone, they sent me 2 new Stainless spindles at no cost. What a great company!
It's been my experience that even after hitting them on rocks there is no damage. The only thing I could gripe about is that the relatively expensive brass cleats wear out quickly, but maybe that's just because I ride so much.
I love these pedals and highly recommend them to anyone who is considering clipless or upgrading on mountain or road bikes.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I will never use another pedal
By BikerJVerified Reviewer from Grand Rapids Michigan on 11/15/2008
Pros:
Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I bought two pair on a whim. I wish I bought three. These pedals are easy to get in and out. I have never had anything get clogged in them(mud,Snow,Ice ect..). I have beat the snot out of them for a long time and many many miles and never had one break or bend. I ride in Michigan winters and love these pedals for the simple fact that the pedal doesn't freeze or stick. A simple yet usefull design.


CONS-- They are a little longer than most pedals so you can't pedal through tight corners, but you get used to that rather quickly.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Poor construction
By GolfManVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, Ca. on 9/30/2008
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Cons:
Flimsy Design
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

Bought these online from Performance and used them for about 60 days. Had about 150 miles on these pedals when the spring on one of them suddenly broke during a ride. I had read about the wings sometimes breaking when mountain biking and striking a rock with the pedal, but these pedals were totally babied. Only ridden on the street and paved trails. [...] Don't know if I would try them again, as this first pair didn't last long. They do however clip in and out easy. Design is great although durability should be improved.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good pedal not as good as Look
By Rd&MtnBkr from Noblesville, IN on 7/27/2008
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Lightweight
Cons:
Unreliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I have Look KEO (Look is they only brand I've used before this) on my road bike and was given these for my mtn. bike. I find they are harder to enter than KEO's but they unclip easy when you crash. I am using them with a softer sole mtn bike shoe so there isn't the sliding of the sole you get with a rigid road shoe and I find it really difficult to get them locked in as quickly as the KEO. No flip, stab and go, more of a wiggle and hope it's in the right spot. The resessed cleat is really nice for walking around and I haven't had any durability issues. Locking in while going up a hill is a real pain many times I've tried and can't get them lined up while appling the power so I wait until the terrain lessens which can be a real pain if you pull on the up stroke. I wouldn't even consider these for a road bike, but they work fine off road.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great pedals, but low durability
By justarock from Baltimore, MD on 6/23/2008
Pros:
Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Cons:
Flimsy Design
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

The action on these pedals is excellent, they are easy to get in and out of, and have very few unwanted releases. The bearings can be tight at first, but wear in just fine. My only problem is with the durability of the clip frame, which is the first point of contact with rocks and bends easily. If you bike in a region where your likely to hit rocks with your pedals, then you might be better with SPD's.

[12 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
This pedal covers all your needs.
By JohnVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville Florida on 5/21/2008
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Extra Hardware, Great Packaging, Less ShoesNo cleat swaps, Reliable Entry/Exit, Single pedal system
Cons:
My wife stole my pedals, Um they're not free
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking, Single Speed
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I love this pedal system. I used SPD style for about three years on my road bike. They were fine, but when I was tired, I did have a hard time finding the pedal (clipping in).I put this model on a new MTB I purchased. It was a gamble back then because there was very little feedback on this stye. I liked the idea of a four sided entry system and gave them a shot.I have since swapped my road SPD's for the SS/SS model eggbeaters (these are SS/CrO). I had a third pair of this model on an other road bike. My wife has gotten back into cycling via sprint triathlons and wasn't sure about going clipless. I used the eggbeaters from my old road bike for her to try out. She has really been happy with these pedals. Even after transitioning from the swim to get on the bike, she has never had an issue finding the pedal. Needless to say, those are "her" pedals now. Not only have I been happy using this same type pedal for all my biking uses, but it allows me to have less pairs of shoes (and not swap clips).I can wear my MTB shoes for my MTB trail rides AND for my work commute on my road bike. And, when I'm doing distance on my road bike, I can wear my road shoes. When I had SPD on my old road bike and beaters on my MTB, I either had to live with the shoe that went with the bike (removing my shoes to walk into the office on the days I commuted), or swap out pedals or the cleats. I have not tried the expensive traditional road pedal type (Look, etc.) so maybe those are better for pure road riding. I can not comment on those. The packaging is really awesome. It is indicitive of the attention to detail with these cleats. When you slide open the packaging, each pieces is laid out in foam packaging like you see in those sniper type movies. I know, who cares about that, right? The thing is, it really shows the attention they pay to this product. AND, there are extra bolts. Instead of only getting the four you need, they give you eight. I really appreciated getting extra bolts. If you do tear up the hex head of a bolt, you've got spares w/out having to buy new clips. That rocks!And for [$] through Performance, you really couldn't ask for more.As many others have said, I am never going back.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love Hate
By JohnVerified Reviewer from Albuquerque, nm on 5/11/2008
Pros:
Good Platform, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Cons:
Flimsy Design
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

