Buy the Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire image
 
(based on 49 ratings)
Brand: Forté
Located in: Build, Tires/Tubes, Road Tires
Thick, durable tread is long lasting and resists wear and tear Kevlar belt for puncture resistance
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.7 stars
(based on 49 reviews)
79% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Cheap(3), Durable(29), Excellent grip(15), Good cornering(14), Low rolling resistance(11)
Cons:
High rolling resistance(5), Wears easily(7)
Best Uses:
Climbing(4), Commuting(32), Rain(4), Serious racing/training(3), Training(4)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(32)
 
all around good tire...
By deeVerified Reviewer from san jose, ca on 8/28/2009
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisure, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

i bought a pair of these gt2 kevlars for db insight 1...i have ridden them through a road full of glass, thorns, nails, potholes, cracks in the concrete during my (26 mile rt) commute. i have to say that these tires held up. my stock kenda kwiks had 3 flats in 2 days on the same road i commute on. fits well on my rims (weinnmans 700cx23). good handling on corners...avg speed on coleman rd by sj airport is 21mph with these tires. smooth, i pumped them up to 100psi. the tires are good for commuting, training, leisure...

 
1500 miles no Flats
By The Retired Triathlon Guy from Minneapolis on 8/27/2009
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

1500 miles and no flats (Forte thorn-proof tubes). Not sure whether the tubes or the tires are the biggest reason for no flats but I don't care. I usually have averaged a flat every 400-500 miles on the rear tire and every 1000 or so on the front. The down side of this tire is that it is excruciating to get on and off. I would not use with an ultra light or normal tube becase it will take you you 40 minutes of swearing and at least one blister to take it off and put it back on again. I am going to use this tire on the back only next year.

 
Fast tire, but lots of flats
By Vincent MacVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/26/2009
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily, Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

This tire is so fast but I've gotten 3 flats in 3 rides with no punctures visible. I think this tire is rated too big for its size. It doesn't fit on the rim properly because it's too small (using 700x25). The tube would bulge out of my tires when properly inflated.

 
Great Tires
By Biker Bob from Alexandria, VA on 8/10/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I ride this bike daily for exercise on and off road. I have hit some stuff that I thought would blow the tire for sure. Not so. They are tough. My 1980 Raleigh has the 27" 1" tires (odd size these days). I have replaced the racing handle bars and brakes with a mountain bike set up that makes it a nice cafe style racer. Since these are the only tires Performance has to fit my rims, I am a little concerned about the future.

 
Great value
By Devin S HarrisonVerified Reviewer from Upstate NY on 8/6/2009
Pros:
Durable
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I've used these for fully loaded touring (700Cx28). I've gotten about 2000 miles on the rear, and a bit more on the front. Good for the price. I just bought Ultra Gator Skins, which would need to last for over 8,000 miles fully loaded in order to be worth the price. I doubt they will!

These are not perfect tires, but definitely worth the sacrifice for an excellent price.

 
Durable value tire
By Staarkhand from Dayton, OH on 5/12/2009
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I bought these for commuting and longer weekend rides on a road bike and overall was pleased. They lasted a full season, no flats, and I finally replaced them because the tread had worn down, primarily from use on an indoor trainer over the winter.

They are extremely narrow, plan on them being about 3-5mm narrower than the spec. They're also very hard to mount, fortunately I never had to change a tube on the road because that would have been tough. As a result I'm experimenting with another puncture resistant tire, but the value of these tires isn't in question as long as you know what you're getting.

 
Adequate Training, Commuter Tire
By Local CommuterVerified Reviewer from Tacoma, WA on 5/8/2009
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

This tire is adequate for my seven-mile one-way commute. The 27 x 1.25 matches its size, but the 700 x 28's that I put on last night are more like 700 x 23's than 28's, which caused a problem when mounting until I went with a smaller tube size. The tires are wire beaded with a stiff casing. I wouldn't want to ride them more than 20 miles, but for inexpensive commuter tires for Spring and Summer (no tread for rain in the Fall/Winter) they are sufficient.

 
Good Value
By Wayne from Charlotte Hall, MD on 4/16/2009
Pros:
Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I have a little more than 200 miles and no
flats so far. If you are getting a lot of flats,
check the inside of your tire. You may not
see the the culprit at the puncture site on
the outside of the tire.

