Buy the Performance Classic Short on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Performance Classic Short image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: PERFORMANCE
Located in: Clothing, Mens Cycling Clothing, Mens Cycling Lycra Shorts
When you think of the word "classic," what comes to mind are things that withstand the test of time. And our all-around Classic cycling short is just another example of a successful design that keeps coming back year after year.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.1 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Waist:
Feels true to size(10)
Length:
Feels true to length(8)
Pros:
Breathable(12), Dries quickly(12), Durable(5), Good padding(5)
Cons:
Uncomfortable(5)
Best Uses:
Commuting(5), Warm weather(9)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(5), Casual/ recreational(6)
 
Works for me
By EdVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City, UT on 2/16/2009
Waist:
Feels too small
Length:
Feels too short
Pros:
Breathable, Comfortable, Dries Quickly
Cons:
Seams Come Undone
Best Uses:
Road Biking, Warm Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

I purchased the Classic Splice short a couple of years ago. The sizing was very wrong and I had to exchange for a larger size which is still on the small side, but the sizing was so far off I think this was a fluke (mislabled?) and I'm willing to overlook it. I recieved good customer service.

I have a very long inseam and these are definitely not too long - they are too short (like all shorts are on me).

Not great padding, but acceptable for my 1 hour rides.

I ride almost daily, much of it in 90-100 degree weather. These shorts are lightweight, breathable and dry quickly. I typically wash them in the shower and then hang to dry. Where these shorts really excel is after a 2-4 days of riding (using my pseudo washing technique) I still don't get saddle sores. They do not harbor bacteria. Other shorts I've owned don't even come close in this respect.

The Classic Splice (and I assume the Classic) is a good value and they excel in warm weather conditions.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not enough padding
By River RatVerified Reviewer from Sacramento on 9/9/2008
Waist:
Feels true to size
Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly
Cons:
Not Enough Padding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

This pair of shorts is definitely inferior to the Performance Ultra. At 1/3 of the price, I was just curious about how the Classic compares to the Ultra. Now I know.

The bright side is that now I can evaluate bike seats quickly.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good and cheap bike shorts
By Otter from Mansfield, Ohio on 8/25/2008
Waist:
Feels true to size
Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Padding
Best Uses:
Road Racing, Warm Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

I like these shorts. They are what I want--inexpensive and reasonably durable. I'm not what more I could want from a pair of bike shorts.

Please remember, however, to order a size smaller than you might think. I'm a swimmer; thus, I'm used to a snug fit--and the small size fits, but I have a 33-34 waist.

That said, I'm happy.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again
By AJ from Washington, DC on 8/9/2008
Waist:
Feels true to size
Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Padding
Cons:
No negative
Best Uses:
Commuting, Recreational, Warm Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

I use these shorts when riding my bike in the park. They are comfortable and being that I am a heavy set women, the length is great for me. Have not experienced any problems with these shorts. Planning to purchase another pair today.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good shorts for the money.
By slacker00Verified Reviewer from Eau Claire, WI on 7/28/2008
Waist:
Feels true to size
Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly, Durable
Best Uses:
Warm Weather
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

I bought a couple pair of these over a year ago and they are literally my go-to shorts for everyday riding. At first I thought the padding was a little skimpy, but it is fine for my typical 20 mile daily fitness rides. They've also held up pretty well despite probably putting well over 1,000 miles on each pair. I've bought more expensive shorts, but these work just as well for my regular rides. I've even ridden these shorts on group rides, they work fine.

 
Excellent Fit!
By misanthropeVerified Reviewer from Hidden Valley Lake, CA on 7/15/2008
Waist:
Feels true to size
Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly
Cons:
Drawsting causes bulk, Not Enough Padding
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Commuting, Warm Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

I'm 5'3" and the length is nice. Comes just above the knees but not so far as to chaffe back of the knee. Wouldn't use these for a trip longer then 20 miles or so, could use a bit more padding. Drawstring can become bulky when wearing mnt biking shorts....two drawstrings on top of each other doesn't work to well.

