Buy the Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire image
 
(based on 38 ratings)
Brand: CONTINENTAL
Located in: Tires/Tubes, Road Bike Tires, Road Tires
The successor to the popular Grand Prix 3000 road tire, the incredible Continental Grand Prix 4000 road bike tire features a new compound that is grippier, faster and more resilient than ever!
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 38 reviews)
83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(26), Excellent grip(33), Good cornering(30), Low rolling resistance(31), Puncture resistant(20)
Cons:
Punctures easily(6)
Best Uses:
Climbing(18), Commuting(9), Rain(11), Serious racing/training(28), Sprinting(10)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(23), Competitive cyclist(3)
 
Simply the best
By frpaxVerified Reviewer from Tempe, AZ on 10/3/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

Simply the best all around tire you can buy.

 
Great , long lasting
By Gary from Kalamazoo mi. on 9/23/2010
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Hard to put on
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

First time to use the 4000s , Great tire , very smooth . Can't wait till our group ride this weekend, , FYI , the blue tires look great with my red carbon frame

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Unraveling, less puncture protection
By DonVerified Reviewer from Elmira, New York on 6/7/2010
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I have used these for about 2,500 miles. At first I thought they were just fine.Then I discovered that I had a serious gathering of black thread in my gears and considered than I had run over a spool of black tread. Eventually i recognized the problem was the tires themselves were coming apart just above the rim. This happened with both tires. I was not only concerned about safety, and aesthetics, but it suggested a lack of quality with a product at a premium price.
Thereafter, in spite of a claim to be puncture resistant, I began to get flats and stranded 12 miles from home a couple of times. I'm disappointed and in the market for another set of tires, with a puncture resistance.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Does it all
By ChazVerified Reviewer from Metro Detroit, MI on 1/4/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
De-threading from bead
Best Uses:
Long Rides, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

These tires are available in several colors but only the black has the black chili compound. Also, the Grand Prix 4000 S is the exact same tire, the S name is a marketing tactic, a guy from Conti told me so. I put a set on in the spring of '09 and didn't change my rear tire until about 2200 miles later when I had my first puncture and the tread wear dimples were showing that it was close to replacement anyway. I have at least 5000 miles on the front and it still shows life. I've had the usual cuts but they've held up well. I dug out a tiny piece of glass, removed the tire and the casing had been stressed but not breached. I patched the spot with a normal tube patch to reinforce it and it held up fine.

The only oddity is some de-threading just above the bead and it looks as if the sidewall is splitting. But I've put all those miles on them and no problem, and I've had plenty of 30-35 mph descents. They are tough to put on depending on the wheel. I'll continue buying this tire.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's been a great tire for me
By ChazVerified Reviewer from Metro Detroit, MI on 12/8/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant, Tread wear indicators
Cons:
Can be tough to mount
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

First off, this tire is available in different colors but only the black has the Black Chili compound where you get the most benefit. Also, the Grand Prix 4000 S (available ONLY in black) is the EXACT same tire, just labeled different.

I mounted these up in the March of '09 and put over 5000 miles on the front tire for the outdoor season and there's probably another 500 miles left in it judging by the tread wear dimples. At maybe 1500 miles or so I dug something out of the rear tire. I took the tire off and inspected the inside, the casing had been stressed but not breached so I put a tube patch on it to reinforce it. I put about 2200 on my rear tire before getting my first pinch flat but oddly, the next day I got a puncture. The tread dimples were getting pretty shallow on the rear at that point and I had a century coming up the next weekend so I replaced it with another GP 4000. To be honest, I got another pinch flat on the century ride from running over a rock but the new tire was NOT punctured. I inspected the inside of it as well and no stress whatsoever.

The only odd thing I've experienced is what I'll call de-threading of the sidewall just above the bead/rim. Strands of thread will start to unravel and every now and then I'll pull one off. But I continued to ride on them regularly doing a couple descents at 30-35 mph every night. No blow-outs or anything.

