Buy the Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire image
 
(based on 26 ratings)
Brand: CONTINENTAL
Located in: Tires/Tubes, Road Bike Tires, Road Tires
Ultra Sport road bike tires make a stunning impact on every training ride and are ideal for newcomers to road biking.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
2.3 stars
(based on 26 reviews)
38% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(7), Excellent grip(12), Good cornering(11), Low rolling resistance(6), PRICE(3)
Cons:
High rolling resistance(7), Punctures easily(13), Wears easily(9)
Best Uses:
Climbing(4), Commuting(10), Serious racing/training(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(20), Competitive cyclist(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)
 
Great Cold/Cool Weather Tire
By AJVerified Reviewer from Rocklin, CA on 3/1/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Rain, Training
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

I am 160lbs, run a 700x25 with a thorn resistant tube on the rear and a 23 on the front. Not a single flat with over 500 mi. With the soft tread compound, tire pressure is important and as of now I am running 110 on the back and 85 on the front. Great tire for training in the cold/cool weather but once the temp raises switch to something with a harder compound. All around good tire considering the price!

 
Good for the price
By Mr. BVerified Reviewer from Sacramento on 2/2/2011
Pros:
Durable, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

Just replaced a set of Forte Pro DC tires because of two blowouts in less than 100 miles. Now I am <100 miles in and these seem to grip the road better and are very smooth. The compound seems to grab the road more than my last Forte tires despite the fact that they have less knobs. Will update review in another 1000 miles or so once I need to replace these again.

 
Good, not Great
By JammerVerified Reviewer from Dublin California on 11/28/2010
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance, Punctures Easily, Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

These tires came with the bike when I bought it, and through its use I had several flats when my riding partner had none. Because of it's higher weight and rolling resistance, it's an okay tire for casual or recreational use, but not for an avid or higher calibre cyclist that demand better performance from their equipment.

There are better performing tires in this price range, so no recommendations.

 
Good Tire
By Kcrounder from kansas city on 8/7/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Rain, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

I got these on my Fuji and got a little over 2000 miles on my rear tire. Had maybe 1 or 2 flats each season but that is common with tires. They roll good and corner good. Never had an issue with them

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tire for the money
By fireplugVerified Reviewer from Kansas City, MO on 6/26/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

I have gone through three sets of these tires so far. Yes I have gotten flats on them but I am sure in the same circumstances any tire would have done the same.

Over all I get about 1500 out of a rear tire before it it needs to be replaced. Corners are never a problem on these tires...I just point and it sticks.

Wet weather does not seem to be a problem either. I have been caught in more than one thunder storm and never felt that they are slipping.

Great tire for the price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bad flaw in tire--less than 500 miles
By Jim from St Pete, FL on 6/13/2010
Pros:
Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Flaw in tire
Best Uses:
Recreational riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

Love the easy rolling. But rear tire developed flaw in less than 500 miles--or maybe earlier and I did not catch it. Has not blown out but I no longer trust it. Tire bulges in a two inch spot. Have had other continental tires that have been good, but this is unacceptable.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Disappointing
By TriakelVerified Reviewer from Minneapolis, MN on 5/22/2010
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

Smooth, grippy tire that offers inferior flat protection.

First off, I am a big fan of Continental bike tires. I use the Hometrainer for indoor training, and have had great experience on long tours and city commuting with both the GP 4000 and GP 4-Season tires. But I had to comment when I read the manufacturer's glowing description of the Ultra Sport's puncture resistant qualities.

Yesterday, I was commuting to work on a highway shoulder, when this tire -- which had a total of 150 miles on it -- developed a 2-3 mm "arrowhead" puncture, causing an immediate flat. The tire has a gap in the tread that continues through the liner, and it is now unusable.

By comparison, I and a riding partner have ridden more than 8,000 miles on Continental GPs and Vredestein Fortezza TriComps -- admittedly twice the MSRP of the Ultra Sport) with only a handful of flats, none of which ruined the tire.

Perhaps I had bad luck with freak road debris. Nevertheless, the Ultra Sport appears to be an inexpensive, entry level road tire that is not designed for any sort of road abuse.

I recommend it only for riders on a budget who ride clean roads.

