Buy the Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: ASCENT
Located in: Specials, Team Store
With limited space for tools, all you need is the Bare Bones Multi Tool from Ascent. This ultra-compact mini multi-tool has the most commonly used tools for "on-ride" repairs
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable grip(6), Durable(9), Functional(10), Lightweight(3), Variety of tools(6)
Best Uses:
Bring it with you(3), Cycling(3), Home(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid adventurer(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)
 
very handy
By J Kev from Dothan, Al. on 5/29/2011
Pros:
Comfortable Grip, Durable, Functional, Variety Of Tools
Best Uses:
On the go adjustments
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

very handy and extremely compact. perfect for making minor adjustments out on a ride.

 
Good enough
By AxerVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles, CA on 2/5/2011
Pros:
Functional
Cons:
Bends
Best Uses:
Adjusting
Describe Yourself:
Military/Law Enforcement
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

It's cool 'cause it's just the stuff that you need and nothing fancy and extra that would cost you more money and weight.
The bad thing is that the tools are kind of weak. So if you actually need some strength then these feel like they'll break.

 
Great buy!
By JonVerified Reviewer from Long Beach, CA on 9/16/2010
Pros:
Comfortable Grip, Durable, Functional, Variety Of Tools
Best Uses:
Biking, Camping, Home, Hunting, Survival
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

Great toolkit! Great to keep with you in your bike pouch while riding, or even for hiking trips or any other activity. I use this constantly while working on bikes as well, since it has most of the allen sizes I need all in one place.

Definitely recommend!

 
Great Little Tool
By Jim the RunnerVerified Reviewer from Orlando, FL on 8/17/2010
Pros:
Comfortable Grip, Durable, Functional, Variety Of Tools
Describe Yourself:
Environmentalist

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

Granted this is a mini tool, but it is well made(no plastic) and fits in a seat bag along with everything else I need. It is small, but it will do everything I need to do on the trail. I will be ordering another one just to have a spare, and for [$] I doubt you can find anything to compare.

 
Difficult to adjust tension
By Oregon CyclistVerified Reviewer from Beaverton, OR on 7/19/2010
Cons:
Corrodes easily, Difficult to adjust screw, Poor Craftsmanship
Best Uses:
Emergency bike repair
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

The hex bolts that hold the hex wrenches and screwdrivers are difficult to adjust. So if the bolts are too tight then the wrenches are tough to to get them out of the closed position; if the bolts are too loose then the wrenches are swinging too freely. And because the wrenches are so short and lack the leverage, it's a much better idea to carry just the 4, 5, 6mm hex wrenches and a screwdriver with a replaceable head.

 
My go to every tool
By ScoutDadVerified Reviewer from Richmond,CA on 4/18/2010
Pros:
Comfortable Grip, Durable, Functional
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Camping, Home, Hunting, Survival
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

I carry this tool with me everywhere. its handy & small, yet works. at work,on the bike or just to help others. Ive fixed chairs, bikes, wheel chairs, If I need it it is there for me,
Up graded my bike, this tool did 99% of what I needed.

 
Light weight compact, effective.
By fatmanonabikeVerified Reviewer from Houston, Tx on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Compact, Durable, Functional, Light weight
Best Uses:
Cycling
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

This tool is compact and functional. Perfect for a ride and tweak session such as in adjusting a new saddle or mirror. It conatins the "Cyclist's trinity" of 4,5, and 6 mm hex keys and 2,2.5 and 3mm keys as well as a straight blade and Phillips screwdrivers. While it is very compact, it is also quite functional. For my bike it will adjust saddle angle, and height, handle bar rotation,brake pads, stem angle and stack height. I also own a Topeak Alien multitool, much more tools and weight and bulk. The Bare Bones is all I need for getting around town 200 to 400 miles /month.

 
Portable and cheap
By SeattliteVerified Reviewer from Seattle, WA on 10/26/2009
Pros:
Durable, Functional, Variety Of Tools
Best Uses:
Home
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

I used this tool set for minor adjustment on both road and mountain bikes. It's nice to have it, so you don't have to look for different tools all over the took kit.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's [$],,, just buy it already!
By The Bus Driver from Indiana on 9/18/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Grip, Durable, Functional, Small and compact
Describe Yourself:
Casual Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

Nothing but the bare bones, none of that "Go-Go Gadget" stuff that you will never use while out riding. Fairly lite, and easily stored in a saddle bag or jersey.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Handy
By RichVerified Reviewer from Saginaw, TX on 9/5/2009
Pros:
Durable, Functional, Variety Of Tools
Best Uses:
Cycling
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

I keep this in my bag with all the time. It comes in handy adjusting pedal tension, tighting cleats, adjusting anything on the bike!! I haven't found anything on the bike that I can't do with it yet. Highly Recommended!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simple Tool, Simply Great
By MTBiker483Verified Reviewer from Fort Collins, CO on 8/10/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Grip, Durable, Functional, Variety Of Tools
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

Don't let the price of this MultiTool fool you, it does not reflect its quality! It has most everything I need for on the trail adjustments, no useless "selling point" tools, and for 5 bucks I will carry my chain tool and spoke wrench with me instead of paying way more for a tool that has that included. It's small size is really nice for packing, you can fit it anywhere. I'm really impressed with the quality for the price, I've put some pretty serious torque on the larger hex wrenches with no problems whatsoever.

It is what it says it is, the "Bare Bones Mini Tool". It does what it's supposed to and does it well. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lightweight, small and useful.
By D1PHAMVerified Reviewer from Santa Clara, CA on 12/2/2008
Pros:
Good Grip, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Bring it With You, Mountain Bikes
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

Has all the tools I need for the road and nothing I don't need. Tends to get loose after long periods of use. Just tighten it up from time to time and it will last forever.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tool for the price
By Drew from Fort Wright, KY on 9/15/2006
Pros:
Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Bends Easily
Best Uses:
Bring it With You, City Bikes, Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

Great little lightweight tool for quick adjusments while riding or emergency repairs.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ascent Bare Bones Multi-tool
By Roadie from San Diego, CA on 5/13/2006
Pros:
Lightweight, Smooth edges
Cons:
No 8mm hex wrench
Best Uses:
Bring it With You, Road Bikes

Comments about ASCENT Ascent Bare Bones Multi-Tool:

Good emergency tool for road bikers who want to minimize their load. Lightweight and inexpensive. Smooth edges do not snag jersey pockets. The only drawback is the lack of an 8mm hex wrench for my FSA crank.

I can't comment on the durability since I use it strictly as an emergency tool.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.