Buy the Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal image
 
(based on 20 ratings)
Brand: CRANK BROTHERS
Located in: Bike Parts, Mountain Bike Components, Bike Pedals
Rough and tumble red is the color of these clever Crank Brothers Smarty MTB Pedals with interchangeable rails!
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.1 stars
(based on 20 reviews)
50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Dual sided entry(10), Good platform(7), Increases pedaling efficiency(4), Lightweight(7), Reliable entry/exit(6)
Cons:
Difficult to adjust(3), Flimsy design(3), Unreliable entry/exit(3)
Best Uses:
Mountain biking(8), Road biking(7)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(15)
 
spring breaks
By Spring breaker from Chicago on 10/3/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Dual Sided Entry, Good Platform, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Cons:
Flimsy Design, Spring breaks
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

I used to ride with Shimano mtb pedals for many years. I never entirely felt like I had alot of platform under my feet though, and decided to try these. I really like how they feel compared to the Shimanos, and feel like power transfer is much better. The only problem is the spring breaks very easily. The first pair lasted me about a year, and the second pair only 6 months. The second pair only had about 1000 miles on them, so they broke way too easily. I wish the spring was beefier, and I would sacrifice an increase in weight for an increase in durability. I only use these for road riding(on my mtb bike though), so I'm not beating these things up. I ride hard, but the spring should not break so easily.

 
I like these a lot
By JasonVerified Reviewer from Henrico, VA on 10/3/2009
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Good Platform, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

This is my third set of Crank Bros. pedals. This pair was for my commuter. They are reliable in/out and I love the high degree of float. I move around a lot out of the saddle and SPD's would break loose at the most inappropriate times. I've NEVER had a problem like that with Crank Bros. If you're a weight-weenie ... spend more money and get the titanium, but these work great for me.

 
Total junk - do not buy these
By Not happyVerified Reviewer from Midwest on 9/14/2009
Pros:
Inexpensive
Cons:
Awful axle bushings, Cheap, Flimsy Design, No wrench flats
Best Uses:
NONE
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

[$] I should have known it was too good to be true. On the pair I bought, one pedal's axle bushing seized up on the first road ride, causing the pedal to unscrew from the crank arm and fall off while riding. This is not fixable, as the pedal appears to have no bearings - the cheap plastic platform rides directly on the axle. Yes, I could borrow an Allen bit and breaker bar from a friend and really tighten the pedal onto the crank, so it won't fall off again. But that still leaves me with a pedal bushing that's so tight I can barely turn it by hand. I guess you get what you pay for. I will be returning these and will never buy another pair.

 
cheap
By tone from ny on 9/10/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

bearings wear out quickly on two different sets

 
Don't waste your time with these
By CybergapVerified Reviewer from Los Altos, CA on 9/2/2009
Pros:
Good Platform, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Cons:
Flimsy Design
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

Entry/Exit is great. Solid feel under your foot...Until the bearings start coming apart. One or two rides and you have to adjust the bearings and take out the play. Then again, and again, then they get crunchy. And all this without water, sand or dirt being in the environment. After breaking them down it was obvious that the races were not hardened correctly or just made of inferior metal. There were burrs in the bearings from poor construction which compounded the problem. I like CB in general, and will try the cartridge bearing versions of the Candy. Hopefully they will last. CB doesn't make these anymore. I think I know why.

 
Great Deal on a Good Pedal
By DangleCycle from Roanoke, VA on 7/17/2009
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Increases Pedaling Efficiency
Cons:
Difficult To Adjust, Heavy
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

I have been putting in 10-15 miles a week on standard stock pedals for 2 years. I love these things. What more could you ask for in a sport where you buy stuff to wreck it? They are extremely tough, reliable, and simple. I have never had the SPDs, but I know I'm with Crank Bros. Entry is somewhat of a pain at times, but I have had no trouble in exit to date. Just twist your ankle 20 degrees and you are out. The fact that there was no adjusting these kinda bothered me but I really don't think they would need adjusting. [$]. (I'm still going to buy another pair for my other Mtn bike!)

 
Spring broke after 200mi road use
By Litespeed101Verified Reviewer from chicago, il on 6/19/2009
Pros:
Versatile
Cons:
Poor Construction
Best Uses:
Commuting/City
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

Easy to get in and out but the spring broke after about 200 miles and the warranty expired after 1 yr.

 
Good pedal for the money
By AdvisorVerified Reviewer from Lawrenceville, NJ on 6/2/2009
Pros:
Price
Cons:
Bearing Not Replaceable
Best Uses:
Commuting/City
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

I have this pedal on a tandem with a pair of Candy, and Quattro on my road bike, and Candy on my MTB. This is a good pedal for the money but you are better off spending more money and buying the Candy or Quattro pedals. The bearing is not replaceable aka, pedals are not rebuildable, as the Candy and Quattro pedals are. Lots of float. Same ease as clipping in as SPD and just slightly easier clipping out.

 
Go With Candy
By Richmond Rock Rider from Richmond VA on 5/14/2009
Cons:
Poor Construction, Wears Out Quickly
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

I bought a set of these to put on my practice bike. Plastic broke in no time flat and the retention spring lost it's "spring" Spend the little bit extra and step up to the next level of Crank Brothers pedals. You wont be sorry.

