Buy the Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26 on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26 image
 
(based on 17 ratings)
Brand: Performance
Located in: Build, Tires/Tubes, Road Tubes
Ultra-thick butyl tube 4x as thick as an average tube
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 17 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(16)
Cons:
Heavy(6)
Best Uses:
Commuting(10)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(11)
 
Not very thorn resistant
By Mr. 2flatsVerified Reviewer from Rescue CA on 9/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

After frustrating over constant flats from thorns I switched to this thorn resistant tube per the technicians suggestion. Though I liked the looks and feel of the tire/tube combo that I purchased the tube still came up "FLAT" against the 'Goat Head' weed, better known as the 'Puncture Vine' that grows every place near my home. I put the tires on last week and I have already fixed my first flat. I was fixing 3 flats a weeks on a six day ride schedual so that is an improvement. I'm not sure how to avoid thorn flats other than chain mail tires... Over all it's a pretty good tube.

 
Love these!
By Engyo from Houston, TX on 6/12/2009
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

No flats since switching - commuting, MUPs, city streets, potholes, cracked pavement, heat. No flats.

 
Very Resistant to Puncture - Heavy/Bulky
By Oahu CommuterVerified Reviewer from Hawaii on 6/9/2009
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting/City
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

I commute 30 miles daily on Oahu and encounter thorns, broken glass and terrible road conditions every day. These tubes combined with Kevlar tire liners and Kevlar belt tires are heavy, but the only way I'm able to make it to work and back with any hope of avoiding flats. Trust me, the route and times I ride, you don't want to have to get off your bike to fix a flat. If you have similar riding conditions, the combination I describe here (liner, thorn resistant tube and Kevlar tire) certainly makes a huge difference in peace of mind.

 
Tubes that can take a beating.
By JoeyVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, Ga. on 5/11/2009
Pros:
Durable, Withstands high pressures
Best Uses:
Long distance cycling
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

These are by far the best tubes I have ever used. After many flats with ultralight tubes, I decided to try Forte thorn-resistant tubes and couldn't be happier. I haven't noticed the weight being a problem as others have mentioned. Cycling about 400 to 500 miles a month, I needed durability and strength under high pressure and that's exactly what these tubes deliver. They are also easier to install than thinner tubes.

 
Flat Tire Worries are Over
By KeitherVerified Reviewer from Wichita Falls,Texas on 4/29/2009
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

I experienced flats every week or two in the past years with regular tubes. I have run these for six months,now, with no flats. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I found no difficulty installing them and the extra weight isn't noticable to me...So, if your are plagued with flats..This is the answer.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
These are a must have item!
By randymanVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 2/10/2009
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

These are used on all of my bikes as well as my fiances bike. We were constantly getting flats while riding our bikes in Chicago up until I bought my first pair of these. After riding around for a few days without a flat, which can be hard to do with all of the glass and potholes, I decided that all of our bikes needed these.

They are a little heavier and do require a little extra effort to install, but that is all worthwhile when you realize that you keep on rolling without flats.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bulletproof!!!
By Ricco from San Antonio, TX on 10/10/2008
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

These tubes are bulletproof! I trained for three months on less than perfect country roads in preparation for a 150 miler without a single flat. During the actual race other riders tires and tubes were busting left and right. I barely needed to add air to mine afterwards. They're a little heavier and harder to change but well worth the trouble.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent road tube
By Kevin my boss from Los Angeles, CA on 9/20/2008
Pros:
Durable, Sturdy
Cons:
Hard to install
Best Uses:
Commuting, Road bumps and crevasses
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

It is true that this tube is very hard to install. I like the long presta tube(looks sturdy). The tube does not look cheap and it is indeed thick. My first time to buy here at PerformanceBike.com I will definitely buy more. =)Still waiting for my rim tapes. =)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
2 years, same tubes, no flats
By michael from Brooklyn, NY on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Bulletproof, Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

