Buy the Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: ASCENT
Located in: Indoor Training, Indoor Cycling Trainers, Resistance Trainers
This super-smooth Ascent adjustable magnetic trainer is perfect if you are looking for an inexpensive way to maintain your fitness all winter.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Adjustable(11), Durable(13), Easy to install and use(15), Stable(14), Versatile(3)
Best Uses:
City bikes(4), Road bikes(8)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(11), Casual/ recreational(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(6)
 
Awesome trainer
By Cook from Pennsylvania on 6/15/2011
Pros:
Adjustable, Awesome Feel, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable, Versatile
Cons:
Sticky adjustment screw
Best Uses:
Fitting, Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
Yes

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

This had the best feel of any trainer I tried. Throw a fixed gear bike on it and you have a cheap spinner.

 
good inexpensive trainer
By luv2bikeVerified Reviewer from boulder city nv on 5/7/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Cons:
Not Adjustable
Best Uses:
Long Rides, Road Bikes, Sprints
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

although this was an inexpensive trainer i was disappointed by how heavy the product is. it way 27 pounds. i have another trainer half the size and only 10 lbs. it only has 3 speeds but accomplishes my workout goals and the flywheel is quiet enough not to disturb others.

 
Id get another one
By BillZ from Lehigh Acres, Florida on 4/26/2011
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Practical, Stable, Versatile
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Long Rides, Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes, Sprints
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

This is a very nice trainer. I am in Florida and the heat is creeping in, I can still get my exercise while being indoors and under AC. I am able to watch TV while riding.
Once I took the trainer out of the box, I had my bicycle on it and riding in less than 10 min. The Ascent is very easy to use and extremely strong and stable. I am able to move my bicycle with the trainer still attached. I am able to shift my bicycle to adjust resistance as well as 3 levels on the trainer itself.
The only thing I had to adjust is take off my studded mountain bike tire and put on a smooth road tire to reduce the rumbling sound the large tire makes. I think this is the same with all trainers.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
My First and Likely My Last Trainer
By Dave in TucsonVerified Reviewer from Tucson, AZ on 2/4/2011
Pros:
Adjustable, Cost, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable, Versatile
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Winter
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

I live in Arizona and HATE cold weather! I bought this trainer in October 2010 so that I could keep in shape in the cool winter. Lucky I did, it has been a record cold winter here in Tucson.

Having never used a trainer I spent some time researching different types and for the life of me I could not determine why the price range went from less than $100 to over $500, other than the ones that connect to your computer and wide screen TV to give you a virtual tour. So, I chose the least expensive figuring I could trade up as needed.

Well, I have not had to trade up. This unit works great. It is easy to get the bike setup, I have several so I just used one as a permanent trainer bike. There are 3 settings. The easiest setting was to light for me. The medium setting is a good general setting and using your gears give you a range of effort to work with. The highest setting is tougher than I can keep up with easily for long.

As far as noise, there is little. I ride on a concrete floor and I don't have to turn up the music much to cover the noise. I've used it for about 4 months and it seems durable and just what I needed!

Using a trainer is quite different than riding out on the road. You can much more easily tailor your workout on a stationary bike than on the road because it is a controlled environment. I found that I got much more out of a given time on the trainer than I would have out on the road. On the other hand it is quite boring so I found myself challenging myself more and getting a better workout due to the boredom.

I like it a lot and my wife now wants one as well. Overall a very good investment with no downside so far!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheaper is better?? Oh yeah!
By smtdevVerified Reviewer from Rocklin, CA on 12/28/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Best Uses:
City Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

After much research I bought a fluid-filled trainer from another retailer for over three bills. After a week, I returned it as it wasn't smooth and not all that quiet. Finding that more expensive didn't mean better, I bought this on sale at Performance Bike and I couldn't be happier. The axle clamp assembly wasn't quite as nice as the more expensive trainer, but it does the job and is quite stable. A nice bonus is that the trainer is fully assembled right out of the box. There are three tension settings and working through my bike's gears gives me a pretty solid and intense workout. I have to say this isn't any louder than the fluid-filled trainer and it might even be a bit more quiet. Doesn't matter anyway as I just crank up music through my headphones and I hardly hear the trainer. A great product for a great price.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for the money
By gtrdaveVerified Reviewer from Pike Creek, DE on 12/10/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

My wife bought me this trainer a couple years back and I used it very casually the first year, but have been much more disciplined in using it over the past few months. My biggest motivation was in getting a $50 craigslist bike to permanently mount on it, so as to not have to tie up my road or mountain bike in case I wanted to take them out. I mounted a Forte-brand slick city tire to the back of my cheapy and hit the road...err, basement floor for a nearly daily workout.Yeah, when I start to really crank the noise level does increase, but it's not anything that a volume control on the sound system can not cure.I know that there are better trainers, but probably not for the [$]I paid for the Ascent.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good basic trainer
By KentVerified Reviewer from Plano, TX on 10/29/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

This is a good trainer for a good workout. I use it when it's raining out or is too cold out for my liking. Quick and easy to set up and it's durable. I like the magnetic resistance that I can control. I HATE the progressive resistance trainers that become more difficult the harder and faster I pedal. This unit is on the noisy side, but oh well, this is NOT a top of the line trainer. It's a very good value for the money and it does what I want it to do.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good value, sturdy, a bit weak.
By 50 and trying to shed 50Verified Reviewer from brentwood, ca on 10/15/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Cons:
Not enough resistance
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