I'm really happy with the grip, tread life, low rolling resistance and high puncture resistance and will continue to purchase.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
No flats, 8k miles, weigh 215 lbs, 6'4"
By SpokelseVerified Reviewer from Boston, MA on 12/3/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

to repeat, no flats, I ride on lousy roads all the time, let me repeat, I've ridden about 8000 miles on these tires, trained and raced over every imaginable surface, I'm heavy and NO FLATS. If you haven't gotten the message yet, see above. To those riding over glass, my advice is.....don't, after a point, nothing helps you anyway, but I'm pretty sure I've never had this level of durability and performance in a tire and I've been riding/racing for over 30 years.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Solid
By boulderejVerified Reviewer from Boulder,CO on 11/23/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

Have been riding these solid for the past 18 months and they are by far the best all around tires I've ever ridden. I ride year round and I think I've had one flat (knock on wood). If you ride often, get these, they are worth every penny.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I have found my new tires...........
By biker chickVerified Reviewer from Anaheim CA on 11/5/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I have had many sets of tires on my 15,000 miles but these have performed far better than any others i have come across without spending a fortune................I have not had to fix a flat in AGES and I ride 150 or more miles a week--getting ready to buy another pair i absolutely recommend these for everyone

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great overall tire
By Bob from Utah on 10/10/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I have over 6,000 miles on this set in all kinds of conditions. Put them on last spring and rotated them at about 2800. Mayby one flat. I ride them at 120+ psi. Last set I got about 5,000 miles. Tough to beat that durability with a good performance tire to boot.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Can't go Wrong with Nano Particles
By JimVerified Reviewer from Albuquerque on 9/28/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Handling, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Sidewall Tears
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

While this tire can be used for every day commuting, it works best for racing, or training. There's tires that have better puncture resistance, work better in the rain, and last longer, but if your looking for a tire that can get you from point A to B fast, without having to deal with frequent flats, and has good tread life, the Continental Grand Prix 4000 is it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
NoneBetter!
By DaleVerified Reviewer from rural Mtns of VA on 9/10/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

5600 miles on rear, 9000 miles on front (still running it, wear indicators still visible) no cuts yet. Rural area w/lots of rough surface roads. Only Conti GP (a 3000) I've ever flatted was already wearing through the threads. Great rolling, keep grip in wet. Previous 3000 series issue of threads hanging loose from bead seems to be gone. I've decided that NOT rotating is better for me, since 1 on front may last for 2 on rear without sacrificing safety. These ARE tough to install on my Bontrager RaceLites but once on, no more struggles, since they L-A-S-T!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice tire
By Dog from Boulda, CO on 8/31/2009
Pros:
Durable, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

Have used these tires exclusively for the last 2 years (3 pairs at ~2000 to 3000 miles /pair at max pressure). I started using them after Performance no longer carried the 700x20s in the forte SL line and I didn't like the comparable Vittorias, Panaracers or the Vredsteins.

Most of my riding is commute and weekend training for a total of ~6K miles/yr; about 4000/yr on the contis. In two years, I've had 2 flats so they seem to be pretty durable tires and I ride thru a boat load of CO road crud (rocks, chip seal, glass, wet/rain, sand, etc) during the course of a year.

Yes, the tires do get nicked but really don't show serious wear until about 1500-2000 miles with daily use.

For those that have trouble getting them on their rims, there is a bit of a trick / learning curve to getting the tires properly on a rim, esp the deeper ones. 1)I often put the tires on a rim w/o the tube for a day or so to stretch the bead a bit, pull the tire off and then put the tire with tube in. 2) I use the orange SPin DR levers which are plastic coated metal and can get these Conti beads over deeper rims. 3)Check around the rim after mounting to make sure that you won't get a pinch flat.

 
Great Tire
By Sweatin SteveVerified Reviewer from Tulsa, OK on 7/27/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I got over 2500 miles on a set of these, commuting about 150 miles per week. Would have gotten more but got some big gashes from cut rock in a construction area. These tires are awesome. I NEVER flatted with them (as long as you use puncture resistant tubes). The wear indicators are great. I should have rotated front and back sooner and would have gotten even more mileage than I did. Bought another pair to replace these. I will always buy the Continental GP series tires from now on.