 
Good for Rough Roads
By Road RiderVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles CA on 3/24/2009
Pros:
Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Recreational, Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

In my neighborhood there is lots of rough pavement and debris on the road. Flat tires are common. I bought these tires because of the price and Kevlar belt. I have used the tires (700x28) on several rides and so far, so good. The fit on my rims (Ritchey) was fine. Overall a very good training and or recreational tire.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not a good value
By Some commuter guyVerified Reviewer from Provo, Utah on 2/23/2009
Pros:
Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I bought this as a cheap commuter tire to replace a tire torn from a 'snakebite' puncture. They rolled well and cornered well. They were difficult to mount on my rim and did end up breaking a tire lever, but only after several mounts/dismounts. The flat protection was mediocre in comparison to the Panaracer Pasela TG I had before but still acceptable.

I haven't put more than 1,000 miles on them and the sidewalls have cracked and deteriorated enough to let the tube puncture though a small hole in the tire. The casing is showing threads on the inside.

These tires were medicore quality, and with how often they need to be replaced the value is non-existant. I will not buy these again.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good value for the price
By ChrisVerified Reviewer from Takoma Park, MD on 2/22/2009
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I'm glad that I can get tires of this quality/price for my old commuter bike with 27" wheels. I consistently get long reliable service from them - 2K+ miles from the back tire, and 3K+ miles from the front tire. I use tire liners along with these tires, and I almost never get a flat on the road. A flat is usually the signal to switch to a new tire.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worst tire I have ever used
By TonyVerified Reviewer from Arizona on 1/2/2009
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I was enticed by the sale price and decided to give these a try.
This tire has been wrong for me in so many ways. First off the sizing is off as others reported. I used a 700 X 25 and it is much smaller than any other tire that I have used with a 700 X 23 size. I also use Vittoria, Continental and even Forte's own ETT tire.
This tire takes a ridiculous amount of effort to pull onto the rim. I tried using on Mavic MA3's and Bontrager Race X Lites with great difficulty. The next issue I had were the punctures from just inflating the tube after install. I went through 4 Forte ultralight tubes that punctured 10 minutes after inflating and I wasn't even out the door.
Pay a little more and get Vittoria Zaffiro Pros, which I have used successfully for daily commuting.

 
Can't beat it for the $$
By Mr. VersatileVerified Reviewer from Ohio on 12/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
A little narrow, Hard to mount on rims
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

These are really great tires for commuting at a great price. I've redden these for the past 10 years. My commute is 36 mi/day through potholes and some pretty rough pavement. I've had no problems with these. The only flats I've had were snake bites = my fault. I get a lot of miles from these.

The only problem is mounting them. They're very tight - difficult to get on especially when on the road. Take your tools - you'll need'em.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
excellent all-around tire, great value
By agwizVerified Reviewer from basking ridge nj on 12/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I've been across the country on these tires twice (two different sets) and have had no flats. That's a pretty hard record to beat. If you want to spend your touring time riding, not fixing flats, buy these tires. And to counter all those claims about difficult mounting (I have no experience in removing them) get some good levers and learn how to do it right from your bike shop folks. I have already recommended these tires to numerous riders.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cost Effective Alternative-Training Tire
By kellyRANDO from San Diego, CA on 11/5/2008
Pros:
Good training tire, High mileage, Low cost, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
A Little Heavy, Odd Tire Sizes, Possible Tread Defects
Best Uses:
Commuting, Great training tire
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I'm a long distance cyclist, randonneuring type and I got tired of paying big $$ for tires. These 700x28 tires last around 2500-4000 miles, sometimes longer. I visually inspect each tire after every ride & pick out the glass and junk.

I use 19-26 Forte regular tubes now instead of the much bigger 28-32 size due to the odd tire sizing. I have encountered some "wavy" tread tires and have taken those back. The 28 size weigh almost the same as Conti G'skins 28's and cost 1/3 as much. They have just enough Kevlar in them to be effective enough against punctures. After I changed rims to Open Pro's, I've had no fitting problems.

These tires ride & handle OK. Nothing super-duper, maybe a little stiff, but at this price point it's still a great deal. These are labelled one side, plain-jane tires, without all the whiz-bang. Check your local store or online for sales/coupons and these tires become more cost-effective yet!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
700x28 - Good enough for commuting
By Nishiki SteelVerified Reviewer from San Francisco on 10/14/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Hard to install, Heavy, Marginal Quality
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

If you're looking to get an old bike back on the road for commuting or recreational riding, then these are a terrific value. So far, I've ridden on them for a couple hundred miles (not sure b/c I don't use a cyclocomputer) and the front tire still has the casting line down the middle. While I have yet to see these flat, I hope they will endure because getting them on the rim did take quite a bit of effort.

