Buy the Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer image
 
(based on 23 ratings)
Brand: TRAVEL TRAC
Located in: Indoor Training, Indoor Cycling Trainers, Resistance Trainers
Get an incredibly quiet and smooth road feel with the Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer. It features realistic progressive resistance through all resistance levels.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 23 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Adjustable(17), Durable(11), Easy to install and use(17), Stable(20), Versatile(9)
Cons:
Doesn't work with my bike(3)
Best Uses:
City bikes(3), Road bikes(15)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(12)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Decent first trainer
By Endurance riderVerified Reviewer from North Carolina on 6/16/2009
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Extreme Sports, Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

I put about 300 hours on the unit before it started leaking fluid. I think a seal blew around the roller shaft. The resistance unit gets extremely hot, so you have to be careful after finishing not to brush up against it. The upper wattage is kind of limited, I could spin at 70+ on my 53/12 for way too long, so it doesn't simulate a hilly ride very well. It works good for steady state rides though. This was my first trainer, so I have nothing to compare it to, but I'm planning on buying something different and am looking for a quieter ride and one that has much more top end resistance to better simulate hill climbing. Overall, it was a good first trainer, but now I know what I want so I would not buy it again.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value
By CBC RacerVerified Reviewer from Olympia, WA on 4/27/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable, Versatile
Cons:
Wears out Rear Tire
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

This is a very quiet and highly functional trainer. I use it at home and for warming up before races. It works great with my iBike power meter. It does wear out the tire, and once the heat buildup caused a blowout. Since then, I've used a dedicated training rear wheel with a Continental indoor trainer tire, which can withstand the friction-generated heat much better. At races, it's a simple matter to mount your race wheel before rolling off to the start line.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Broke down after 4 winters
By BobVerified Reviewer from Nashville on 3/31/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Stable, Versatile
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

I have used this trainer for four winters and I like the way it works. I especially like the handlebar mounted resistance adjustment feature. It has always had a rattle noise at the lowest resistance, and it has always seemed to get too hot. The resistance unit failed last week after about 2,500-3,000 miles of winter training. I took it apart and found that the adjusting mechanism failed and is not repairable. I would have thought that it should have lasted much longer. Otherwise I really like the trainer and will probably buy another just like it. If you do buy one, pay close attention to those rattle noises. I could have probably adjusted it better and made it last longer.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good alternative to cold/wet outdoors
By ChazVerified Reviewer from Dearborn, MI on 3/24/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

This is my first trainer and I'm glad I bought an adjustable one. I was probably on the bike within 30 minutes of getting the box inside the house. It's pretty easy to set up. I recommend riding a bit outside just before you put the bike on the trainer so you can get a comparative feel for how tight to adjust the small roller drum to the rear wheel. You want to try to simulate road feel and also not get it too tight as that will stress the tire more. Also, do this on one of the lower settings to use as a baseline and you can turn up the remote adjustment to simulate hills or to simply add resistance as you become stronger.

The roller mechanism runs a touch noisy for me, I just turn up the TV a bit. Also, the mechanism will run hot, but that's what the finned aluminum housing is for, it acts as a heat sink to draw the heat out. I run a small desk fan aimed at both the center of the housing and where the roller meets the tire to reduce heat build-up and it does seem to make a difference.

Instead of using a specific trainer tire, I use an inexpensive road tire (Hutchinson Quartz with kevlar belt) with a low thread count. That way the trainer shouldn't trash the tire and if a nice outdoor riding day pops up between the lousy days, I can jump outside quickly without having to swap tires, or keep a spare wheel/tire combo on hand. So far so good in that regard too, no tire problems. And if I do have tire problems, the investment was small.

I bought it in mid-Feb and after about five weeks, I've definitely got a jump on the season after being off the bike since November.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works
By bob from utah on 3/11/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable, Versatile
Cons:
Wears out you tire
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

Use a cheap or a worn out tire with this trainer.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Trainer
By Cycle JimVerified Reviewer from Staten Island, NY on 1/26/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable, Versatile
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

Used this trainer for 2+ years now with several bikes. The adjustable resistance is a very good feature. Using the adjustable resistance along with changing gears allows you to adjust the trainer for just about any type of training session you want to set it for. Very durable and quiet

 
Works great
By brianVerified Reviewer from vancouver, wa on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Best Uses:
Indoors with music or tv
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

This unit just works. I've been using it for about a month and I've encountered no issues with the mechanics, stability or with the control. It's fairly quiet but once in a great while you'll hear it.

Out of the box is worked like a charm. I like this trainer a lot.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Does not fit 29er
By disappointed from Maryland on 12/14/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Stable
Cons:
Doesn't Work With My Bike
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

I attended the trainer clinic at the store and inquired whether 29ers would fit on the trainer. I was told it would accommodate a 29er; however, it does not fit with 2.1 tires. The bracket mount on the stand causes rubbing. I took my bike and the trainer to the store and they said I was out of luck with the 29er; they recommended buying a 26" rear wheel to train with.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Hard to beat.
By Chuckieboy from Georgia on 12/11/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Didn't intimidate me, Easy to Install and Use, Stable, Versatile
Cons:
Can't think of one
Best Uses:
Cardio workout, Long Rides, Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

Set it up in my den. My wife couldn't believe how quiet it is.

