Buy the GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: GT
Located in: Bikes/Frames, Bicycles/Frames, Road Bicycles
GT's new radical and high performing GTR Pro Rival road bike pushes the tech envelope with cutting-edge looks and state of the art componentry. With a forced-optimized carbon chassis and SRAM Rival gruppo, this 17lb. thoroughbred is sure to place at the top of its class!
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Absorbs shock well(10), Comfortable(12), Good geometry(12), Great components(11), Handles well(13)
Best Uses:
Casual riding(3), Climbing(10), Racing(5), Serious training(12), Sprinting(4)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(13)
 
GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike
By Mountain Mike from Walnut Creek, CA on 12/18/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

Great value for the money! I had mixed expectations regarding carbon fiber. I was transitioning from a Reynolds 531 antique custom steel frame, and wanted the plush of steel but lightweight upgraded grupo. I'm not a spring chicken and live in the SF bay-area where hill climbing is taken for granted if you ride more than 10 miles. I was hesitant about the compact set up, and contemplated getting the 27 tooth rear cog rather than the stock 25. After a few weeks of hard training rides my fitness level increased to the point that I didn't need the lower gearing. I rode around Lake Tahoe with this bike and none of the inclines were any big deal.
I love the quickness and acceleration of the bike. It handles well, carves and holds the lines on steep downhill descents. I opted to reverse the stem to have the more upright position but still have a fairly aero profile. Compared to "comfort or plush" geometry I'm not as upright but who want a road bike that feels like a mountain bike?
The only glitch was a loose water bottle boss. I'll have to return the frame to the factory for a fix. The rival group is great it's a bit finicky to dial in some of the gears without chain noise but I was able to adjust cable tension just right so the noise is negligible.
I've ridden a few centuries and have not seen another GT of the same make. So if you want to be somewhat unique and have a less common bike this might do the trick.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
My first true love
By JdubbinVerified Reviewer from Adirondacks, New York on 12/8/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Ballsy, Comfortable, Handles Well, Responsive
Best Uses:
Climbing, Riding aFASTap aLONGap, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

I bought this bike on an impulse. I was frustrated with my first entry level bike after having pinch flats consecutively, a bent chain ring, and seriously screwed up R. der.

This is one impulse buy I will never regret. I bought the bike in July at the Dallas Performance and have put about 1,400 miles on it thus far on rides ranging from 20 miles sprints to a few century rides. This bike is so responsive to my changes in push, it has a get up and go feeling that screams to be pushed harder farther, I can't get off of it.

The handling is superb, I'm a big dude and find it easy to peddle and lean into turns. This bike does an outstanding job climbing- its responsiveness when pushing makes me wish the hills never ended.

The rival componentry shocked me- shifting is so smooth; I cant tell the difference between my bike and my buddies Red (no joke). While I am no professional, the only bummer is that my top speed is 41.0 where I can reach about 43 on my buddies tarmac (with red).

The vittoria tires are worth every extra dollar spent- 1400 miles, no flats, no problems with the bike, just pure love.

compared to: Tarmac w/red, KHS 700 (random assembly), and trek 2100 w/ ultegra (don't waste your time w/ shimano)

 
My dream bike found
By Richard's Bro from Muscatine, Iowa on 10/26/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

I think this bike is better than most mortals need. I can't vouch for its prowess in a peleton, but most people I ride with aren't racers. The frame is off the 'cool factor' chart by a mile and this one is equipped better than originally spec'd by the factory. This bike is a piece of art and a bargain by any measure.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Ride!
By bradmu from Cincinnati, OH on 10/10/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

I was looking for a Full Carbon Bike in the $1.5k-$2k range after putting about 2,000 miles on my el cheapo schwinn. I looked at Felts, Treks, Fuji's, and a Motobecane, but this GT just spoke to me. This bike rides so smooth and effortlessly. My old bike weighed about 5-6 pounds more than this, and its amazing what a difference that makes. And the SRAM Rival components are very nice. Very quick and easy shifting. If you are into racing and want to have top of the line components and the lightest bike possible, this bike might fall short of your expectations. However, the difference in quality, weight, etc of this bike's components and a $5000 bike is pretty small, but will make your bike cost twice as much.