Another thing to consider is that the quality of these tires are marginal at best. Fully inflated, there are spots that appear slightly out of round and the tread seems twisted/distorted in some areas too. And while they are 700x28, mine measure to be 25 in diameter, and the Forte 700x28-32 tubes I bought along with them were almost too big for these tires. Regardless, I still used them and have not had any problems. So with all that in mind, they are a good value tire that seem relatively robust, but are certainly not without issues.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not as thick and durable as you think.
By criderVerified Reviewer from Concord, MA on 9/10/2008
Pros:
Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I ride these tires daily.
Looks good on the bike.
Hard to seat in rim bead is not big enough to grip rim. Already loosing chunks of rubber. Unless the road is smooth this tire will ware fast.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Durable tire but tough to install
By JeffVerified Reviewer from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/1/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Tough to install
Best Uses:
Commuting, Trail
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I use these on our local limestone-based trail and for commuting once in a while. So far, they've withstood punctures and flats. Although, I am certainly not looking forward to the day where I have to change these out. They were probably the toughest tire to install (extremely tight) and remove from the rim. I actually broke a plastic tire remover in the process of taking them off once. Everything else about them, including the price of course, was very good.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good value, tough to puncture
By Joe D.Verified Reviewer from Niskayuna, NY on 9/1/2008
Pros:
Excellent price, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Hard to install, Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

It is difficult to install and uninstall this tire, but I've had trouble with all Kevlar tires. I only got about 1000 miles of wear on the rear. However, I didn't get any flats, and that includes some miles on dirt and stones. Overall I would recommend this tire.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
You get what you pay for...
By Casually avidVerified Reviewer from Michigan on 8/23/2008
Pros:
Its a tire
Cons:
Poor constructionshape
Best Uses:
Between purchases
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I based my purchase on the comments of others that had bought this tire. In general, the comments were positive!? My experience has been otherwise.

The tire has trouble setting a consistent bead on the rim. Consequently, it tends to have a "wobble". In addition, one of the two I purchased was apparently poorly molded/formed as it has a sort of "twist" in one section.

All in all, I chalk this up to "you get what you pay for" and would not buy this tire again.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent CHEAP Tire
By mextripperVerified Reviewer from Westminster, CO on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Sizes incorrect VERY
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

Excellent cheap tire, sizes are way off though. The 700x28's are skinnier than my Continental 700x25's. We bought a second set of 700x25's and they are more like a 23 or even 21. That means incompetent manufacturing standards, however there is no issue pertaining to quality that I can find. Good wear, easy roller, I like the smooth raised center, good in the turns. For [$] on sale, I can't complain.*NOTE TO LEO THAT POSTED; never never never use tire levers to put a tire on, unless you want to peel them back off and replace your snake bitten tube! Roll the tire on with both palms. Pinch the tire all the way around with 2 fingers until the bead sits down low in the channel, that will give you a little slack to play with. Yes, they're tight, keep trying until you figure it out..

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Gr8 Puncture resistance, not so durable.
By John the CommuterVerified Reviewer from Highland, IN on 8/2/2008
Pros:
Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

We'd flatted out about 5 times when I decided to put these on both our road bikes. After two seasons: no punctures. Exactly what I asked for.
However, Sidewalls are dry-rotting, and I've blown out one sidewall hitting a pothole, apparently. That Kevlar bead is puncture-resistant, but you'll need some STIFF tire levers if you don't want to break all of yours.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tire for the price!
By DaveVerified Reviewer from Baltimore, MD on 7/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Price, Puncture Resistant, Very easy to mount
Best Uses:
All Around Road Riding, Commuting, Rain
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

These tires are a great bargain. Very easy to mount & puncture resistant. My tires came sized correctly so I had no issues that other reviewers had of tires coming in sized too small.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value
By Mark from Baton Rouge, La on 7/24/2008
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

These tires are an excellent value. I bought a pair over a year ago for my road bike. I have a tri bike that I ride most of the time. I used the road bike in bad weather, for rides with my kids, etc. I didn't want to spend much on tires, so I bought these.

Then I decided to train for and ride in a century ride here called the Rouge-Roubaix. Yes, it's a take-off on the famous Paris-Roubaix. Our version includes 20 miles on terrible dirt roads with some steep hills, huge ruts, and so on.