 
Excellent Tires!
By SporanVerified Reviewer from Phoexnixville, PA on 6/2/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

These tires are the best tires I have used hands down. I use them to commute to work (20miles daily) and for training ~ 100 miles a week. I rarely have an issue and really find these tires to be exceptional.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Tire But Experienced Cut Sidewall
By wildmanVerified Reviewer from Sanford, NC on 5/28/2009
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

This tire came with a lot of hype but I will reserve my final judgment until later. I don't wait for a puncture before replacing a tire, preferring instead to replace the tires and tubes at around 2500 miles.

These tires mount like other Continental tires I have used, they are hard to mount on the rim. These are not tires you want to be repairing while out on a ride.

I ride five days a week for several hours at a time for the benefit of the exercise and the workout. I look for a tire that is puncture resistant because I do not want to repair a flat out on the open road. After 200 plus miles I ran over something midway through a ride and experienced a sidewall cut on the rear tire that fortunately did not cut the tube but did go through the tire. This is a potential for a pinch flat on the tube if not caught. I always check my tires after a ride and noticed the cut sidewall cord. I had a spare tire and changed out the tire and the tube.

I like the handling and the cornering and in general this is a decent tire but I will wait to see if I get my expected mileage before recommending these to a friend.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tire but one cautionary note
By HowardVerified Reviewer from Newark, Delaware on 1/13/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Does not fit on all rims
Best Uses:
Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

These are great tires and worth the cost. You should note that they do not fit on all rims. I have a Bianchi with Campagnolo Velo wheels and these tires will not go on without a GREAT deal on effort. Not exactly the best situation if you have a flat during a 70 -100 miles ride.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Continental Grand Prix 4000
By ClintVerified Reviewer from Melbourne, Florida on 11/12/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily, Weak sidewalls, Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I put over 900 miles and have experienced numerous slices due to glass along with one sidewall blowout. I am not riding in the gutter, but the easement on the side of the road in Florida is not much better. I moved onto the Grand Prix series. I can feel the extra weight, but changing tubes is not much fun.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great tire, poor puncture resistance.
By Clint the HasherVerified Reviewer from Melbourne, Florida on 10/21/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Cons:
Punctures Easily, Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I have 800 miles on a set of tires. Glass has shredded them with ease and just got a sidewall puncture. Great to race, though not a great training tire.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent balance of performance
By brewer13210Verified Reviewer from La Fayette, NY on 10/20/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I currently have about 1,400 miles of my first set of these, and they seem to be a great compromise of features.

Fairly light, low rolling resistance and very grippy in corners. They're more durable than a "race" tire, and faster than a touring, and a great tire for the avid/extreme cyclist.

No bike tire is puncture proof, and I've had two flats since I've had them on the bike, but in both cases it was in wet weather, where every tire becomes a magnet for glass shards on the side of the road (both times it was a sliver of glass from broken beer bottles).

One nice feature are the "wear sensors" the tires come with; two very small round holes in the center of the tread so you can easily see how much tread you have left. When the bottom of the holes are even with the surface of the tire, it's time to replace them.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tire - Best I've Tried
By Scotsman from Florida on 10/10/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I found the 4000S and the Michelin Pro 3 Race to both to be excellent tires, but the Conti's seemed to grip better and gave a more secure feeling on the tight corners. They also seem a little more "grippy" in wet weather. Excellent wear and highly resistant to punctures. I would buy these again.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Tires
By Applesmasher from Alabama on 9/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I have gone through 3 sets of the Continental 4000 tires in 12,000 miles and I have only had two flats! The tire is ultra light, 205 grams. It also corners very well in crit racing. The only other tire I would consider is the Michelin Pro Race 3’s, although they corner equally or better than the 4000’s they don’t last as long, and may not be as puncture resistant. THe only down side to these tires is that they aren’t the cheapest, but then again your buying the top of the line tire, at top of the line prices.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Continental Grand Prix 4000
By Bianchi BikerVerified Reviewer from Keizer, OR on 8/19/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

