Buy the IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: IRC
Located in: Tires/Tubes, Mountain Bike Tires, Mountain Tires
With IRC's top selling tread pattern, the Mythos XC II MTB tires have helped countless riders scramble to the top of their favorite singletrack...and their local podium!
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
94% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Good cushioning(6), Good traction(17), Puncture resistant(5), Rugged(9), Versatile(8)
Best Uses:
Casual trails(10), Cross country(14), Single track(9)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(11), Competitive cyclist(3)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Low rolling resistance, long-wearing
By Paul W.Verified Reviewer from Stoneham, MA on 8/16/2010
Pros:
Changes Easily, Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Long-Lasting, Puncture Resistant, Rugged, Versatile
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

My 2001 M80 came with Velociraptors, and they were great tires, but more than I needed for the dirt roads that comprise 80% of my riding. The Mythos tires are a lot better, in that regard. (Not quite as meaty as the WTB's.) I have found these the ideal tire for the type of riding that i do, and have found them to be excellent for both road and trail, too (as long as the trail was not too muddy). Inexpensive, is not a struggle to change and lasts a long time. I'm here to buy another set!

 
Good tread but weak sidewalls
By Dayman from Philadelphia, PA on 11/9/2009
Pros:
Good Traction
Cons:
Sidewalls rip
Best Uses:
Practice for making boots
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

I've had two of these tires on the rear and ripped the sidewalls on rocks within 100 miles on both tires. You can tell the sidewalls are really thin. I am only 140 lbs and ride somewhat aggressively, but only normal XC. There are serious problems with the durability of these tires. I would recommend the classic Panaracer Smokes, which I've never had any problems with.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Watch the Weight
By AlexVerified Reviewer from Ladera Ranch on 9/23/2009
Pros:
Good Traction, Versatile
Cons:
Weight
Best Uses:
Cross Country
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

I bought these tires based on the spec'd weight, but thought I'd weigh the tires just for kicks at the shop - performance only carries 2.1, which is spec'd out to 480g.....wrong!!!!!!!
There was huge variance in weight from 580-680grams.
The spec'd weight of 480 grams is for the 1.95" which I would gladly buy if they were in stock.
This also leaves me to wonder IRC's quality control.
To Performance...get the 1.95" in stock. They're a great tire at a great price and put together with the lunar light tube, beat a tubless...but not at 680/tire.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome tire for the price... Stock up!
By The Blue Cruiser from Las Cruces, NM on 4/19/2009
Pros:
Good Traction
Best Uses:
Cross Country
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

I have been using this tire for quite a while now (since 2001)and was completely blown away when I saw the pricing on these tires drop as low as [$] on Performance. I was actually worried that they were going to go out of production (maybe they still will) so I bought about 10 pair a while back. I was getting about a month's worth of riding out of rear tires (approximately 40-50 hours of riding) and about 60-80 hours of riding out of the front tires. The rear tires simply wear out quicker. For the price one can afford to stock up on these tires. I have also recently "Stansed" a set of these tires on a light set of wheels - very light setup! I strongly recommend this tire for rugged southwestern Chihuahuan desert terrain in southern New Mexico!

 
Skinny, but great for the price.
By oldskoolbikerVerified Reviewer from Alexandria, VA on 4/15/2009
Pros:
Good Traction, Price
Cons:
Squirrely
Best Uses:
Cross Country, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

I bought these tires to knock some weight off a bike I bought at Performance. The first thing that surprised me was how skinny the tires were. These tires are skinny for a 2.1. But they get good traction on the local XC trails. They are a little squirrely in corners, and I wouldn't want to take these tires over rough terrain with a lot of speed for fear of a flat. The tires are light, not 480g as advertised, but I weighed the tires before installing them and they were 550g each. If you're looking for a cheap way to knock some rotational weight off your bike, these will do the trick.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't let the price fool ya!
By EddieMacVerified Reviewer from Atlanta,GA on 2/28/2009
Pros:
Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Rugged, Versatile
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Downhill, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

For the price you can't ask for a better performing tire.I track across all kinds of different terrain and these handle it all.I've got a wall full of more expensive tires and thats where they will stay,on the wall.As soon as these wear out I will get another set!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very sweet!
By turkey from Western NY on 2/21/2009
Pros:
Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Rugged, Versatile
Cons:
Not the best in deep mud
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

Second set of these tires, they are my favorite! They are so soft and "grabby" they hold on rocks roots, loose dirt, hard pack, they do it all! They are not the best in deep mud but I have not found many that are. They do wear fairly quickly but that is because they are so soft, you can't have it all, but at this price it is almost a non issue!

 
Great tires, Great value
By Kidding me? from Southern Cal on 2/8/2009
Pros:
Excellent value, Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Puncture Resistant, Rugged, Versatile
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

My first pair were the non-kevlar version, and they were outstanding. I ride mostly dry, hardpack, and rocky terrain, but occassionally it gets muddy. The IRC tires have performed perfectly.

