Buy the 2009 Fuji Cross Comp Cyclocross Bike on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
2009 Fuji Cross Comp Cyclocross Bike image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: FUJI
Located in: Bikes/Frames, Bicycles/Frames, Road Bicycles
Dirt, gravel, mud and nasty terrain...no matter what you encounter, this road bike will get you through it! Shimano 105 dual control levers keep you shifting AND braking with ease. FSA Gossamer Cross MegaExo cranks deliver sleek, stiff pedaling power for the hills and the flats.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(8), Lightweight(4), Versatile(9)
Best Uses:
Commuting/city(6)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(3), Competitive cyclist(3)
Cycling Style:
Speed oriented(4)
 
I Didn't Expect This !!
By Compulsive Bike Person .Verified Reviewer from Philly, Pa. on 4/6/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Fast, Lightweight, Shifting, Stop on a Dime Brakes, Versatile
Cons:
ZERO
Best Uses:
Commuting, Entry Level Race, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Pavement, Street Riding, Touring
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Cross Comp Cyclocross Bike:

I walked into Performance to look around only and then I saw that this bike was on sale, for half off!
Well, I bought it ! Im a big dude 275lbs and this bike is good for someone like me. I could put up to 40mm tires on it, but will probably upgrade to a {good} set of Kenda's in 35mm's. The rims are strong, not the lightest but I don't care. I rather have rims that stay true than light ones that I have to adjust after every ride. I use it for mostly city riding, street and pavement, and the streets in Philly aren't that smooth so 35 mm tires will do this bike well. The drive train is smooth and quick ! When you down shift you can't even hear it, up shifts are smooth and positive. Ultegra Rules ! The 105 front Derailluer and levers are good quality and will last. Anything above 105 is just lighter, not better. Even the cogs are 105= perfect mix! There were some complaints about the bottom bracket and cranks on this bike, all I could say is they are good components for street riding and some racing. You might want to upgrade for true cyclocross but I think the components are very good quality. Especially after riding a newest 1.0 and other junk bikes, to me this is top notch!
Some folks just want it all, well I hate to tell you but those days of getting full 105 or Ultegra grouppo's for $600-$800 are far gone friends ! Today they mix and match components. If you want a full grouppo on a bike it will run you $1700 to $1800 these days ! More for Ultegra or Dura Ace! The FSA Gossamer Max Cross crank is a strong crank ! Better than TruVative's stuff ! The only change necessary are the tires, that's it !
This is the best you can get for the money ! You can't go wrong with this bike at all. It can do everything. Make sure to put some tuffy tire liners in your rims too, they are great against pinch flats ! Ride On !

 
Great bike and comfortable
By Jenn KVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 3/8/2010
Pros:
Affordable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Cross Comp Cyclocross Bike:

I got this bike 2 days ago after coveting it for 3 months. I have a Trek Cruiser and a Giant Transcend that I commute on, so this is my first road/cross bike. I thought this different riding position would take a bit of getting used to, but I rode it the 4 miles home from the shop without issue. Took a litte bit to get used to the gears, but they are easy to shift (easier than other road bikes I had tested).

Day two was gorgeous in Denver, so we went on a 20+ mile ride with friends, and I found this bike AWESOME. I have some soreness in the shoulders/neck area, but not bad and I attribute that to getting comfortable with this different riding position. I have absolutely no lower body fatigue or pain, my butt feels fine, and I enjoyed a lovely ride.
This bike is not designated "Women Specific"; I'm 5'6" and I got the 49, and it's perfect for me. There weren't any hills on the route we took along the South Platte, so I'm curious to see how it tackles those.

 
Amazing
By mattlreese from maryland on 1/29/2010
Pros:
Durable, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Cross Comp Cyclocross Bike:

I have very impressed with this bike, it is performing far better than I expected it would and at [$] I feel like I got a steal. You will not find a bike better than this anywhere at the sub $1000 price point. I waited until this bike went on sale for [$] (which it does often) and you get another 10% back to spend on other bike stuff at performance like clip in pedals, or a computer etc. This bike will even beat out many bikes in the 1000 – 1500 price range. If you are looking for a low cost bike that will perform like it is costs a lot more this is the bike. There are cheaper road bikes out there but none that are any good.Setup:I am not really a racer though I do compete sometimes in beginner races. I have this setup as a touring bike. I put some fatter durable tires and I plan to get a rear rack for some long distance rides. Eventually I do plan to cross with this bike, but I have not yet.Pros:1. 105 drive train including an ultegra rear detailer. The 105 is the best drive train out there when price vs. performance are considered. The ultegra and higher series perform the same but are lighter. The lower series will not shift as smoothly as the 105 series does.2. Carbon front fork3. While the bike is not super light it is not super heavy either4. Lifetime tune ups at performance – I do most of my own work but I did take my bike in for a tune-up when winter started because I knew I would not be riding in a while. The guy had some free time and did it on the spot for me anyway, and he did a very thorough job.Cons:1. A lot of reviews claim the bottom bracket has issues. So far I have not had any issues at about 500 miles but it is something I am prepared to replace if it goes up. There not that expensive.If you are looking into a new bike, this is one of the best entry/mid level bikes out there.

