Buy the 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: FUJI
Located in: Specials, Weekly Specials, End of Summer Road Bikes at Great Prices
Road specialist for the road specialist. This race-ready bike also serves as a ready, able companion for long, meandering road rides. Compact gearing gives you multiple options whether you're climbing, descending, powering into a headwind or relishing the wind at your back!
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(8), Fast(9), Good geometry(5), Handles well(9), Lightweight(8)
Cons:
Uncomfortable seat(3)
Best Uses:
Casual riding(7), Climbing(5), Commuting(4), Exercising(7), Serious training(5)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(10)
 
Love it!
By Bob in AZZZZVerified Reviewer from Gilbert, AZ on 3/9/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Mid level components
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Club Rides, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike:

I've been cycling for close to 40 years and don't plan on entering the Tour de France soon. This bike isn't their top of the line but it also isn't their most expensive. I think overall you get a great bike with an affordable price tag.

I've started riding it in some of the local club rides and really enjoy riding this bike. I've noticed that it rides very nicely and my times are a little better then with my old bike. The paint is great, the geometry works great for me and the components, although not top of the line, work great.

I'd give it 5 stars if the components were 1 or 2 groups higher.

 
Just dandy entry road machine...
By Getting older and faster.Verified Reviewer from Tucson, AZ on 1/8/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Exercising, Ragbrai 2010, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike:

Aluminum frame with carbon fork & seatstays makes for a comfortable ride on pavement. Truly enjoy the smooth shifting and solid feel. Brakes are a bit soft but still responsive. Great touring machine. Will ride this summer in Iowa. See you there!

 
Great!
By Telegram Sam from Pacific Palisades, CA on 12/5/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Handles Well, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Exercising, Racing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike:

This bike has carried me many times, it could be lighter, but it is very well built and is a great overwell bike.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great entry to mid-level bike
By Dirt don't hurt from Modesto, CA on 11/11/2009
Pros:
Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Poor Components, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike:

This is my first road bike since I was in my teens and early 20's (a long time ago). For the most part I love to ride x-country/DH MTB, but my friend conned me into getting a road bike. I must say that I was surprised to enjoy it this much. Not to mention, it's a lot easier to keep up on paved roads.
Purchased in early October on sale.
The good:
Price, geometry, weight, aerodynamics, style
Could be better:
Componentry, tires (but then it would probably cost more now wouldn't it?)
The bad:
Seat
I had to change out the seat almost immediately, very uncomfortable. I've had a few flats, so I'm thinking that I might go with a different tire. I've had some problems shifting into the low gears for climbs. I was able to adjust the cable tension to resolve the short-term issue and make it trhough the ride, but I'm still having issues with the extreme lows/highs even when I avoid x-chaining. So far I've logged about 500 miles and I'd say that, overall this is a great bike for a beginner who's serious about riding or intermediate rider that wants to save a few $$$.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great buy
By nello from Denver, CO on 10/30/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike:

Great bang for the $$, my first road bike and put 800 miles on in 3 months. Not quite sure how i lived without this.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
triple shifter on a compact double!
By Rae from Seattle, WA on 10/10/2009
Pros:
Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Shifting, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike:

triple shifter on a compact double, bad idea. I have had constant trouble with the derailer, chain falling off, won't shift, clanging. I have taken this in for adjustment numerous times now.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
"worht the money"
By E.T from Norwalk, CA on 10/4/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Exercising, Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike:

the bike runs great. just needs good pedals. the shifters are responsive and really light bike. good for exercise. and people can actually see you at night which is a good thing. and since the fork is carbon fiber the bike can absorb more of the road rather than you. =)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike for the money!!
By Bee from Upstate NY on 9/17/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike:

While not a big name like Trek or Cannondale, Fuji makes a quality product. I demo-ed a few other bikes in this price range, including the Giant Avail (women's Defy) and found the Fuji Roubaix to be the most snappy and responsive of the lot. The Avail has all shimano 105, while the Fuji has a mix of Tiagra and 105 but I still like the feel Fuji much better. The geometry is a bit more race-oriented but still comfortable.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I really like this bike!
By TK MDVerified Reviewer from Baltimore, MD on 9/12/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Responsive
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike:

This is my second road bike and the first was one I bought from a friend which did not fit me quite as well. I really like this bike... mine is the 2008 model. I managed to get it on sale at the end of '08 for around $800 which seemed like a good deal. I am 5'9 / 170lbs and I boght a size 56. Since buying it, I have really advanced in the sport and I am now doing over 100 miles per week on the bike. I will eventually upgraded the shifting components but all in all it's a great bike. Fast, responsive, and handles very well. I like the carbon front and rear forks. I changed the seat pretty quickly to a Forte with an open mid-section. I have logged over 1.500 miles on the bike with virtually no issues. I will have this bike for some time. Excellent bike for someone who wants to seriously get into the sport without breaking the wallet!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for the price
By DeeBurnsVerified Reviewer from San Diego on 8/21/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Handles Well, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike:

Good bike for the value. Purchased during double the points, promotional period (which covered all necessary gear). Feels smooth, fast, and light. I test rode similar price Trek and Specialized and found the Fuji actually felt the best. With decent components for the price.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
FAST, LIGHT AND NIMBLE
By T.D.Verified Reviewer from Glen Mills, PA on 6/20/2009
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FUJI 2009 Fuji Roubaix Road Bike:

This bike is a great value for your $$$ ... it's fast, nimble, lightweight and durable. Good, efficient componentry ... have not even had the often-mentioned saddle problems.

However, the race profile might not be the best for someone just making the transition into road biking, or someone a bit older, and heavier, like me. The problem was resolved with the addition of an adjustable stem, allowing the bars to be heightened a bit until I "grow" into the bike.

If you're into comfort, look for a road bike with a more rider-friendly profile or a flat-bar road bike.

All-in-all it's a great bike at a great value.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.