 
Not so bad!
By QuackerVerified Reviewer from Fountain Valley, CA on 1/19/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

These tires came on my Fuji and I ride 30-75 miles on weekends but in longer days of the year ride 30 miles every couple days after work. I got one flat on back tire after 300 miles from riding over broken glass. I put stronger tubes on both tires and now have 830 miles with no problems. I had planned on replacing them with Gator Skins if I got one more flat but it never came. I will probably put these same tires on after 1500 miles. Keeping them properly inflated and not riding over glass is imperative for long life. If I'm too slow it's because I'm 52, not because of these tires. I'm fortunate in that most of my riding is along the San Gabriel River which is rather pristine compared to the roads in Palos Verdes where I do my climbing.

 
Don't buy this tire
By scattante riderVerified Reviewer from chirstiansburg, va on 9/6/2009
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance, Punctures Easily, Wears Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

I have used these tires for commuting and riding for 4 months, and got upwards of 15 flats. Worst puncture resistance of any tire I have ever encountered. Plus, my rear tire has a flat spot from wear after less than 1000 miles. Don't buy these tires!!!

 
These tires are getting a bad rap
By ChuckVerified Reviewer from Bellevue, WA on 9/3/2009
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Climbing, Fast group riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

These tires are getting a bad rap. They are fast. I know becuse my bike rolls faster than anybody in my group ride. I don't have problems with punctures or grip. I got 1200 miles out of my rear tire and am going to buy another one. The front is just fine, lots of miles left. I think maybe we have some slow riders here who are trying to blame thier gear for thier poor performance. It wears faster than some probably becuase it has a soft compond to make it grippy. A tire that is tough and long lasting is going to have cons in some other area. There may be better tires, but these are good tires. Oh they are pretty hard to put on and take off, so if thats a concern, be warned.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Waste of money
By Birdman from SoCal on 8/31/2009
Pros:
Excellent Grip
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance, Punctures Easily, Wears Easily
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

Like many have stated bought based on the Conti rep...big mistake. 5 flats in less than a week. Spend your money on another tire and save yourself the headaches.

 
ok
By Jason from San Diego, CA on 8/25/2009
Pros:
PRICE
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance, Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

Not terrible tires for the price. I've put about 450 miles on them and there is considerable wear. Although most flats with these tires can be prevented by pumping to recommended PSI 110-120 which I'm assuming most people here don't do.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Replaceing after only 800 Miles :(
By SCOUT from Arvada, Colorado on 7/3/2009
Pros:
Good Cornering
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance, Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

Replaced the rear tire after only 300 miles the threads were coming through the side wall. Final straw today after just passing 500 miles on the back and 800 miles on the front, I had enough and replaced them.
Today while riding I blew out the back tire and had to walk a couple miles...Not to mention all the numerous flats I had with these. buy something better. I bought these (Vredestein Fortezza SE Road Tire ) tonight

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
You get what you pay for, not 4 the city
By Mikey JVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia on 6/16/2009
Cons:
Too many flats, Too soft
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

I put these tires on my city singlespeed road bike. This tire is good for an indoor trainer of perfectly paved roads, but not for the city. I've gotten too many flats. This tire just can't handle the city. You get what you pay for.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Slower than slow
By coach from Dayton,Ohio on 4/18/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Cornering
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance, Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

These tires wear to soon. Would be good very casual cyclist.However these tires are so slow the rolling resistance makes you feel like you are riding in sand.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good basic tire
By ChazVerified Reviewer from Michigan on 1/15/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

Half of my '08 riding was on a hand-me-down bike with Ultrasports on it. Don't know how many miles were on the tires but the rear was noticeably more worn than the front. I had a problem with flats in the rear but tracked it down to the old rim tape that had cracked and punctured the tube from the inside, NOT the fault of the tire. The last straw was getting a puncture in the rear tire caused by a sliver of concrete maybe 1/4 inch long and 1/16 inch thick. I bought a pair of Ultrasports, changed the rear (never got around to changing the front) and didn't have another flat for the remaining two months and probably 800-1000 miles I rode that bike. The bike is old and heavy so I can't really speak to rolling resistance but I could get a good pace going (16-20 mph depending on terrain and wind) and keep it without a lot of effort. They grip well enough too, but I'm not an aggressive rider in the few sharp turns on my route. They seem ok in the wet. Ultrasports seemed to be a good tire overall to me and a great value.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Slowest road tire I have ever ridden
By white flashesVerified Reviewer from Ohio on 1/13/2009
Pros:
Excellent Grip
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance, Punctures Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

These tires are SUPER slow and puncture way too easy. Buy the Vittoria Zaffiro Road Tire instead if you are looking for a buget tire, they are SO much better of a tire and for less money.