I planned to get new tires, but I decided to keep training on these. They never flatted or showed any wear. I eventually decided to go with the advice, "if it aint broke, don't fix it." I did the race with these tires. That was in early March. They survived, and I'm still riding on them now. I've put about 2,000 miles on them, including quite a few miles on dirt roads.

I don't know about rolling resistance or grip. I do know these tires have far exceeded my modest expectations. For a general use tire, these are hard to beat.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Got what I paid for - limited durability
By Rob from Northeast Pennsylvania on 7/18/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Limited Durability
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I bought these tires because they were a bargain. On the plus side, these tires performed very well for me while they lasted. Very good handling, no punctures. I finally got a flat last week on the rear tire. When I went to change out the tube I was completely shocked to see cord showing through the tread after about 450 miles. Now, to be fair, I weigh in at 250 lbs. So, I wear tires faster than the average cyclist. But, 450 miles?!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Decent tire
By E TresVerified Reviewer from Andrews, Texas on 7/17/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting, Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

Used tire on rear wheel on a lightweight CarBent recumbent. No punctures, but the tread is worn through after only about 1,000 miles. I expected better mileage.

 
Amazing Value and Reliability
By Jgus from Atlanta,GA on 6/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

Buy this tire if you want a great value on a very durable tire. I just bought my second set. The first set lasted 1800 miles with absolutely NO flats. There are lighter, quicker tires but few, if any, that are more durable. You will need tire levers and strong hands getting them on and off.

 
You get what you pay for...
By bikeboyVerified Reviewer from Boise, ID, USA on 6/11/2008
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting, Exercise, Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

As a BIG cyclist who rides a lot of miles (6'3", 250lbs., 6000 miles/year), I go through several tires in a year. I'm also "thrifty" - I like to maximize cost-per-mile, and am always looking for bargains. I've been buying "Performance GT" tires, off and on, for close to 20 years. Back in the beginning, these tires wore out at a fairly "normal" rate. (For me, that would be 1500-2000 miles on a rear tire.) So when Performance recently started offering 'em at around $10 (for a 700x28), I bought several. The first one wore out after about 1100 miles. The second one wore out - yesterday - at 988 miles. (And I don't mean "thin rubber" - I mean worn-thru-the-rubber, worn-thru-the-cord, air-squirtin'-out-the-hole!) If I'm paying a penny-a-mile for rear tires, I'd prefer a $20 tire that lasts 2000 miles over a $10 tire that lasts 1000 miles, I s'pose. (I'm not convinced the Kevlar belt adds much to puncture resistance, either. My goathead count may be down a bit, but I'm still dealing with them.) I wish those Specialized Armadillo tires weren't so expensive; they're the best I've used. Continental used to make a tire they called the "top touring" - it was fine, too, but expensive. I just got some WTB "Slickasaurus" tires to try. I think I'll shy away from the Performance GT, unless they can make 'em last a little longer.

 
Just to let you know.
By I Know Everything from NY on 6/8/2008
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

Just to let everyone know that reads these reviews and they say that they are such a skinny tire. The size of the tire is not the width of the tire, its how far they sit off the rim, so the 25's may be skinny but still sit 25 mm off the rim. In general, a larger tire will be wider but not always.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
You Get What You Pay For......
By The Lone Star.....lol from Texas on 5/31/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Smooth ride
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Week-end Warrior Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I bought these tires to get a smoother ride on rural asphalt highways that are anything but comfortable. While they do that job very well. My first impression is the trade off of increased rolling resistance isn't exactly what I was planned. Remember everything in life is a trade-off in one fashion or another.

My one major complaint about this product is the spec sheet says it's max 125 psi & embossed on the tire it says "inflate to 105"...well, which is it, that's a big difference in tire pressure.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sizes not accurate
By David from Seattle on 5/22/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

The 700x28 is the same same size as the 700x23 that came with my bike.Performance/Forte should tell the factory to make them the actual size. Other reviews of this tire say the same thing.It is a good tire at a good price other than that.[...]I told the cashier and he looked it up and gave me the website price.The max PSI on the sidewall says 105 for the "700x28"

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
tire of substance
By James451Verified Reviewer from East Islip, NY on 5/19/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
flatlander
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I am out every morning now in retirement and do about 150 miles per week. I like the physical and psychological feeling of have a significant tire handling the road hazards for me. Just don't want/need any problems with a tire going out on me. If there's a problem, Performance will handle it for me.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
TighT, Tight, Tight
By leo from hillsborough, nj on 5/18/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Ease of mounting
Best Uses:
Recreational riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

