Buy the Continental Traffic MTB Tire on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Continental Traffic MTB Tire image
 
(based on 13 ratings)
Brand: CONTINENTAL
Located in: Tires/Tubes, City Bike Tires, City Tires
Cruise through traffic on the road OR ride with confidence on the trail, thanks to this smooth and comfortable MTB tire.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 13 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Good cushioning(7), Good traction(10), Puncture resistant(4), Rugged(9), Versatile(10)
Best Uses:
Casual trails(10), Commuting(3), Free riding(3), Street riding(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(8)
 
Not liking the new 2009 version of tire.
By Cruiser-dudeVerified Reviewer from Chi-town on 5/12/2010
Pros:
Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Rugged, Versatile
Cons:
Bring back the old design
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, City, Free Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

Loved the Continental Traffic tires I had on an old beach cruiser, rat-rod, etc. They were awesome. Built up another similar bike and had a spare new Continental Traffic tire laying around so I went down to the local Performance Bike shop to score another tire to match. No such luck; they changed the design and the new tires' tread looks nothing like the one I bought in 2008. Totally bummed. Can't find a single tire of the old design anywhere.... weak!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Balance for General Riding
By Stevel610 from Phoenixville, PA on 11/1/2009
Pros:
Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Puncture Resistant, Rugged, Versatile
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

I have been riding the old style for 6-7 months 50-100 miles a week. When I first had them I had them mounted on a wide rim and when I was going REALLY fast down hill on asphalt I would feel a slight thumping. When checked I saw the tire was out of round. I have since mounted it on a narrower rim and have not noticed it. Otherwise a great tire. No Flats, cushiony ride (2.1), low resistance and quiet and sturdy.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Plush, Quiet, Control
By MaineDiverVerified Reviewer from Harmony, ME, Shanghai, Chine on 5/8/2009
Pros:
Good Control, Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Quiet, Rugged, Versatile
Cons:
Not a "Mud Tire"
Best Uses:
"Urban Assault", Casual Trails, Cross Country, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

I wanted a good commuter/city tire that could also go off road and still perform. I've used these for commuting, city riding in Shanghai, fire roads, and single track. This tire has a plush ride even at full inflation pressure, is super quiet (no knobby whine), and has good grip in both dry and wet conditions on the road. It also performs well on dirt roads, trails, and single track as long as you don't get into heavy mud.

Great pavement tire for your mountain bike and an adventurous soul.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Riding is pleasant once again
By kblak from Brooklyn NY on 5/1/2009
Pros:
Good Traction, Rugged, Versatile
Best Uses:
Casual Trails
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

These Tires are gonna make a difference for me in this years five borough bike tour.
Excellent rolling resistance make for a less strenuous ride. well made replaces my Kenda Klaw XT's.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Tire!!
By Robert the Bike RatVerified Reviewer from San Francisco, CA on 2/23/2009
Pros:
Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Puncture Resistant, Rugged, Versatile
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Commuting, Street riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

I really love these tires!! I installed these tires on my Schwinn Frontier and Iron Horse mountain bikes and have been very happy with them. They are fast rolling and offer an extremely comfortable smooth and supple ride--like riding on air, which helps when riding on the rough sections of Market Street of San Francisco. They also offer great traction for the light trails at Crissy Field and at Fort Baker at the other end of the Golden Gate Bridge.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent tire!
By SteveVerified Reviewer from Woodland Hills, CA on 11/12/2008
Pros:
Good Traction, Rugged, Versatile
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

I bought these tires for my Specialized Rock-Hopper, I've been using the bike at my vacation home up in Lake Arrowhead where I'm on a lot of asphalt and some fire roads. Brilliant design: the center strip has a tight configuration which allows for a super-smooth & quiet roll while on asphalt, no howling, no big resistance, really nice. Should you encounter dirt or loose surfaces, the knobs flanking the center strip immediately come into play and perform extremely well. Perfect for the mountain bike turned asphalt cruiser with capability to still handle easy to moderate trails.

[0 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
rolls faster than knobby tire, grips
By sammyVerified Reviewer from AZ on 8/23/2008
Pros:
Good Traction, Rugged, Versatile
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Commute on rough roads
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

I bought these from performance and then paid performance to swap them on my mountain bike. I used them for commuting for about 1.5 weeks before my bike was stolen.
( It was locked with a bulldog cable lock which performance advertises as being "as strong as a U-lock) - Unfortunately that is not the case and the day after I started using the cable lock instead of my old U-lock the bike was stolen.
(in mid-morning in front of a busy building)

Anyway, I loved these tires, I miss them, I used them commuting on potholed roads, on asphalt bike trails, and on dirt paths.

But I don't think I can afford to buy another set :(

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Continental Traffic MTB
By Hareem, NOT of arabia.Verified Reviewer from Cumberland County, Maine on 8/23/2008
Pros:
Good Cushioning
Best Uses:
Casual Trails
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

I just got my tires and am amazed at how quiet they are on the road. I do fire trails in Maine, which are not too rugged, bur have some rocky parts and a little mud. I let some air out for traction on the rocks and they are still QUIET and SMOOTH on the road. I was hesitant to buy them, because they are more expensive than a lot of tires, but I am glad I "splurged" for the extra quality

 
asphalt gripping smooth riding tire
By Bob from Oceanside on 8/6/2008
Pros:
Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Rugged, Versatile
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Free Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

Huge difference from my knob tires! Faster MTB now (TREK series 6 2008 edition; smoother ride; quieter tire; grips nice on sharp turns! Recommend this tire to anyone commuting or ride on asphalt

[1 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Poorly Made Tire
By HVerified Reviewer from Rockville, Maryland on 7/7/2008
Pros:
Good Traction, Versatile
Cons:
Poorly constructed
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, On road
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

These tires are poorly made. They seem to be made out of round. I tried swapping for another tire and it was also out of round [...] I would beware of buying these tires.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
"I would buy this product again and agai
By Mike M. from Baghdad, Iraq. on 6/26/2008
Pros:
Extreme hot climate resis, Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Puncture Resistant, Rugged, Versatile
Cons:
Na
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Free Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

Superior to the Forte Versa Tracs I have used as far as extreme heat resistance is concerned. Doesn't puncture as easily, nor do the side walls break down due to heat or occasional rubbing against the curb, as the aforementioned product. This tire has out lasted 2 of the other type under the same conditions that I ride my bike while working in the extreme climate of Baghdad,Iraq, for the past 4 years.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tire for riding in a rough traffic
By Cycle truck driver from Escondido, Ca on 9/17/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Fast and Smooth Ride, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

I used it on my workman cycle truck for hauling thing I buy, I love the way the tire handle the road well and less flat to worry about.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
great tire
By htsquidVerified Reviewer from Bradenton Fl. on 7/20/2006
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Fast and Smooth Ride, Good Cornering
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Traffic MTB Tire:

Great tire for an all around tire! Good in loose dirt and cleans easily while riding. Rear tire wore faster than I thought should, but has about 1000 miles on it rotate with the front have a nother 1000 to go!!! Good tire!!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.