Buy the Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire image
 
(based on 19 ratings)
Brand: MICHELIN
Located in: Specials, Team Store
Michelin Krylion Carbon road tire is the ideal road bike tire for racing or long-distance training.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 19 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(17), Excellent grip(11), Good cornering(10), Low rolling resistance(12), Puncture resistant(17)
Best Uses:
Climbing(9), Commuting(8), Rain(6), Serious racing/training(13), Sprinting(5)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(12), Competitive cyclist(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(6)
 
Stunningly durable tires
By Climber from Connecticut on 6/11/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

These tires are astonishingly durable with a very low rolling resistance. Installed these Michelins last summer and put 2200 miles into them so far and still going strong, not a single surface cut. Other tires usually lasted about 800 miles for me, these Krylions have the best wear resistance I experienced so far.
Mostly riding on paved Roads although also went through miles of dirt roads in Maine last year. I am 150 lbs, pumping them to 100 PSI.
Truly great tires!!

 
Great tire
By NicknameVerified Reviewer from All over on 5/30/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

These are great tires. I most recently bought a replacement (for the same tire) for my rear wheel after about 5k miles. The front is still going strong. I have only had one flat in that time due to a nasty piece of glass that would have been more than a match for any tire. The rolling resistance is pretty low on these, the grip is great, and the weight is pretty low. Highly recommended.

 
Krylions are great tires
By Berdhuis from Herndon, VA on 5/26/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

I have been using my first set of Michelin Krylions for the past 2 years of daily commuting and weekend long rides, and have racked up over 3000 miles on them with no flats or punctures otherwise. While commuting, and staying to the far right of the traffic lanes, I naturally roll over a lot of debris - pebbles, glass, other small and sharp objects. The tires just shoot these objects right from underneath, often times pinging nearby cars with the pebbles. I highly recommend these tires for training, commuting and long rides when you absolutely, positively don't want to waste any time changing them on the road.

 
great tires
By Lucy from Indianapolis on 5/23/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

I am a recreational rider who rides about 5000 miles a year. The front tire will last the whole season, while the rear tire gets replaced at 2500-3000 miles because it "squares off". In a biking season, I rarely replace a tire due to cuts. I replaced one with a different brand because I had it on hand. It didn't have the quality of the Michelin. I am sold one them.

 
No flats
By Red RiderVerified Reviewer from Houston, Texas on 5/11/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Cornering
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

Put on a new set of these before a multiday 500 plus mile ride and went through wet and dry conditions, good and poor roads with no flats and no problems.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pretty awesome!
By Benny BlancoVerified Reviewer from Bronx, NY on 9/27/2010
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

I live in the Bronx which is a hellatious place to ride. Unlike some other reviewers, I HAVE gotten at least 5 flats in the 6 months that I've had them. 2 of those were pinch flats, which of course there's nothing you can do about as it would've happened on any other tire also. The other 2 flats were from shards of glass right in the middle of the tire, and the 5th was from a deep sidewall gash. I'm using a Park tire boot to continue using that tire (you're not supposed to do this), though you can see a speck of white from the tire boot from the outside, it's holding up!

In my book, these are top notch tires. I might try another brand though, to see if I can get a more supple feeling tire.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
NYC Tough
By Ken from New York City on 8/8/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Long Rides, Rain
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

Tested on rough road, potholes, grates and trash. No more flats with these tires. I spend my time riding instead of fixing tires. Lots of cuts rubber but no leaks or problems. A winner for hard, long rides.

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Much better than Conti Ultra Sports
By Weekend RacerVerified Reviewer from San Jose,Ca on 6/20/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy to install, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

I've only had 2 flats in 2000 miles. One of those was caused by a screw-the other by a piece of glass. They seem to be much better than Conti Ultra Sports.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice.
By Dr. MandosVerified Reviewer from Belmont, CA on 6/15/2010
Pros:
Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

My Contintental 4000GP rear tire blew out a large patch on the edge of the sidewall/tire, confirming reported vulnerabilities. I had been running these as a "training" tire for winter and for confidence on gravel/dirt roads. I grabbed a set of these thinking I wanted to switch for summer conditions. Boy, am I impressed. The rolling resistance is so much lower. I don't have that flimsy Hutchenson feeling under wheel so after pushing them a bit I have to conclude: a great compromise between the "bomb proof" attempt and performance. I'm a heavier rider and inflating them to the max 110 psi feels very good, versus constantly messing with the Contis to get it right. Use a quality tube and you are set until winter.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
4300 miles so far
By tigger509Verified Reviewer from Cary, NC on 5/19/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