Overall I'm pretty happ with it. I'm a heavy rider which means that my legs are used to dragging up 250+ lbs up hills. Thus, this trainer tends to be a bit wimpy on the resistance side. For example, I was able to get my bike to 51mph... I've never even done that down hill whilst riding. However, I find that I can still get in a good workout. A bit noisy... It's possible to watch TV if you turn up the entertainment system to "movie volumes." The price is right. very sturdy.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent deal
By DavidVerified Reviewer from Atlanta on 6/11/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

I've had this trainer for 2 years since I burned up my old Blackburn. I ride it 2-3 times a week throughout the winter and on rainy days the rest of the year. My workouts vary from 1-3 hours. I do alot of big gear work and I have not had any problems. It is loud when you crank it up. It has been a great deal for the money.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Affordable Trainer!
By Carpe DiemVerified Reviewer from PA on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

I bought this trainer to use when it is too cold or snowy to ride outside. I must admit, I can get a really good workout by putting the trainer on the hardest resistance and my bike in top gear.

The trainer is really easy to setup and adjust. The only (minor) drawback is that the trainer makes a whirring noise if you are pedaling very fast, however, I don't notice it when I'm listening to my iPod. Bottom line - I am very happy I purchased this trainer since I can get a great workout at a great price.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for the money
By SlowRevVerified Reviewer from Diamond Bar, CA on 6/8/2009
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

I live in So Cal and always prefer to ride outside (road & mtb). However, after ACL surgery I couldn't risk a re-tear during rehab, so I purchased this to get me through the first several months. It's not a high end trainer, but it will get the job done. I like it better than the old Blackburn trainer I had years ago.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's alright
By BlueGMC from Bako,CA on 3/27/2009
Pros:
Durable, Stable
Cons:
Doesn't Work With My Bike
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

This is my first time with any type of trainer. The down side to this one is the amount of noise it puts off. If you are going to watch TV as you spin turn it up because the faster you go the louder it gets. Another down side to this is the skewer, it wouldn't work with my bike. I still used the trainer without the skewer though and it works fine, still pretty stable. If your looking for something with an ok price and ok preformance I would get it.

[9 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Upgrade
By AaronVerified Reviewer from Geneva, Illinois on 11/13/2008
Cons:
Poorly Constructed
Best Uses:
Doorstop
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

Avid (or maybe just like to ride) cyclist that is stuck in Chicago this winter. Thought this would be good and last through the winter at least. Well it didn't. A week and a half and 100 miles later it sounds like a chainsaw that is getting ready to blow. Performance is a great store but this thing is junk. Just buy something better. I'm sure you will be happy with it. Oh well, live and learn. You get what you pay for.

[36 of 46 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good trainer-know what you need it for
By WardyVerified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 8/2/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Best Uses:
City Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

As some of the other reviewers mentioned-this is great to use if you want to get in shape or exercise when the weather gets bad. This is why I bought it.

I like the set up on this trainer and the instructions are easy to use. It folds up and stores well. It is heavy and well constructed. You have to get used to adjusting the resistance so it is "just right" for your workout.

I don't use it to train for races so the functionality is perfect for me. As someone else mentioned it is a little loud, but if you use an mp3 player you don't notice it.

Rock solid trainer if:

1) This is your first trainer.
2) You want to start a work out routine.
3) You don't want to get wet but want to keep exercising.

[20 of 25 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not bad
By biker in ashevilleVerified Reviewer from Asheville, NC on 5/28/2008
Pros:
Easy to Install and Use
Cons:
A little noisy, Problems with skewer
Best Uses:
A winter bike workout
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

This was a gift....so given the price, I couldn't be happier. I've been told from friends that are avid cyclists that it isn't the best setup....but I am not an avid cyclists and it provides me with a great workout.
I did have one heck of a time getting the skewer to work with my bike and the trainer fits my bike a little weird....but no major problems.

[21 of 23 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Buy
By LudeVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles CA on 2/28/2007
Pros:
Easy to Install and Use, Inexpensive, Stable
Cons:
Only 3 Resistance setting
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

A good trainer for the money. Took it out of the box and started to use it, no problems. A little noisy, but stable and smooth. It comes with a cheap skewer that I tossed. I would buy it again if given a choice.

[35 of 38 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for Citizens, Not for Racers
By FrostVerified Reviewer from Providence, RI on 1/31/2007
Pros:
Adjustable, Easy to Install and Use
Cons:
Poorly Constructed
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

This is the perfect trainer for someone looking to lose weight for a low price, but be warned, do not try to put on winter basemiles with this if you're racing in spring. The bearings will last you about 30-40hrs before starting to burn out and the mag assembly will come apart on you. I've managed to nurse it along with plenty of lube, patience, and ample tools, but I'd say this has a two month max life expectancy for a Cat4. As they say, "you get what you pay for." Just spend the extra dough on a better rig - you'll have to anyway soon enough.

[20 of 25 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very happy
By MichelleVerified Reviewer from Stoneham, MA on 12/25/2006
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Best Uses:
All bikes

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Adjustable Magnetic Trainer:

[...]I love this thing. I live in the city and am not hearty enough to ride outside in the winter, so I got this. The resistence is intense and in a short time, you're sweating and using some serious muscle. Ladies, this is shrinking my thighs - I kid you not.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.