For the price you can carry a couple of sets. Lately, I have been riding very rocky terrain, and have knocked off a few of the knobs, but no flats. The traction has been outstanding.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for the money
By bob the bargain hunterVerified Reviewer from Dallas TX on 2/7/2009
Pros:
Good Traction, Rugged, Versatile
Cons:
Faster wear
Best Uses:
Cross Country, Free Riding, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

I would recommend these for anybody who rides mostly dry singletrack, gravel, or sandy dirt. I do not recommend them for pavement (the blocks fall off) or mud (works better in mud after some of the blocks fall off though). I had the best luck with them on fire roads and gravelly climbs. After wearing out a rear tire, I used the front one as a rear tire by reversing the tread, and using another comparable front tire. I liked it very well this way but it may cause noticeable squirm on hard surfaces. It dug in like a miner though!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
since 2003 and still going
By flipperVerified Reviewer from stuck in a rut in the midwest on 1/24/2009
Pros:
Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Price, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Puttin' around the trails
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

Well i have own these set since 2003 on my mt bike and 6 yrs later after removing all of the factory parts and upgrading now with larger shocks to take up more bumps, better components and disc brakes to help me stop on those oops moments. Sadly today i ordered a complete set to replace the old ones...bald and battered i figured i better get new ones.

In all the yrs i have rode these tires i have only had 1 flat...due to riding in some thickets were some thorns were hiding to get me. I have rode them for the last two yrs bald and dry rotted but they keep on rollin'....whats up with that...doesn't IRC want repeat customers.

Overall these are a great set of tires for all weather and road conditions and they will take a beating for the average person...those of us that don't run 8" inches of travel both front and rear and drop off 10 feet drops.

I would recommend these to anyone who wants great tires and great bargain...i got more yrs out of these than most since its not my everyday bike i put them on...but 6yrs of hard riding on them...i would say that is a heck of a bargain and testament to the quality.

 
Don't judge by the price
By Hector from Sun Valley, Ca on 12/31/2008
Pros:
Good Traction, Rugged
Cons:
Need 22 up front
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

After useing the original 50$ tires on my new bike, I went straight to the IRC set and was greatly surprised. I put in bout 15 hrs a week of riding hard with a club, and include distance races. I've managed to put in over 500 miles on the rear, but that was pushing it to its limit. Once the tread wears down to 2mm. I suffered 3 flats on one ride and greatly reduced traction. Only complain is that you need a larger front tire, like a 2.25 Other than that, great tires for the price... BUY Them...

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Everyone should have a pair of these
By TomRVerified Reviewer from Racine, WI on 11/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

Second bike...second set and I wouldn't ride on anything else. Buy 'em...buy 'em now!

One tip - put the rear on reverse direction for even more climbing bite

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome tire for the money A++++++
By Abrookshire03Verified Reviewer from Richmond, Va on 11/11/2008
Pros:
Good Traction, Great in tight turns, Puncture Resistant, Rugged
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

Just bought these tires yesterday at my local Performance Bicycle. Toally blew away the stock Specialized tires that came on my bike. Total confidence in fast turns, great traction in wet conditions and slick leaves. I put about fifteen miles on them today and can say that for the little you pay for these tires you get a lot back on the trails. Great buy!!!!!!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Why spend more?
By bikingchad.comVerified Reviewer from Greensboro, NC on 9/24/2008
Pros:
Good Traction, LIGHT, Rugged
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

I've used the IRC Mythos without the kevlar for years with nothing but smiles. Now that it has the kevlar bead, its even better!

The local trails are hardpack with roots and rocks 'o' plenty and I never have a traction problem. Climbing is great and they corner amazing. Very predictable and stable.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice do all xc tire
By KozzoVerified Reviewer from Redwood Shores, CA on 9/21/2008
Pros:
Good Traction, Versatile
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

Like the other guy, I have tried a lot of different tires through the price range and still find these among the best for general xc riding. I ride mostly dry and hard pack terrain. One problem I have is the rear khobs eventually cracking off some times after really rocky terrain. The rear wears fast so pick up two for each front, but that is pretty much the case with most tires.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
These tires are great!
By Jean McBean from Joplin, MO on 9/13/2008
Pros:
Good Cushioning, Good Traction, Puncture Resistant, Rugged, Versatile
Best Uses:
Casual Trails, Cross Country, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

I am a casual cyclist, so don't demand a lot from my bikes and components, but I have been riding two sets of these tires for the past 5 years and they show very little wear. My version of these are tubeless with Stan's kits,one on a set of Mavic disc rims and the other on a set of Spinergy Xyclone Discs. I run them at about 35# psi. Have never had a flat. A couple of years before I bought these tires, they were at one time said to be the winningest tires in XC racing! I would definitely buy these again...am watching for tubless version to be on sale again!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
nice light tires!
By Ben from Mass on 8/13/2008
Pros:
Fast rolling, Good Traction, Inexpensive, LIGHT
Best Uses:
Cross Country, Downhill
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

I built my bike from the ground up and got these for my tires.

I purchased these mainly because of their price and because they fit my criteria for tires.

Not only do these perform well but they make your mountain or xc bike look even better than it already does.

[27 of 27 customers found this review helpful]

 
Stupidly good tires for the cost
By Me Cycle BoyVerified Reviewer from Golden, Colorado on 4/28/2008
Pros:
Good Traction, Light and rolls fast
Cons:
Wears a bit fast
Best Uses:
Cross Country
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about IRC IRC Mythos XC II MTB Tire:

I bought this tire for winter riding. It was inexpensive and I figured the design looked good for shedding snow. Besides they were cheap tires I figured I would through away at the end of winter. Little did I know that this is a very fast rolling tire with a good tread design for tracking and fast XC racing. They are faster than all my $50 XC tires that I have been racing on and they are about the same weight. I keep trying to figure out why they are [$] So far I can't find anything wrong with them. I want to find something wrong so that I can justify all the $50 tires I've been through, but to tell the truth I'm going to keep buying these.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.