Nice riding tire, rolls easy and smooth. Feels secure in the corners.
BUT getting these on my rims was a chore. I broke a few tire levers. I hope I never get a flat on the road because I'll never get these off or back on out side of the shop. Other wise, a great deal.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
keep on going and going and going
By rick the bike from Lafayette on 5/17/2008
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Corners Poorly
Best Uses:
Climbing, Rollers, Winter ridingavoid flat
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

i got these tires to use just for a few miles on rollers and winter riding. I have put over 1300 miles on em so far. I am very impressed.....not one flat so far ......

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
tire not sized properly
By alan from bend, or on 2/11/2007
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
not sized accurately
Best Uses:
winter riding(avoid flat
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

fine tire for the money; but the 700x25 is equal or narrower than my common 23s. Bought these for winter riding, but havent got the extra tire width I planned for. may try the 28s.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good tire, but 700x25 is really a 21
By PylonVerified Reviewer from Kenosha, WI on 1/31/2007
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

These are a good tire. They mount easily and when combined with fans directing air onto the tires while on my rollers I have seen literally no wear. The mold tabs are still even on the tire after over 20 hours of usage.

However, the tires are extremely undersized. I bought the 700x25 GT2s so that when I purchased a set of cheapie wheels that were 20mm inner width I would be able to put these tires on them. Well, I finally purchased those wheels and eagerly slapped the tires on only to find that they appeared smaller than my 23 tires. I pulled out my caliper to measure them and found that my old 23mm tires were exactly 23, but these "25s" were BARELY 21mm wide. In fact, my new wheels, outside to outside, are actually wider than the tires. I had to put them on a different wheel (my 15mm wide wheel) to get an accurate measurement (and yes, before you assume, the measurements for both of the tire sizes were taken while on the same wheel).

I do like the tire, but am disgusted by the fact that these are severely undersized. I would hope that the 28mm tires are similarly undersized so that when I buy those I won't need to buy a different tube size from the 19-26mm tubes.

If you are aware of this situation and have the proper sizing I would whole heartedly recommend this tire. Just like I said, though. These should be advertised as 700cx21mm, not 700cx25mm

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Impressed
By JustinVerified Reviewer from Houston, Texas on 1/25/2007
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
City riding
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I put these on my cyclocross for road riding, I have put 400+ miles since having them, and I even took them off road and not one flat. Don't know about other cities but the bike lanes in Houston are basically glorified gutters with every kind of imaginable type debris. I used to stop after hearing a loud pop, certian that I got a flat. Now I don't even stop and look. Did I mention the potholes?

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good tires
By TeeVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 1/9/2007
Pros:
Affordable, Durable, Excellent Grip, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Sizing is way off
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Riding

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

Good inexpensive tires, ride nice, good flat resistance but...the 25's are more like a 20 and the 28's are very large (maybe a true 28) And the web site says the 28's are 320gms while the label on the tire at the store says it is 390 grams, what a huge discrepancy, which is correct? something in between sizes would help you sell a lot more of these tires, like a true 25mm. Then you would have something.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great winter road riding tire!
By racer rich from huntingtown, maryland on 12/2/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Cold weather riding, Commuting, Off-season training, Rain

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I'm a lightweight, at 134lbs, so these tires last forever. I use them in the winter when race training on the road because I don't want to deal with changing a flat when it's cold outside. One set will last me two winter seasons and I ride 4-5 times per week. The extra weight of these tires is not an issue with me while training and probably a slight benefit as they may make me stronger. I've never flatted with the 700x25's or 28's. I'll continue to buy them as long as they're offered.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent tire for the money
By Mr. VersatileVerified Reviewer from Ohio on 11/6/2006
Pros:
Durable, Good Value
Best Uses:
Commuting

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

These are just super for money! They're durable, ride smoothly, and roll pretty easily. Sure, they could be lighter[...] I have them on my commuter bike, which I ride 36 mi. per day year round. I'd buy these again in a heartbeat.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good tire
By AlRockVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 10/24/2006
Pros:
Good Value
Best Uses:
Trainer Tire

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

A good tire for the price without a doubt. I bought a tire to save my expensive Conti GP Force.