 
Agreed-EASY to get flats
By gregory from Austin,tx on 1/8/2009
Cons:
Punctures Easily, Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

I will use these rating systems from now on. Thanks for the info people! I purchased these because of the Brand to be honest,use to love Conti.
2 *%@(## flats in one day.I like my local Performance shop a lot,so i will still go back tomorrow but not for this tire. Shame on you Conti !!!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not as bad as some say.
By AandrewcaVerified Reviewer from San Diego on 12/15/2008
Pros:
PRICE
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

These tires came on my Douglas Matrix. I got a flat on the front within 25 miles, and on the rear on the next ride. In each case, I replaced the factory Cheng Shin lightweight tubes with standard Bontrager tubes, and have not had a flat in the last 300 miles. These tires are pretty light, so I don't expect them to be as puncture resistant as some heavier tires, so I can't complain. I think when they wear out, I will replace with a better tire, but it will cost twice as much. I think this is a very good [$]tire.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worst Tire Ever
By Rog from San Diego, CA on 12/8/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

I would have expected more from Continental. I rode these tires on 10 outings of about 30 miles each and I have had a flat 8 out of ten rides. From a puncture resistance point of view these are the worst tires I have ever ridden.

 
wears like crazy
By JayVerified Reviewer from chico/san jose,ca on 10/25/2008
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

slapped one on my rear wheel of my fixed. these seemed to be great tires in the beginning, but after a few rides the ride quality got extremely rough. i skinned the rubber portion in about 17 days even when i didnt do any extremely strenuous riding.

spend the extra money, get a better tire.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Spend a little more & get a better tire
By JimVerified Reviewer from Costa Mesa, CA on 9/1/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip
Cons:
Punctures Easily, Wears Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

Continental Ultra Sports came on my Fuji Roubaix, purchased in January 2009. They are very low-end, and I would not buy them again. They have a very tacky surface in which even the tiniest piece of glass gets embedded. This problem, coupled with a thin casing, resulted in a flat about every 50 miles! Additionally, I had a very hard time with dips in the tire every time I changed a flat; the tires just wouldn't reseat uniformly. I just replaced the Ultra Sports after my first 1500 miles when the rear tire wore through to the threads and blew out. Performance said this was reasonable distance for these tires. Spend just a little more and get a better tire.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Terrible tires
By On your LeftVerified Reviewer from Sherwood, OR on 8/14/2008
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

These tires came with my new bike. Tires too soft. Have good grip, but everything sticks in them. After each ride I was having to pick small pebbles out of the tires. Had a sidewall bubble on me. Cuts easily. Just terrible experience, very frustrated. LBS agrees "wretched tires" they said. No punctures, but I was using liners, otherwise I'd have some. Have been running Vittoria Zaffiro tires on my other bike, which are compatively priced, no problems even close to these Ultra Sport tires. I'm replacing them at 500 miles.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Do Not Buy
By jackVerified Reviewer from nyc, ny on 7/28/2008
Cons:
Punctures Easily, Wears Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

i've used many different tires over the years and i've never had so many flats in such a short period of time. these tires get chewed up very quickly, they're cut by almost eveything on the road.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good tires
By SnowmanVerified Reviewer from Irvine, CA on 7/25/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Little to sticky
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

I ride about 13 miles a day when commuting to the office. The tires are good on the local bike trails (Irvine, CA). The only con is they are sticky enough to throw road debris up.

The first week they were a little slow, but since then they are extremely speedy feeling.

I would definitely recommend this to a friend.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Smooth Ride... Punctures Easily
By SteveVerified Reviewer from Colorado Springs, CO on 7/1/2008
Pros:
PRICE, Smooth As Silk
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Casual riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Sport Road Tire:

The price is nice and the ride is great but the time spent on the side of the road isn't worth it... 3 flats in the last 60 miles. Pay the extra $$$ and get the Conti 4000. You'll save $$$ in the long run by not having to purchase new tubes.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.