My original Egg Beaters were the more expensive SL design. They were great for about three years, then I hit a rock and broke one. I bought these cheaper versions and within a couple of months, broke another pedal on a rock. (New Mexico, there are some very rocky trails here). Performance is great, gave me a new set, 2 months later same thing. I use to hit rocks with the more expensive EB's every once in a while with no real damage, but these cheaper versions died on the first hit. I love everything else about the pedal but am probably going to go with SPD's next.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
i love these pedals!!
By killerb from phila, pa. on 5/11/2008
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
BMX, Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

these are my second clip in pedal. i had spd syle and could never get the hang of it. after 45 min. practice i was out clipped in for the first time! easy to get in and out,i feel like a pro now!! highly recomended!!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I agree with all the pro comments
By crankinhankVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 4/22/2008
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I've put eggbeaters on: Mtn Bike, Road bike, Tandem Bike, fixed gear bike, they are a great value. As far as maintenance, they aren't bad. Besides, I've spent more on tires than eggbeaters.

They do 'self-release' if you bottom out on a rock when on the mountain bike. That may not always be a bad thing, though.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Shima-no more!
By PaulVerified Reviewer from Denver on 3/14/2007
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Casual/ Recreational, Commuter, Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

After owning dozens of bikes, most of them with Shimano style spd or other MTB and road pedals/cleats i have to say im never going back. The eggbeaters are the easiest cleat to get into and out of i have ever owned in my entire cycling career, you can bet that other versions are going on other bikes of mine immediately. The cleats even make it possible for me to wear my regular MTB bike shoes to school and not grind when i walk around the halls. I love these pedals and im never going back to anything else.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best pedals around
By Jason from Farmington MN on 2/19/2007
Comfort:
Easy engage/disengage
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Width:
Feels true to width
Pros:
Simple to Use
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Single Track
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

These are great pedals. I have never experienced a problem while using them in summer mud and winters snow. They are solid and easy to use. Consider the Candys if you ride without cycling shoes all the time.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
great all purpose pedal
By RichVerified Reviewer from San Francisco, Ca on 11/27/2006
Pros:
Lightweight, Rugged

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I have used look and spd over the years. After switching to the beaters a year ago, I will never go back. Getting in and out is a snap. I have never stuck in the pedal or unexpectedly slipped out. They have never needed cleaning or adjustment. I commute to work and often have to wear my cycle shoes for the first few hours, so the mountain shoes used with these pedals are best (although I see no reason why road shoes shouldn't work). I have put a lot of miles on these pedals without a hitch

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product
By Uncle Al from Arizona on 11/22/2006
Pros:
4-side clip, Front or Back step in, Highly Compatible, No Look, Rugged
Cons:
No Cons that I can see
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Free Riding

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I have had egg beaters for about 4 years now. The bearings are still in good shape. I recently rode on a 150 mile ride in the desert of Arizona (mountain bike) and had no foot fatigue at all. I transferred them to my Road bike and they feel as good there as on the mountain bike. The only down side I could see is lending a bike to someone who doesn't have the clips, but who would do that anyway?

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent in Congested Suburban Areas
By banjobkpVerified Reviewer from philly on 11/13/2006
Pros:
Highly Compatible, Lightweight, Rugged
Best Uses:
RoadCharity Riding, Urban Riding

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I was using Ultegra (Look Style), pedals and grew tired of having clip-in difficulty especially when I was tired on a long ride in my congested suburban riding area. I was also discouraged after riding in the Philadelphia City to Shore MS150, where the Jersy sand got into the ultegra system making it very difficult to pull my feet out of the pedals. The Ultegra's are fine performing pedals, but I regard them as problamatic in congested riding area's.

