Buy the Performance Clear Rain Jacket on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Performance Clear Rain Jacket image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: PERFORMANCE
Located in: Clothing, Mens Cycling Clothing, Cycling Outerwear/Raingear
Not only is this the best price you will find on a cycling jacket like this, now you have a choice between Clear to show your jersey, and opaque Yellow for added visibility.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.3 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
60% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Chest Size:
Feels true to size(12)
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length(13)
Pros:
Breathable(8), Good protection from the elements(9), Lightweight(7), Waterproof(5)
Cons:
Thin material(7)
Best Uses:
Cold / extreme(5), Mountain biking(3), Road biking(8), Wet weather(14)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(9), Casual/ recreational(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(5)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
works fine, but need a smaller size
By bike500 from Spokane on 5/16/2011
Chest Size:
Feels too big
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Warm, Waterproof
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

Works fine for what it is, but a men's small is to large for my female frame. Could use an xtra small, maybe even 2xtra small

 
Basic but just what I needed
By andrunixVerified Reviewer from Chattanooga, TN on 5/6/2011
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Waterproof
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

This jacket is a very basic rain jacket. For the price, it was exactly what I expected and needed. I don't require a rain jacket very often so I didn't want to invest much money in one. The vents all down the sides are nice and the velco closure instead of a zipper is a great idea too. All in all this was a very good buy.

 
great for its price!
By BaleszVerified Reviewer from Indianapolis, IN on 4/24/2011
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Easy to pack, Stylish, Waterproof, Windproof
Cons:
Not very durable
Best Uses:
Commuting, Mountain Biking, Road Biking, Running, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

It is cheap and does what we want it to do. Keeps the water out, breathes on the sides, sleeve has proper length, easy to pack, easy to put over the jacket. It is not very durable though, so be careful when putting it on or taking it off.

I would suggest this for commuting primarily because it is not form fit. Over the jacket it works fine.

 
Worked for me :)
By Axer from Los Angeles, CA on 2/19/2011
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Bright / Visible, Stylish, Waterproof
Cons:
Not Enough Pockets, Not Warm
Best Uses:
Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

I loved everything about it but after reading the reviews... I'm not sure it is going to last so that's why I didn't give it 5 stars. It doesn't rain a whole lot in Southern Cali but still.

So I guess get it if you don't plan to use it a lot and are on a budget, it's really nice but probably not durable.

 
Good wind and water protectant
By Eagle from Chesapeake, VA on 1/22/2011
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Bright / Visible, Waterproof, Windproof
Cons:
Weak seam
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Road Biking, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

Great visibility, waterproof, does a great job keeping out the cold and wind. I have long arms and I don't have any problems with the sleeves being too short when I reach forward. I have had the jacket for two seasons. While removing the garmet after my ride today, the Velcro stayed attached, but it tore along the seam. I hate to do it, but I am going to have to stick it in the trash. Noting several other comments related to the same problem, it seems that the manufacturer would find a way to resolve the problem. It definitely would be a great product! Use caution when undoing the jacket.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good cheap alternative
By HarpoonVerified Reviewer from Indianapolis, IN on 10/9/2009
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Affordable, Good Protection from the Elements
Cons:
Breathability
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

This is a good, cheap rain jacket for when you get caught in a cloudburst. It won't win any awards for its flimsy velcro closure and lack of breathability but it gets the job done.

Completely waterproof (not "water-resistant") material will not let you down.

Uncomfortable to wear with short-sleeve jerseys. Wear a long-sleeve jersey instead to prevent the jacket from sticking to your arms.

The vinyl is not breathable and the mesh vents on the sides do little to let in air.

 
Great Visibility, poor stitching
By bike_emaVerified Reviewer from Chicago on 8/30/2009
Pros:
Good Protection from the Elements, Highly visible, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Material or Stitching
Best Uses:
Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

Like another reviewer, I've bought this jacket twice - both times when it was on sale, because at that value, it's perfect to carry in my bag for added visibility at night when the temps dip or the occasional shower passes through. The first one lasted over two seasons - for daily commutes and longer rides - and I finally lent it to someone who just needed a cover up; the stitching along the velcro had already started to rip apart and I was just looking for the next sale. The second jacket's stitching along the velcro started to rip again! And much sooner - after only a couple uses. Ugh! I've continued to use it, but I would never pay full price for this jacket and have been looking for other brands that have similar function and value.
I'd recommend this jacket - only in pinch!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
velcro closure came off
By Steve from Carpinteria, CA on 12/27/2008
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

It's OK, but Performance needs to address velcro closure problem so many have reported here. I don't know whether it will work, but I've glued mine together with Fastack. I ran a bead of Fastack and overlapped velcro portion over the outside of the jacket. It looks like it might hold at least for a few rides. Sure I can afford a better jacket, but I like to use things up all the way. Besides, I don't ride in the rain much at all. From Southern California.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheap
By lbVerified Reviewer from Isle of plams, SC on 12/7/2008
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Material or Stitching
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

The plastic separated right by the Velcro in the front making it unusable.