 
Good around bike
By Colorado YooperVerified Reviewer from Pine, Co on 12/22/2009
Pros:
Durable, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Cross Comp Cyclocross Bike:

I live in the mountains above Denver and I need a little higher gearing and stronger framed bike, so it was a no brainer to get a cross. I walked into Performance and the bike was on a stand looking good, on sale, and I had cash burning a hole in my pocket.
With the great price I saved enough to buy new shoes, helmet, and pedals.I also upgraded the cassette (11-28 Ultegra)and chain rings (FSA 50-32)so I can get a more touring ride than cross.
With over 200 miles on it so far, I am not regreting my purchase. It's a little heavy on the climbs, but I can drop a lot of weight if I change out the wheels and tires and some fat too. Seat is a little stiff, but servicable. Brakes are cantilever so they stop great, but you get looked down on by our racing brethern, but I could care less. It's about the enjoyment of the ride. And I enjoy it.

 
Great Components. [...]
By ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ from PDX, OR on 11/30/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great value, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Cyclocross Racing
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Cross Comp Cyclocross Bike:

First off, a huge Thank You to the staff (especially the wrenches) at the Tigard, Oregon Performance.The put this bike together for me on the Black Friday weekend. They took their time and the build was completely pro-level in all respects. [...]The bike is a great value for the money. The bike runs great and the components show every sign of lasting forever.Fuji cheaped out in a couple of areas like the rim strips, tires and calipers, but these items are consumables anyway. Everything else is race ready.An overall great buying and riding experience...

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent for Price
By recycler7 from Littleton, CO on 10/19/2009
Pros:
Durable, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Cross
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Cross Comp Cyclocross Bike:

I have road bikes, mountain bikes,cruisers, etc but wanted to get into Cross racing after a bad crash in a Crit. For the price, the bike is great and has a good component mix with ultegra and 105. I am pleased so far. It is a bit heavy but i am thinking that a new wheelset will lighten it up, so I should be good.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
great for cross, not too much flash
By abVerified Reviewer from pgh, pa on 9/3/2009
Pros:
Durable, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Cross
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Cross Comp Cyclocross Bike:

great value for what fuji dubs a "race-ready bike." same frame as the pro (as far as i can tell) with good 105 and ultegra mix. the one big downside *the wheelset* but for this price getting an after-market set doesn't seem like such a big deal. not such a great crank either. what i like about this bike more than anything else is that i can race it but it is not so expensive that it can't also be used for foul weather/commuting. get this bike, upgrade the components that bother you and you will still get a great ride for less than what the comparable trek or specialized lists.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I'm loving it.
By PaulVerified Reviewer from Berkeley, CA on 9/2/2009
Pros:
Durable, Fast, FUN, Lightweight, Responsive, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Recreational riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Cross Comp Cyclocross Bike:

I bought this for commuting. I was tired of pushing my heavy fat-tire mountain bike through my 18-mile roundtrip commute. I love it - it's fast, light, & responsive. The carbon fork does a great job over the bumps. I've switched out the stock knobbies for road slicks. My only complaint is that it doesn't have a triple or a compact crank. The gearing is fine for gentle/moderate hills, but for when the hills get really steep some lower gears would have been nice. In addition to my road commute, I've also used it on a few path/trail rides and it's been great. It's steady on gravel and dirt - but the lack of really low gears keeps me off the steep singletrack. 400+ miles thus far and I'm loving it.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
First bike great bike
By NewbeeeeVerified Reviewer from Philly on 8/3/2009
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Extreme Sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Cross Comp Cyclocross Bike:

Bought this bike back in December. I bought this bike because i wasn't sure if i wanted a road bike or a mountain bike. So i bought this hi bread. I ride in the city all the time with it. I took it off road a few times. The handling is not as good as a mt bike in the dirt but its fun to ride. I crashed it a few times too and no major damage.. Over all for my first bike i love it. My girlfriend sometimes gets jealous of it. :)

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.