I went with the eggbeaters with the Quattro shoe mounting system on my Nike Carbon Graphite Riding Shoes. Installation on the bike and on the shoes was relatively easy. (I had more problem getting the Ultegra's off as the mechanic who put them in really cranked them hard.)

The Good:
You can absolutely pedal Eggbeaters well without clipping in after a stop light. This was a bit of a surprise as I expected the ultegra's would have an advantage here, but the ultegra's are pretty slippery on the pedal and I feel you must clip in the ultegra's to pedal after a stop light, and this is not always possible. The egg beaters generally clip in easier, after break in, and if you miss, you can still pedal strong after a stop.

The feel is really good and comfortable! Which was another surprise as once again, my expectations were the ultegra's would be more comfortable. I did have issues with my feet getting numb on long rides, but not with the eggbeaters. I think the float actually is what is helping hear as I don't feel totally locked down to the pedal even though the feel is solid.

Just as important to clipping in easily, I have learned detaching is also important. (Falling at a light is really embarrassing!) I can get out nicely and my expecation is that the system will not get clogged by dirt or SAND!.

Cons: It is clear you need to get a grease gun to maintain these units. But if you can get these at Performance price in the future, it may not be a major concern. (I'm getting a gun to maintain these, I need one anyways.)

But as far as function, these have been a very pleasent surprise. In my opinion, For the urban/suburban road rider, these provide better function than the look style. I can not attest to their performance in a race environment. But for long distance charity rides, these are very comfortable!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I probably won't try anything else
By DoodudeVerified Reviewer from Columbia, MD on 10/26/2006
Pros:
Lightweight, Rugged
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Downhill, Free Riding, Single Track

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I've been riding on SPD clipless for 2 or 3 years now, prodominantly off-road and I just didn't realize what I was missing. I always found myself coming out of them and it was tough to get into them in the first place. These eggbeaters clip in easily and I never came unclipped unless I wanted to. They're also light, shed mud really well, and fairly easy to maintain if you grease them. I have heard that they do tend to wear out relatively quickly, but the rebuild kit costs $15 or something like that, so just add that into your 1-2 year maintenance cycle. Even the packaging was very good-showing their pride in their product.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awsome pedals
By Jim from orlando, FL on 10/15/2006
Pros:
Highly Compatible
Cons:
None thus Far
Best Uses:
any use

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I've had my eggbeaters for about 5 years now. I originally used them only on my mountain bike and loved the easability and mud shedding ability.
I purchased a road bike and being cheap just slapped these pedal on it. I also bought a bmx bike and use the pedals on it also.
For 5 years now whenever I need to ride a bike I get out my 15mm wrench and take them off one bike and put them on whatever bike I'm going to ride. I have got to have a million revolutions on these things and just now am I going to rebuild them.

Some highlights:

Same shoe/pedal combo for all bikes so no knee problems from different cleat placement.

1.8 second engagement at stoplights (while the road cleat guys spend 10 seconds "popping" theirs in)

I can actually walk like a human being with my shoes on.

I can maintain my mountain bike roots on my road bike.

NEVER ONCE CAME UNCLIPPED BY ACCIDENT!!

low lights

The small platform makes it hard to get a jump out of the bmx gates (since I cant balance).

When exteme mountain biking fatigue sets in it can take a little too much concentration to operate.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
just a great pedal
By Mike the swix man from Winnipeg,Manitoba, canada. on 10/12/2006
Pros:
Highly Compatible, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons:
None thus Far
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Free Riding

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

Great to use and clip in and out with ease the best pedal i have had in 10 years of riding trails and city streets.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Eggbeaters are great.
By aka.9Verified Reviewer from Irvine, Ca on 10/1/2006
Pros:
Ease of Use, Lightweight
Cons:
None

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I've tried Time, SPD, and Speedplay pedals for ease of clip in/out. Eggbeaters are the best. I read somewhere that this guy tried it on his road bike, and I verified compatibility [...], so I bought a pair for my road bike. It's been great for a week now. Easy to clip in and out at stoplights. And they're really light too. I've been riding with my mountain bike shoes since my current road shoes are 3-bolt LOOK style setup. Must go buy a new road shoe. I'm now excited to get on my road bike these days. before I had this fear of clipping issues after a bad experience/accident. I highly recommend these pedals for weekend warriors who want the easiest pedals for clipping in and out.