I'm at 4300 miles on my rear tire and probably have another 1500 if I'm lucky. The middle of the tread is starting to show wear but still rides great. I use Krylions for everything up to Cat 3 races. I can corner hard on them and they hang right on. This is the best endurance tire for the money. The Pro3's are still better for grip and racing, but will not last nearly as long. Basically they just have a lot less rubber to wear down. If you aren't racing for the money prizes, Krylion is perfect for any fast rider.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tire!!
By dezzert_riderVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 3/5/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

Before I bought these tires it seemed that I spent more time repairing inner tubes and replacing tires than riding. The Michelin Carbon tires are as close to bullet proof as you will get in a road tire. You can buy cheaper tires, but you will likely buy 3 of them and have to repair 10 flats before needing another one of these. After having these, I will not buy any other tire. Michelin, continue with your outstanding quality!!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
No flats, dependable.
By The conquererVerified Reviewer from Central Connecticut on 2/24/2010
Pros:
Durable, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

Great tire.
I ride about 4000 miles/yr. My 1st 2 years of riding I got several flats. After changing to this tire I have yet to have a flat (3 years now). Several fellow riders have had the same experience. These tires also roll very nice with low resistance.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice tire
By Alan the crash-test dummyVerified Reviewer from West lafayette, IN on 10/19/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

Very nice tire. I've ridden these for about 2200 miles so far and they are nice. They corner well, have great durability, low rolling weight, this tire has everything you look for in a great training tire. I did wreck on this tire going down a hill making a hard 90 degree turn, but it was a cold day and the tires weren't very sticky. The back tire kicked out and the tires gripped well to slow me down to stop me from going over a guard rail. These are truely puncture resistant tires. I will not buy any other tire after this one. Great job michelin

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tires!
By RayVerified Reviewer from Baltimore, MD on 5/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
None
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

After using these tires once I will never by another one. I have not had good luck with Continental in the past so I tried these out. Michelin Carbon tires are by far the best training tire that I have ever used and I have even used them in many triathlons.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tire!
By Medic292Verified Reviewer from Home of the Tour De Tucson on 3/5/2007
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

I rode a century race in November and sliced the rear tire half-way through the race. The tire held, and is still on my bike. Waiting for it to fail during training rides before I replace it. May have to wait a while. I now have another 1000 miles on it since then. They're tough, yet soft enough to get on and off my Ksyriums without a tire lever.

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good all-around tire
By Chris C. from Olathe KS on 9/19/2006
Pros:
Durable, Good Handling, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

This is not the lightest tire on the market, but it offers a good blend of handling, wear resistance, and puncture resistance. The ride is not as "supple" as ProRace on rough asphalt, but far better wear and puncture resistant.

I have not ridden Conti Gatorskins, but my buddy's ride is much noisier than mine even though we're similar weight (175 lbs).

In 4 years riding the Krylions and their predecessor (Carbon), I've had only 1 flat in over 12,000 miles.

[10 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
smooth tire
By Joe Blank from NC on 8/28/2006
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

Have 1700 miles with no incidents Rear tire startting to show some wear but not yet shot. Will get a new pair when the time comes.

[15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
4000 miles, no flats
By AndrewVerified Reviewer from Cincinnati, Ohio on 8/10/2006
Pros:
Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

Rode these on a cross-country ride on my Ksyrium elites. I went from Colorado-Delaware and now all around home in Ohio and not a single flat in 4000 miles. These handle well and aren't that much heavier than racing tires.

[17 of 17 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good result
By BillVerified Reviewer from San Clemente, CA on 7/16/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Serious Racing/Training

Comments about MICHELIN Michelin Krylion Carbon Road Tire:

I had very good results from the closeout 2005 Michellin carbons so I bought a set of the 2006
Krylion carbons for a new set of Easton Tempest II
wheels. So far, after a few hundred miles including
the San Clemente Challenge, I can report no flats
and no problems.
Broken glass and thorns are a fact of life for me, so I also run Gatorskins. The Carbons are almost as durable and handle better.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.