Buy the 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Brand: SCATTANTE
Located in: Bikes/Frames, Bicycles/Frames, Road Bicycles
With show-stopping speed and spec'd out at a price that can't be beat, this ride is sure to exceed your expectations. Lightweight aluminum frame, carbon fiber fork, race-ready Ultegra components and powerful FSA cranks deliver a ride so smooth, so fast and so hill-smashingly easy...you'll just keep coming back for more.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Absorbs shock well(6), Comfortable(11), Good geometry(12), Great components(8), Handles well(12)
Best Uses:
Casual riding(9), Climbing(5), Commuting(3), Serious training(8), Sprinting(4)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(9)
 
Scattante 660
By BondVerified Reviewer from Oxford UK on 3/1/2009
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Exercising, Serious Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

Handels very well at descending speeds of up to 120kmph without vibrations. Brakes could be better which is worrying but they are easy to change. A fantastic trainning bike. Also good for longer distances.

 
lightweight, good-looking
By Desert riderVerified Reviewer from New Mexico on 2/13/2009
Pros:
Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Unforgiving on bumps
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Exercising, Racing for fun
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

This elegant bike is lightweight, smooth, and generally lots of fun to ride. The seat is a bit unforgiving, but that's coming from a mountain-biker who's used to a little more cushion and weight...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Can't Go Wrong
By JimVerified Reviewer from Boston Ma area on 1/4/2009
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Seatpost
Best Uses:
Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

Pros; Great bike, further great for the price. You will not be dissapointed.Cons; Seat post (carbon fiber) is manufactured a bit too small in diameter. Kept slipping down in the seat tube. I have the seat colar bolt cranked about as much as I dare with a carbon post. OK for now. I inserted a alloy seat post and confirmed the problem is simpply the carbon post is mfg too small in diameter and is 'sloppy' in the seat tube.Usage: I own about 8 bikes. I wanted a winter bike to keep my DuraAce rides out of the crud. This seemed a very nicely equipped ride for the $$ and I would not need to cry about my DuraAce gear in the crud and road salt.When the bike arrived [...] I was so pleaed that I immed ordered another as a spare. You will be happy with this choice. Race it, train on it, spare ride, whatever. You'll be happt with the purchase.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Satisfied
By MAX MUSCLEVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 11/24/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

Again, i don't think you will find many bikes with the same components even close to the price of this bike. I was very pleased at what I recieved for the price. It shifts very smoothly an accelerates like i neeed it to coming off of stop lights.

 
smooth and responsive
By k dog from chicago, il on 10/17/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

I ride 20 miles round trip to work three times per week.
This is smooth machine. It is responsive and always accelerates
on command.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike for Rides of all Kinds
By MichaelVerified Reviewer from Flagstaff, AZ on 9/15/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

This is my first serious road bike. I have logged 150 miles on the bike on three seperate rides and have no complaints. The bike handles very well at high speeds, compenents are smooth, and the bike is VERY light. The geometry is comfortable and the ride is very smooth. I would recommend doing your research and knowing which components you get on Trek or Specialized bikes of the same price. This is the best deal for the money.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great price for higher end components
By Speed Addict from Houston, TX on 9/3/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

This is my first road bike, I've tested a few with similar geometry, such as Trek 1.2, Specialized Allez Elite, and few others. But this bike is best bang for the buck. With similar components on other brands would have cost me much more. Bike is very light for being aluminum+carbon fiber. You definitely need to upgrade the brakes, especially the pads at least, stock pads stop poorly. The calipers are ok, not sure if I should switch to Shimano, but new Shimano pads worked better. Highly recommend this model.

 
Very Happy with the 660
By MannyVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 8/5/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Serious Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

Love the acceleration and hillclimbing on this bike. Getting tons of enjoyment!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Fast
By Bestman from Sacramento on 7/12/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Racing, Serious Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

This is a very comfortable bike. Not only is it fast & light, the gearing is very precise. The responce on the overall all bike will not dissapoint you.

[4 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Value
By Greg from So California on 6/21/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Wheels
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Serious Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

I am an avid cyclist and competitive triathlete. I own a Felt B2 Pro triathlon bike -- what a rocket -- but I wanted a relaxed geometry road bike to add to my stable. After test riding Felt F75, Specialized Tarmac, and Giant TCR bikes I decided the Scattante R-660 was the best value for them money. The other bikes I tested were all Shimano 105 components and +$500-600 more than the Ultegra outfitted R-660. I just finished my first 50 mile ride on the R-660 and I can't be more happy about the purchase. The bike is extremely comfortable. Handles great. Climbs well. Descends confidently. I did upgrade the wheels to a set of Easton Vista SL's that I had lying around in the garage. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great intermediate road bike that could be used for weekend rides, every day training, and even racing.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for the money, period.
By RickVerified Reviewer from Calhoun, GA on 6/4/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

I ride at least 5 days a week. The bike is reliable and afforable. With the component level and a couple of k's in my short ownership the bike is great for all around training.

[29 of 29 customers found this review helpful]

 
good bang for the buck
By El GatoVerified Reviewer from Granbury Texas on 6/2/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, Minimal Flex, Responsive, Sporty Feel
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Commuting, Spirited Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about SCATTANTE 2008 Scattante R-660 Double Road Bike:

After a few weeks of research and test riding of other bikes, I decided on the 2008 Scattante Six-Sixty. Reviews of last year's frame showed good response and minimal flex when "hammering". This year's paint job is much better looking than previous models. Thanks Scattante. This bike seems light for being aluminum. With the Alex 440-SL wheels, acceleration feels quick and sure. The steering is agile and firm even at 35 mph. I highly recommend you get a Performance Team membership and reap the rewards of 10% back on your purchase. That way, you can get a few more goodies for yourself. I am clearly happy with the 2008 R-660. What a great value it is with all those Ultegra components from Shimano. This truly is a good find that's hard to beat.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.