 
Ok for the money but.....
By Nick from Baltimore Maryland on 5/8/2009
Sizing:
Feels half size too small
Width:
Feels true to width
Pros:
Simple to Use
Cons:
Sole Wears Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Best Uses:
Free Riding
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

I put a set of these on my road bike, nice for the first 7 months, then they wore really fast, easy in , easy out, nice float, but after 4200 miles in one season they had it. For a beginning clip , perfect. for an enthusiast , invest in a better pedal.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lasted less than 1 year
By roadbikerVerified Reviewer from Claremont, CA on 4/12/2009
Pros:
Good for Walking, Works well clicks in and
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Best Uses:
Road biker
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

This is my second set, 1st set was fine, the 2nd set lasted less than 1 year-- cap came off and lost bearings from both pedals. May want to get higher model with better caps at end.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not worth the savings
By Texas Mark from Austin on 3/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Best Uses:
Casual Trails
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

These are much more difficult to click in and out of than the Candies or the Eggbeaters. Spend a little extra money and get one of those. You will be much happier. I personally prefer the Eggbeaters. I have ridden several hilly centuries on Eggbeaters with no foot pain at all. Just remember to put a little Blue Locktite on the cleat screws. About the only way to fall is to lose one of the screws. Been there, done that.

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
good first road pedal
By jeff heckVerified Reviewer from STL,Mo. on 2/27/2009
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

This is my first try at clip in pedals compared to the cage style. Like all clip ins they take getting used to but the dual sided entry makes it easy to learn. I noticed some Giant road bikes use these as their standard pedal so they must be ok for road use.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Will buy again
By SportsterpilotVerified Reviewer from Yucca Valley, CA on 2/21/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Dual Sided Entry, Good Platform, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Cons:
Bearing race variably set
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

installed 2 pair on mtn and road bikes. vague feeling entry and exit, but easy to get used to. one set seemed to have defective spindle bearings, but friendly mech at a performance store described adjusting process (simple), now all is good. very functional, but feel flimsier than the discontinued Forte MTB pedals they replaced.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy In, Not So Easy Out...
By Cycle Dad from Seattle, WA on 2/3/2009
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry
Cons:
Unreliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

I put a pair of these on my mtn bike. I had used SPD type prior and wanted to try the 'egg-beater' design. When you clip into these - have no doubt - you're definately attached. Which is a good if you like that kind of thing. Float (wiggle) is minimal, which poses problems if you have to negotiate slow speed technical stuff. No adjusting this either. And it's a bad feeling to know your not going to pull off a turn/obstacle (insert challenge here...) and realize that your foot isn't going to be there for you on the way down. In the end, I went back to Shimano SPD pedals and haven't looked back.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy clip in, hard to clip out!
By JorgeVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 11/28/2008
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Lightweight
Cons:
Difficult To Adjust, Unreliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
NONE
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

Really difficult to clip out, Crack brothers were supposed to be really state of the art, coming from SPD, these are extremely difficult to clip out, have had like 3 falls in just 2 rides.

Cheap constructed, really worthless, either get better crackbrothers or look into spd.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I liked the color, too
By DuckdoggerVerified Reviewer from Cave Creek, AZ on 11/7/2008
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry
Cons:
Unreliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

I put a pair on my road bike as Mountain-style shoes are easier for the walking part of my bike commute. And Crank had a combo pedal/shoe promo going on with a shoe supplier so I switched from the SPD camp.

They are different from the SPD cleats and require a modified approach to the ins and outs of the cleat. However, being an adaptable sort of guy, I conquered the challenge.

At the end of my day, they function, and well, too. Good value for me.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pretty Good Pedal
By dpsVerified Reviewer from Lansing, MI on 5/29/2008
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Good Platform, Lightweight, Mud shedding
Cons:
Difficult To Adjust, Mushy feel
Best Uses:
Cyclocross, Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Collegiate/Pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

These pedals stripped my crank during a race, turns out the bearings were bad, but Crank Bros. did an excellent job fixing it and sent me a new pair. I like the pedals, but clipping and unclipping definitely has a different feel than spd. The only way I can describe it, is that it is "less positive" and it may be partly my shoes too, I don't know. But sometimes you don't know if you are clipped in, or out because you don't feel a hard "click" like you do with spd. But once you get used to it, they are great pedals. I won several cyclocross races on them, even in some pretty thick mud. I would buy another pair. Oh, they tend to get a little rusty if you don't dry them off, but not too bad.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Way better than SPDs and SPD replicas
By Rexer from St. Louis on 5/24/2008
Pros:
Dual Sided Entry, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

These pedals were bomb proof for 1 year and the spring broke after 1 year and 2 months of hardcore mashing. The fact that they broke sucks but the fact that they lasted me 1 year is awesome. All others I've tried lasted far less. I'm going to buy another pair right now until I can upgrade to road shoes and pedals.

Hopfully Crank Brothers are good about repairs and or replacements.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Pedal, Great Price!!!
By Brandon from Florida on 2/22/2007
Pros:
Easy to clip in and out
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CRANK BROTHERS Crank Brothers Smarty Pedal:

This is a great pedal for the price. I just picked up mountain biking and these are my first pair of clips.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.