I wanted a substitute tire with a kevlar BEAD for the trainer, and this one is a kevlar BELT. Kevlar beads mount so much easier on the rim. My needs were not for a kevlar belt since the trainer will not have any debris.

Bottom line, READ the specs carefully. If you need a tire for the trainer, get the cheaper sans kevlar belt tire with wire bead, OR, spend more for the one with the kevlar bead so mounting is quick and easy.

I am keeping the tire anyway[...]. It is working out very nicely and runs smoothly.

So far this tire is wearing nicely. Only complaint is from my butt from me kicking myself!!

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Crushed Limestone
By "J" from Longview, Texas on 9/20/2006
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Crushed limestone

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

Two of us recently rode these the length of the Katy Trail -- crushed limestone railroad bed. We used 28s and 25s. Worked great.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Price, Good Value
By Cycle GeekVerified Reviewer from Buffalo, NY on 8/22/2006
Pros:
Puncture Resistant
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Indoor Trainer

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

Previous tires (Michelin Axial Pro Winters) had reached their useful service life, I went for these because they were cheap. Rolling resistance is a little high and I definitely noticed the extra weight in my very hilly neighborhood. Replaced them with Hutchinson's and am much happier. Will use them on my roller trainer this winter, where their rather grippy compound will serve nicely.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Big Bang for the buck
By Corsa from Potomac MD on 8/6/2006
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
None at this price
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I use these on my bike to commute to work. I ride all year, all weather, about 140 miles a week. I rarely get flats, and when I do it usually is when its raining (lots of grit on road, wetness makes it easier to cut through rubber). The tires last around 3000 miles. I can't compare to other tires (Gatorskin, Armidillo, etc..) because I haven't used them. But at $[...] these tires are a bargain.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for the price
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Chandler, AZ on 7/30/2006
Pros:
Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Belt or cord weakness
Best Uses:
Commuting

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I used to buy this model. Good puncture resistance at a great price. My last two (about 3 years ago)had problems with either internal cord breakage or belt shift internally. Bottom line is that it was a visible tread shift and a slight "whomp" with each tire revolution. I weigh 200 and did not overinflate these. I moved up to the foldable Forte Pro with 127 TPE and have not had a problem (I like the 26mm width but sadly those seem to be no longer available with the Forte Pro). But at the price you can buy at least two for the cost of the Forte Pro.

Performance Bike Response: Casings usually go bad like this from hitting an obsticle like a road seam that has heaved or a section of cracked pavement.
--Performance Tech

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
inexpensive solution for road training
By Uphill & Into the Wind BobVerified Reviewer from Olney, MD on 7/30/2006
Pros:
Economical, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance, Tread Flattens Quickly
Best Uses:
Training

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

Several years ago I (6'2", 235 lbs.) went to GT2K for the kevlar to prevent flats, and have ridden several thousand suburban and country miles without even one flat, which is a sharp and pleasant improvement. Rear tread quickly flattens for more rolling resistance, costing about 1 mph by end of tire life, but I get about 800-1000 miles before rubber wears through to tire fabric (don't know if this is good or bad, but that what I get for a low price). Recent psi of 105 (yes, GT2K) seems now to be returning to 120 psi, which is good. Higher pressure hes even been able to ping stones off passing hubcaps.

[15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good training tire
By PaulVerified Reviewer from Santa Rosa, CA on 6/18/2006
Pros:
Cheap, Durable
Best Uses:
Commuting, Training

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I'm 6'5" and 300 lb. I need a tough, strong 700c x 28 tire. I ride regularly, so I wear out several sets of tires each year. These get the job done at a very low price.

[13 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheap and durable
By Martin D.Verified Reviewer from Redwood City, CA on 6/15/2006
Pros:
Cheap, Durable
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I've used these tires on one of my bikes for 9 months, 1 hour per day on average, and I haven't had any problems. Seems to work fine in the rain too.

[6 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheap - Rolls - Black What can you say
By Fat Boy Fred from Dorset, MN on 6/15/2006
Pros:
Cheap, Durable
Best Uses:
Commuting, Everyday riding, Infrequently used bikes

Comments about Forté Forté GT2 Kevlar Road Tire:

I got a set of these because they were the cheapest ones. I am impressed. I put them on my wifes bike that sees little use (her last 2 sets of tires rotted before they wore out).

These mounted easy, roll easy and she has not gotten a puncture in the last year(about 12 miles)

Ok not very high expectations, but the price is not high either.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2009 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.