Impressed with the value, especially having bought it under a 20% off sale. How can you go wrong? Unless you're scheduled to ride in the Tour de France, this will probably meet your needs.

You may want to put something under the front tire so you don't feel like you're pedaling downhill.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Trainer
By redlegjeepguyVerified Reviewer from Lansing, KS on 10/31/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Inexpensive, It Works, Stable
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

This is my first experience with a trainer so I can't compare to others. After about 60 miles on my Travel Trac, what I can say is that it is significantly less expensive than other fluid trainers, it offers adjustable resistance and it is stable. In short, it does everything that the more expensive models do for much less. I am hard pressed to find anything bad to say about this trainer. Buy with confidence.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Deal Goin'
By Jim the Runner from Northern VA on 10/24/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable, Versatile
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

Glad we got the version with the remote adjustable resistence cable. Gives a really good workout. Very easy/fast set up with different bikes. Seems solid and durable, pretty quiet. Resistence unit gets very HOT so watch out!

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good trainer/value
By NickVerified Reviewer from Michigan on 2/27/2007
Pros:
Adjustable, Stable
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

Good trainer. I have owned this for about 3 months and slowly keep building up the resistance. The variable resistance is a nice feature and combined with some good gearing can make for workouts from casual to kick your butt. I have noticed some noise coming from the resistance unit after prolonged use at higher resistance levels. Also the unit gets VERY HOT. I use a fan to cool it after works outs in hope of extending life. Great trainer, good workout, very satisfied.

[6 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Check handlebar size before buying
By Sparky from Lewistown, PA on 2/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Stable, Versatile
Cons:
Doesn't Work With My Bike
Best Uses:
Road Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

I have never used a trainer before but this seems to be a good unit. I have a Specialized Sequoia Elite with oversized carbon handlebars and the unit does not fit. I tied a piece of pvc pipe across the drops and mounted the adjustment unit to that.

[10 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Trainer at a Great Price
By Loyal OneVerified Reviewer from Idaho on 2/19/2007
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Cons:
None that I can find
Best Uses:
Grt w road or mtn
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

I got this on sale for [...] and compared to fluid trainers at well over $200.00, I think this is an awesome unit. I have hammered away at this trainer for 4 winters now thinking it's going to break down in some way, but it just keeps running. The adjustable levels work great with the gearing on my bikes for a thorough butt whooping work out.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
First time with a trainer
By DougVerified Reviewer from Indiana on 2/13/2007
Pros:
Easy to Install and Use, Price when on sale, Stable
Cons:
None to date
Best Uses:
In front of the TV
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

Never used a trainer before, so nothing to compare to. However I am very pleased so far with this one. The cabled tension adjuster is a nice feature. Easy to setup and use. Moderately priced, overall a good buy.

 
Great workout
By Bullit Bob from Peoria,il on 1/5/2007
Pros:
Adjustable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Best Uses:
Road Bikes

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

I have used this trainer for a month. I enjoy how easy it is to use. The hardest setting give a great workout. Glad I got one.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Christmas Gift!!!
By ZiphyrVerified Reviewer from Mableton, Ga. on 12/29/2006
Pros:
Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Recovery ride at home, Road Bikes, Winter training

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

It's great for those days that are just too cold or rainy to ride. Also, if one considers training indoors for a recovery ride, this is the perfect training tool. This is my first indoor bike trainer and I really like it! I normally ride outdoors during the entire winter. Whew!!! What a blessing. It's worth the $$$!!!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
shifter not compatible w/all bikes
By spencerVerified Reviewer from Boston, MA on 12/14/2006
Pros:
Easy to Install and Use
Cons:
Doesn't Work With My Bike

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

Product seems like a good trainer -- was fairly easy to set up. However, when I tried to mount the shifter on my handlebars, I found that it would not mount because my handlebars are over-sized. I don't have an unusual bike -- I ride a Specialized Allez Comp. Double check your handlebars before purchasing.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
On the money
By new to the saddleVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 12/8/2006
Pros:
Easy to Install and Use
Cons:
Instructions
Best Uses:
Winter training

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

Excellant price, stable, folds up perfect for the long hard winters in the northeast

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
this is the perfect trainer for anyone
By Bran Bran from los angeles, california on 10/26/2006
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable, Versatile
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Long Rides, Road Bikes, Sprints

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

the handle bar mounted shift lever that comes with it is great!!! actually gives you an extra gear for the riders who are looking to get in extra work or anything for that matter. great product!

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it!
By JackieVerified Reviewer from Utah on 10/19/2006
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Best Uses:
Road Bikes

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

We've only used our road bikes on this so far, but its easy to set up. The hardest gear definitely is a workout. Perfect for winter or days too cold to ride!

[35 of 38 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value for new roadies.
By KurtVerified Reviewer from New Orleans, LA on 7/24/2006
Pros:
Adjustable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable
Best Uses:
Early morning workout, Recovery ride at home, Road Bikes

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

[...] Great value for new riders.

[51 of 53 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Value on Exercise Equipment
By Jim from Missouri on 7/9/2006
Pros:
Adjustable, Durable, Easy to Install and Use, Stable, Versatile
Best Uses:
City Bikes, Improve Form,One Leg Dril, Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes

Comments about TRAVEL TRAC Travel Trac Century Adjustable Fluid Plus Trainer:

Best value on best piece of exercise equipment available.

Great for rainy days, cold days or recovery during extremely hot weather.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.