 
Great Shorts!
By DWVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 7/12/2008
Waist:
Feels true to size
Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Good Padding
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

I really have no idea how some of these reviews are that bad. I'm a 29 waist and 5'9". The waistline is perfect if you get the right size. It doesn't ride too high nor too low; the short legs are a perfect fit and length. Overall they are excellent shorts despite the negative reviews.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Disappointed
By Dan from Maryland on 7/1/2008
Waist:
Feels true to size
Length:
Feels too long
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

Not well designed. The legs are too long--causing them to be so baggy at the bottom that I will have to hem these in some fashion. They need a shorter inseam.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
You get what you pay for
By Dream FielderVerified Reviewer from Dyersville, Iowa on 6/5/2008
Waist:
Feels true to size
Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly
Cons:
Not Enough Padding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

It's cheap, and probably worth whatever it costs. I use mine for the trainer, where it works fine & I need something inexpensive. But I wouldn't wear for any kind of serious riding. That's what Performance Ultra shorts are for!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not bad for the money.
By Sirrus RiderVerified Reviewer from Houston, Texas on 2/25/2007
Waist:
Feels true to size
Length:
Feels too long
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Padding
Cons:
Length too long
Best Uses:
Road Racing, Warm Weather
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

For a 20 spot they're good shorts. The shorts are a little long the leg elastics are an inch lower than where they should be and the waist comes above the navel. I like the chamois, but like others have pointed out it could stand to be longer; however, I can live with the shortcomings and I may even buy another pair.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect shorts when riding a recumbent.
By MarkVerified Reviewer from Quincy, IL on 1/7/2007
Waist:
Feels true to size
Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Padding
Best Uses:
Recumbent biking, Warm Weather

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

I am a big man and I was pleased to find a bike short that came in a 3XL. The shorts are very comfortable. I ride an Easy Race Recumbent (Tour Easy) and they are great. In 2006, I rode a week long bike ride (415 miles) and these shorts worked great.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worst short I've ever owned.
By KellyVerified Reviewer from Mesa, AZ on 11/17/2006
Cons:
Not Enough Padding

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

Waist is way too high. Chamois is too small. Short moves around so chamis will move out of place and leave you sitting on the saddle without padding, or worse, sitting on the edge of the chamois so you develop a pressure sore. I will never buy another pair of these shorts.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not bad, but slightly funky
By seanVerified Reviewer from huntsville, tx on 8/27/2006
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly
Cons:
Too long on leg and waist
Best Uses:
Warm Weather

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

I'm 5'9", and the small should fit well - legs are too long, and the waistline is well above the belly-button; I'd much rather have shorts that hit at my hip bone.

They're a little breezy - a 75F morning start left me with some strange chills 'twixt the legs.

Otherwise, they're on par or slightly more comfortable than the Zoic Ether shorts I ride in when these are drying (note: my Ethers are 8 mo. old, these are new...)

The next shorts I purchase will cost a little more, and fit a little better. Otherwise, they're economical and comfortable - I don't regret owning them, just fuss a bit.

 
Stay Away
By Este from Portland, Oregon on 8/2/2006
Cons:
Mis-sized

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

I bought these looking for value for everyday commuting in addition to my other two pairs of shorts which are more aggresssive. I've had them now for about 3-4 weeks and worn them maybe five times. I'm already getting pinhole frays in the seams. Worse off, there is no "jock" support whatsoever because the "medium" is sized at 32-34, I'm a 33, and they are way too big and saggy.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for the price, but spend more
By Neal from Gainesville, FL on 7/11/2006
Pros:
Breathable, Dries Quickly
Cons:
Not Enough Padding
Best Uses:
Commuting, Warm Weather

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

These are great shorts for the price [...], but you might as well spend the extra cash to get more padding, it's worth it. I used them on not that long of a ride (~30 miles) and I was paying for it. The chamois gives a bit much. These would be great for commuting skivvies, but for road biking, you'd be better off spending more money and getting more/better padding.

 
Disappointing Fit
By Chris at TourSquadVerified Reviewer from Smyrna, TN on 7/5/2006
Pros:
Price is Right
Cons:
Padding Fit
Best Uses:
Commuting, Recreational Riding

Comments about PERFORMANCE Performance Classic Short:

Disappointed with the fit. The elastic is thinner around the waist and legs than higher quality shorts. The material feels a bit more flimsy than most and the padding is not very comfortable on skinny saddles. It's almost like there is too much padding and it has no seams. It's looks like one long foam insert. If you are a sport rider or racer I wouldn't recommend this short at all. Only buy if you are a neighborhood cruiser and need something soft to sit on once or twice a week.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.