I have commuted daily in New York City on the same pair of tubes for two years. They just don't pop. I rode around for weeks with a gaping hole in the tread of my tire, and they didn't pop. There is a significant weight gain riding them, but as far as i am concerned, commuting is training, and if i have to work a little harder training, i'll go even faster when I get on my road bike.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
NO MORE FLATS !
By EdubVerified Reviewer from East Texas on 7/17/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Emergency Replacement, Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

I recently bought the Gt Pro Rival bike, and had a flat after only 30 miles. I bought these tubes and had ridden over 600 miles since without any problems. The tubes will hold air for a longer period of time as well, without the need to add air.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Understand what you are buying!
By crag4lifeVerified Reviewer from Madison, WI on 5/14/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Weight Penalty
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

These tubes do a great job for a commuter.
They do add 390 grams (0.859802 lbs) per set as compared to the Performance Ultra Light tubes.
Due to the less flexible nature and larger size of this tube, most people need tire levers to mount them. It's very hard to get enough room to pop the tire back on by hand, as many riders are accustomed to doing.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Adds a pound, but stops flats!
By Chris from Brooklyn, NY on 5/7/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Training (on cobbles)
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

Make no mistake about it: these tubes come with a serious weight penalty. They're also very difficult to install with new tires, but if you commute like I do, they're worth it. The biggest plus is probably how much more life you can get out of your tires - small slices that would pop most tubes are no longer a problem.

I'm fortunate enough to own two sets of wheels. These tubes will never find their way into my lightweight wheels, but I highly recommend them for commuting.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fix your flats problem
By loutog from Queens, NY on 3/10/2007
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Weekend Mileage
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

I tried lots of products but this finally ended my flats problem. They are heavy but much better than fixing a flat on every other ride. A few ounces is well worth the added ride time.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
No More Flats EVER ,HONEST
By Big Ring DaveVerified Reviewer from Westminster, MD on 9/20/2006
Pros:
Best tube on the market, Durable, On sale great value, Peace of Mind, Problem solver
Cons:
Hard to store in bike bag
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training, Touring, Training on bad roads

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

Love these tubes have solved my flat problems.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
HEAVY but bullet-proof
By commuter from Vienna, VA on 9/12/2006
Pros:
Bullet-proof, Durable
Cons:
Way too heavy at 275g
Best Uses:
Commuting

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

Previous reviewer is totally wrong about not noticing weight difference. Regular tubes are about 75g (Performance ultra light tubes) and this tube is 275g. That's a whopping 200g heavier per tire or 400g total. My average speed on my commutes dropped by approximately 1.5 mph with these heavier tubes. However, these tubes are bullet-proof. I swithced to these after getting two flats coming home, and I only carry one tube and no patch kit.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best tube ever
By No name from Chicago on 8/31/2006
Pros:
Durable

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

Hands down, an excellent tube for urban street riders.

I went through 4 tubes in one month at the beginning of the summer, switched to these and have had no flats for months.

I ride a 12 mile roundtrip commute to downtown Chicago daily and put an above average amount of stress on my bike. These tubes can take anything.

The tubes are so thick, if you did get a flat, you could probably ride home on them.

A little extra effort to get these guys in with a tire, but well worth it.

[20 of 20 customers found this review helpful]

 
Never worry about flats again
By LimonaditoVerified Reviewer from Buffalo, NY on 7/11/2006
Pros:
Durable, Lasts forever, No more flats
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Clear Mind, Commuting, Emergency Replacement, Training

Comments about Performance Forté Road Thorn Resistant Presta Tube 700c x 23-26:

These tubes are the best buy on tubes anywhere. Their cost is comprable to any other standard tube but they virtually never need to be replaced. I have been riding a pair for hundereds of miles and have not had a flat.

I now only need a frame pump for other riders who haven't heard about these yet.

I have raced in these a few times and I must admit that I can't tell the difference in weight and the ability to ride through glass and not think twice is more than worth the extra few grams.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2009 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.