Disappointed in purchase. A waist of money. Buy something better.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ok for the $$$
By Amanana from Aberdeen, Wa on 9/30/2008
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Good Protection from the Elements, Great visability, Lightweight
Cons:
Fabric tore frm velcro, Weak Material or Stitching
Best Uses:
Road Biking, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

I recently moved to western Washington & wanted something lightweight and inexpensive that would protect me from the rain. While I love the visibility that this jacket affords, the fabric tore loose from the velcro in only a couple of uses. Disappointing.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value, Poor Construction
By bike_emaVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 9/4/2008
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Good Protection from the Elements, High Visibility, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Material or Stitching
Best Uses:
Night time riding, Wet Weather, Wind barrier
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

I've bought this jacket twice, because it is such a great value and perfect for added visibility at night. The first one lasted me nearly a year through commuting and longer road rides. Then it started ripping apart at the velcro. So I bought another one when it went on sale. This new one barely lasted a few uses before its seam started to rip in the same place along the velcro. It's still functional, but when I'm due for a replacement, I think I will look elsewhere.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Good Value
By DaveVerified Reviewer from Spokane, WA on 8/22/2008
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Good Fit, Good Protection from the Elements, Good visibility
Cons:
Doesn't breath well
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Road Biking, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

This is a great jacket for the money. The yellow provides adequate visibility; it's certainly wind and rain proof and as a result, doesn't breathe very well. The only downside is that I was sweating after a rainy ride in low 80's temps and my arm warmers and jersey were sweat-soaked after a dry ride in mid-40's.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not worth the few bucks it cost
By BK from Seattle on 8/1/2008
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable
Cons:
Not Enough Storage, Weak Material or Stitching
Best Uses:
Road Biking, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

I recently started bike commuting and had this in my pack for occasional use. First time I put it on the velcro closure ripped away from the material. I had to throw it away when I got home.

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Low cost but poor construction
By BradVerified Reviewer from Milwaukee, WI on 5/22/2008
Pros:
Bright and highly visable, Good Protection from the Elements, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Material or Stitching
Best Uses:
Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

The price was nice but the construction was lacking.

Used this for a week with everyday riding. The plastic separated right by the velcro in the front making it unusable.

Disappointed in purchase.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
great value and looks worth a lot more
By UniversalFrostVerified Reviewer from Sierra Vista, Arizona on 5/5/2008
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly, Good Protection from the Elements, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

After searching for a cheap and possibly disposable wet weather jacket for the hot weather ( i live in southern AZ and monsoon season is during the july/august months) I found this jacket!The lack of a zipper (uses velcro) is a plus and wont have to worry about. The bright yellow is a plus and will be very visable. The mesh on the sides allows for breathablity and circulation. I tried this out while I was in Denver on business [...] and it was wet and cold (40's) and if offered great protection from the wet, but was lacking in the cold weather dept, which is expected, because this is for keeping out the rain. Just dressed in layers and had no problems. Great for the warm weather and rain. If you need it for cold climates, wear layers or get the Izumi Jacket (bought through performance as well) that allows you to zip off the sleeves. Best [$] I spent on a bike product. Will buy another (same one) when this one falls apart, which might be a long time because this jacket looks to be well made and heavy duty.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Forget the Rain, We Wear It 4 Visibility
By BillVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles on 3/8/2007
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Visible
Best Uses:
Added Visibility, Cold Weather, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

My riding buddy and I love this jacket. We ride in a region where it seldom rains but there is a lot of traffic. So we wear this jacket in Yellow for added visibility in traffic.

Drivers see us more easily and give us more clearance than they would with our riding jerseys alone.

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for the price
By Rain RiderVerified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 9/13/2006
Pros:
Breathable, Good Protection from the Elements
Cons:
Weak Material or Stitching
Best Uses:
Wet Weather

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

I live in wet Portland Oregon and bought this [...]and it was a steal at that price. It works great, is more breathable than you'd think, and is very light and easy to pack. The one negative is that after about a year of use the stitches started to come loose which disappointed me, but for the price, what a deal.

[13 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
Practicality at Bargain Prices
By Rick from Euskadi from Cliffside Park, NJ on 8/2/2006
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly, Good Pockets and Features, Good Protection from the Elements, Lightweight
Cons:
None ths Far
Best Uses:
All Wet Conditions

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Clear Rain Jacket:

Couldn't tell by it's practicality that it was NOT more expensive than it actually is!! Definetly a must have for all cyclists.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.