So if you are in the market for a great carbon Bike that won't break the bank, you should definitely check out the GTR Pro Rival.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Downright Amazing
By Triguy from NW Burbs, IL on 9/3/2008
Pros:
Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, Very Stiff
Best Uses:
Climbing, Racing, Serious Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Collegiate/Pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

I don't personally own this bike but I do work at a Performance in my area and ride this bike whenever I get the chance. The frame geometry is just perfect and is very very stiff so acceleration is no problem. Comes with an awesome wheelset so no need to upgrade right away. SRAM in my opinion is th best component/drivetrain company and the Rival is a model of this. Obviously the lightweight but stiff frame makes climbing no problem at all. Also on a side note not that you should buy a bike on this but the paintjob and detailing on this ride is truly awesome.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike
By PaytoniousVerified Reviewer from Washington State on 8/30/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

I bought this for my first road bike and I’m really happy with it thus far. First month I put on around 400 miles. It was a pretty easy transition from my Mt. Bike background to the street world. I have no complaints and would recommend this bike to my friends. The price tag may be a little intimidating but invest the money initially and don’t waste you’re time buying multiple entry level or mid grade bikes.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth every penny
By raloo from Los Angeles, CA on 7/23/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Serious Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

I've been waiting to buy a road bike for a while now, and when I saw this bike I knew it was the one. I thought I would have to compromise, you know the saying you get what you paid for,well not on this bike. It was worth every penny.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Unbelievable bike!
By Myles from Riverside, Ca on 7/21/2008
Pros:
Good Geometry
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

Just bought this bike a month ago. With each and every ride, it never ceases to amaze me about the little nuances and characteristics of this bike. Can't go wrong with this bike. Highly recommended.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT BIKE !
By EdubVerified Reviewer from East Texas on 7/17/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, Looks great, Responsive
Cons:
None I've Found
Best Uses:
Climbing, Racing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

My first carbon bike, and I love it! It's very comfortable, and ligthweight. Great components too. I am very happy with my purchase.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
One Fast, Nimble Ride
By Mark on WheelsVerified Reviewer from Steilacoom, WA on 7/16/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Racing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

I ride this bike 3X weekly for typically 15 - 25 miles training / fun rides. In the Pacific NW we have alot of paved trails (old rail lines), these are the 51% majority locations for me. The rest are the PNW hilly terrain roads. Plenty of gear combinations (shifting Rival is better than I thought it would be, Ultegra is very addicting, Rival will certainly satisfy), plenty of responsiveness, very cool looking and well priced.

What's not good is using high end Vittoria Rubino Pro tires without color inserts. No big deal for performance of the bike, but Red would be good.

[4 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent bike excelent value
By Sir Bike-alot from Florida on 6/30/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Climbing, Racing, Serious Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

Road this side be side against S-works Roubaix, used the same wheelset on both, road short and fast and 50 mile training rides... could'nt tell the difference! The GT is about 1lb heavier,17.25 vs 16.23... but about 3k cheaper.. I'll take the 3k thanks! You wont be disappointed.

[4 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Buy and Ride I've found.
By Bike-Nut99Verified Reviewer from St Pete Florida on 6/27/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Cool Tube design, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Racing, Serious Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

I road this bike side by side w/ the Specialized Roubiax S-works and used the same wheels on both rides. Road both bikes SEVERAL rides ranging from 25 fast miles to 50 solid training miles w/ sprint zones. Aside from the GT being about 1lb heavier (17.45 vs 16.35) and $4000 cheaper I could barely tell the difference. I figure I'd rather lose that pound than the bike! Note I used Ksyrium elite wheels on BOTH bikes and both have fantastic getty-up, I also think the GT corners better. I have had, Specilaized, Colnago, Trek, Fuji, ridden Orbea,Cannondale and others this is an excellent bike and the SRAM kills shimano! Upgrade the wheels when you want, but even w/ the shimano wheelset its a fantastic bike. The photos dont even come close to showing the awesome shape of the tubes! See GT's website for more info and the geometry. Excellent bike and components, and great on the long steep bridges we cross(hence the reference to climbing)

[20 of 22 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome bike Avid Roadie
By Pro PelotonVerified Reviewer from Springfield on 5/13/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

They say the person makes the bike, not the bike make the person. Well they were wrong with this bike I actually gained a couple MPH average and better hill climber with this GTR pro. Don't sleep on SRAM Rival its lighter than Shimano and if you were blind folded you will never know the difference between SRAM, Shimano components. Hella Sexy bike also.

[11 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bought one - very happy
By Pat from MN on 4/24/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about GT GT GTR Pro Rival Road Bike - U.S. Exclusive:

Love this bike very happy - great frame and components

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.