Buy the Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: SHIMANO
Located in: Bike Parts, Road Bike Components, Bike Pedals
With a brand new look for 2010, the race-ready ShimanoUltegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Bike Pedal uses a wide platform design to reduce lateral rocking for increased power transfer and stability.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Adjustable(11), Good platform(12), Increases pedaling efficiency(13), Lightweight(4), Reliable entry/exit(11)
Cons:
Unreliable entry/exit(3)
Best Uses:
Road biking(15), Upgrade(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(12)
Was this a gift?:
No(8)
 
Very Happy
By Lorien from Pa on 6/9/2011
Pros:
Adjustable, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

This is a new pair for my second bike. I have been using the same setup for the last 5 years and the other pair is still functioning without issue.
So when I needed another set why mess with what works

 
Great buy
By Pontificus Maximus from Costa Mesa, CA on 6/7/2011
Pros:
Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Reliable Entry/Exit
Cons:
no cons
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

These pedals serve their purpose and the price was great. I am very happy with my purchase.

 
Great pedal
By Mark the comeback kid from Fredericksburg, VA on 6/6/2011
Pros:
Adjustable, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Cons:
Ease of entryExit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

I purchased the previous model of this pedal 5+ years ago and was very happy with them. When I decided to replace the toeclips on my old Centurion with the clipless pedal I took the old Shimano's and put them on my centurion and moved the new ones to my Trek 5200. Admittedly the PD-6700 is a little more difficult to get out of then the PD-6600. I did play with the adjustment but it is still more difficult. I have to think about getting out of the pedal long before I stop. Otherwise the pedals work great for entry and pedalling. I like them alot overall for my road bikes. M

 
Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Peda
By JSlowVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 5/23/2011
Pros:
Adjustable, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

:-)

 
It's all good
By Fast PeteVerified Reviewer from Morris county NJ on 5/7/2011
Pros:
Adjustable, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

All around great pedal choice without breaking the bank.

 
I would buy again
By Bill from Spokane, WA on 4/28/2011
Pros:
Adjustable, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Lightweight, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

I fiind these pedals very reliable and easy to use. Entry sometimes is a little awakward and takes some practice. I like the large surface area and the durability.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Undecided
By Dane C. from Walnut Creek, CA on 11/17/2010
Pros:
Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Lightweight
Cons:
Unreliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

Great price! I had been eyeing these for a while, and when Performance has them for [$] plus a 15% off coupon - no brainer. Previously used Speedplay and SPD pedals - theses are by the far the hardest to get in and out of. I hope it gets better with time but it is a real twist to get out. And getting in is a bit of an adventure as well, I am sure I will eventually tame these and have nothing but praise.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Well worth the $$$
By Granny GearVerified Reviewer from Grayslake, IL on 9/27/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Reliable Entry/Exit
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Road Biking, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

I have used and worn out many a pedal over 30 plus years of cycling...(remember clip pedals with leather straps?!). These were a replacement for Performance Forte' pedals that broke a bearing after 800 miles. These Ultegra pedals are wonderful. I didn't know how smooooth a pedal could be! Large platform, positive click in and out, this is a well made solid pedal at at any price. Typical Shimano, well tested and thought out. A little gripe, why coulden't Shimano spend a few seconds grinding off the molding cast line for a really smooth appearance? A super small gripe for a really nice pedal that will last for many miles. Oh, and I like the rubber tabs on the cleat that keep you from skating on the Dairy Queen tile floor!

 
Early Problems
By JohnVerified Reviewer from Westminster, CO on 7/21/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Increases Pedaling Efficiency
Cons:
Unreliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

Having used Shimano mountain bike clipless pedals on my road bike for three years, I was looking forward to the greater efficiency of a high quality road pedal. My initial experience (three rides totaling 90 miles)has been decidedly mixed. The greater efficiency is there. But entry and (particularly) exit are difficult. I've adjusted them to the loosest setting, but I still struggle to unclip. If I hadn't been experienced with clipless pedals, it would have been a disaster. As it is, I have to anticipate every stop and begin trying to extricate myself well in advance of the stop. I'm on the verge of returning them to Performance. If I do, I'll probably exchange them for another pair just to see whether I got a faulty pair or the problem is built into the pedal design.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT pedals!
By klwadeVerified Reviewer from Old Chatham, NY on 7/14/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

I agree with the other reviewers in all the pro points. You just can't go wrong with these. The only thing I can add is that until I had "scuffed up" my pedals a little bit with usage, I often slipped on the slick stainless steel surface while trying to clip in! More of an aggravation than anything. Anyway, I've had my pedals for a little more than a year now (2000 miles +) and they perform beautifully every time.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Rock Solid, Excellent Value
By JeffVerified Reviewer from Arvada, CO on 6/27/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Reliable Entry/Exit
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

Whether you're a weekend warrior or a serious club rider this pedal system won't let you down. The low stack height and wide platform ensure pedaling efficiency when spinning at a high pace, or hammering out of the saddle. The chromoly spindle stainless-steel body combination are designed for durability and wont give off that annoying "ticking" sound you hear from lateral movement surrendered by pedals with composite bodies. The float of the cleats is supple and their release is "crisp" when you need it.

This is not the lightest system on the market, but unless you're a competitive climber with >5% body fat, it shouldn't matter. I'll take stiffness and stability at this price any day of the week.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Pedals
By John from Seattle, WA on 6/24/2010
Pros:
Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

I am completely satisfied with these. After breaking two sets of cranks brothers pedals, I went ahead and spent a bit more to get some dedicated road pedals. After getting used to clipping in and out, which starts off pretty stiff compared to the other pedals I have used, I was in love. The platform on these makes a big difference in power transfer, and the just feel rock solid all around; sprinting is a joy, and they are just overall very comfortable and qualitative. Another plus is that the cleats are all composite, so you won't be as noisy or as likely to slip when walking. I imagine I will stay with this setup for a long time, I can't say I have any desire to use another design.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tough Entry/ Rough Release
By Serotta DudeVerified Reviewer from SW Colorado on 6/4/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Good Platform
Cons:
Unreliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

While these pedals feel very secure for sprinting and out of the saddle pedal mashing...they are not smooth to get into or out of. The release is very jerky. I have used other pedals over the years and these are the least smooth releasing and most difficult to get into pedals.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Pedals
By JadeVerified Reviewer from Starkvegas, MS on 4/8/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Good Platform, Increases Pedaling Efficiency, Reliable Entry/Exit
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

I worship these pedals. They're great. The cleats tend to last a long time also.

[16 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
tough all around good pedal
By ivan in tacomaVerified Reviewer from tacoma on 2/23/2010
Pros:
Versatile
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SHIMANO Shimano Ultegra PD-6700 SPD-SL Road Pedal:

a good pedal overall i like the wider platform. the finish is tough but be ready to scuff it up where your cleats go in up front but heh its awesome awesome awesome for the price. bearings are smooth and you get long milage out of these.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.