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Maybe I Haven't Seen Perfect Yet....
By Doc LochVerified Reviewer from Dillon, MT on 7/18/2006
Pros:
Easy In/Out, Good Looking, Great Price, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons:
Some Shoe Grinding Needed
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Road Riding, Single Track

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I purchased these pedals a little over one year ago for a new road bike after seeing pros use the egg beater on road bikes. I road a 167 mile one-day tour (The RATPOD)after having them a week. It's a tough ride, and I had no complaints at all with these pedals. I have put over 2000 miles on them now, and still have no complaints...at all. They are easy to get into. Have adequate but not excessive float. They have never released inadvertently and they have been very low maintenance (even with one or two rain rides)! I did have to grind my shoe (a fairly aggressive tread Mtn bike shoe I use for road riding). This was no major inconvience quickly and easily done with a Dremel sanding drum. I like these pedals so much, that I have purchase another pair to replace my Time ATACs on my MTN bike to use in competition, trails, etc. I am confident they will work, as my Wife has Candy C's with which she is also very pleased. Go Crank Bros.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
wonderful
By Share_The_RoadVerified Reviewer from Norwich, CT on 6/30/2006
Pros:
Highly Compatible, Lightweight, Rugged
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Single Track

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

i got this pedal for the fact that dirt won't get stuck in it and jam my feet into the pedal...
i have used it for 3 years now in rain, snow and the heat. All i have had to to is relube it, i have had no problems with this pedal.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
durable, cheap
By Big Johnson from Texas on 6/21/2006
Pros:
Easy to get out/into of, Highly Compatible, Lightweight
Cons:
To much float sometimes
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Single Track

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

The best pedals I have ever owned. Bought a Fisher not to long ago and had these put on. Have gotten so good at clipping in and out of that I feel comfortable enough to try trials type moves on them.

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
They're a good road pedal, too
By CJVerified Reviewer from Upstate New York on 6/9/2006
Pros:
Easy maintenance, Highly Compatible, Lightweight, Stable platform
Best Uses:
Road, Urban

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I am very happy with these as a replacement for my old SPDs. Not only are they easier to clip in and out of, but if you miss the clip, you've still got a stable platform to press down on -- very important at stoplights. The pads for the road cleats make the shoes fairly quiet (minimizing the noise you make walking around in tile-floored convenience stores!)

[16 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Pedal But...
By Jim, Year-Round Road Commuter from Sacramento, CA on 6/1/2006
Pros:
Easy Clip In/Out, Lightweight
Cons:
Short Bearing Life
Best Uses:
Road

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I'm on my third pair of Eggbeaters, all three the chromoly version. I have a love/hate relationship with my Eggs. Whey they work well, I love the pedals. I mean really love the things. They are easy to clip in and clip out of, and when standing up, accidental pull-outs never happen, no matter how hard I'm pulling. I've tried SPD-style and Look-style. Eggs win hands down for ease of use.

The one bugaboo with Eggs is the bearing life. They are easy to grease and rebuild, but after less than a year of use, it's annoying to hear the all-too-familiar clack-clack-clack these pedals make when the bearings are gone.

I love the things but I just wish they could make them last longer.

[40 of 41 customers found this review helpful]

 
OK pedal, works well
By ti_litespeed from Austin, TX on 4/18/2006
Pros:
Good Value, reasonable price
Cons:
pedal arm may make grooves on shoe sole
Best Uses:
Good for road use as well as MTB

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Eggbeater C Pedal:

I switched to this pedal for road use after I noticed excessive foot and leg play with my Speedplays X pedals. Speedplays don't have any centering action and the wide float allowed my shoes to swing wide. The limited float on these Eggbeaters keep my legs and feet in a better forward position with no swing. Clip-in is just a little bit more difficult but not a big issue.
I found the eggbeater arms can dig into the plastic soles on my Sidi shoes, create wear grooves, and make a sqeaky sound. A tiny bit of bearing grease eliminates the sound. I don't have this issue with my Carnac shoes. My Carnacs also have repleaceable cleat inserts should they show groove wear. More pros: No more replacing worn cleats 3 times a year at $40 a pop; No more lubing after every ride

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.