Since running the Grand Prix 4000's I have not had a flat tire and I have ran over some nasty stuff. I do see nicks and cuts in the tire but no flats. I am well into my second season and will more than likely get this season done on this set. I average 1200 miles a season.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great durability
By BrianVerified Reviewer from Grand Rapids, MI on 8/2/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I switched to the Continental after repeated flats during training rides on Specialized S-works. After a 100 miles or so the s-works would have small cuts and nicks in them and within a few more hundred miles they would flat. After close to 1000 miles the continentals show no wear, nicks or cuts. They have performed well in both crits & road races.

[3 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
They don't mount easily on every wheel
By HowardVerified Reviewer from Newark, Delaware on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip
Cons:
Difficult to mount
Best Uses:
General Touring
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I have a Bianchi Veloce. It came with Campy Velo wheels and these tires DO NOT mount easily due to the very tight Kevalar bead in the tire wall. Because of this, I've experienced numerous pinch flats so be careful when buying these if you have deep rims. Might be better off with the gatorskins or even Vittorias.

 
Definately consider this tire!
By StickmanVerified Reviewer from Traverse City, MI on 6/25/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Great when wet, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Not the cheapest
Best Uses:
Great all-around, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

Only have a few hundered miles on these but took off my old bontrager race lites and my first ride was in a down pour and a descent and were fabulous. On the dry and flats the ride has been faster and smoother!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Greatly improved ride comfort!
By DRH from Middletown, IN on 6/15/2008
Pros:
Good puncture resistance, Light weight, Rides like a tubular
Cons:
Average wear life
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

This model is a great improvement over the GP3000
in regard to ride comfort while retaining the good qualities of light weight and puncture resistance.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Stay away from this one
By Barry from Potomac, MD on 6/14/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I have been averaging about 80 miles per week. From the first ride, these tires started showing cuts and pitting. Then the rear tire cut through and the tire was ruined after two months of use. My riding is on ordinary road in suburban areas with moderate to light traffic. I have never experienced such poor durability in tires in 40 years of riding. If reliability is a concern, stay away from this one.

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great set of tires!
By Eric007bike from New Hampshire on 3/1/2007
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

In my 21 years of road cycling this is the best set of tires I have used.
I read some reviews here saying these are not puncture resistant. Where do you ride? Your best bet is to stay out of the gutter, or ride a mountain bike.
For the rest of us, these tires will give you miles of vey fast trouble free riding.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Takes Abuse
By Paco Finn from Hood River, OR on 2/4/2007
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I have read from others that this tire punctures easily. I have not had a problem with the tires in that regard. I actually had a crash (missed a corner on a descent (own fault))destroyed both rims when I hit the jagged rocks but yet the tires survived(no punctures or flats) and are still rolling great on new wheels. Make sure to keep the pressure up as they grip better than most and will begin to roll the sidewall in hard cornering if under 110 psi.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Rolls like a Dream
By I wish I rode moreVerified Reviewer from West Hartford, CT on 12/27/2006
Pros:
Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I've ridden Vittoria, Michelin and Panaracers. So far, these are the fastest tires. I have not ridden enough on them to comment on wear, rain, or punctures (about 200 miles), but love these tires for climbing and downhills. I really notice how well they roll (and how I pass others) on the downhills.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good performance, doesn't handle cuts
By MichaelVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 9/26/2006
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Cons:
Punctures Easily

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I've used these for 1 season -- 3 centuries and maybe 3,000 miles total. Excellent grip and cornering. But on 2 different occasssions this season have had numerous flats from small slices and punctures from small bits of glass and metal. Being in NYC probably makes it a bit harder for these to really be that flat resistant. It's impossible to avoid every bit of debris.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Currently have 3800 miles !
By Vinnie from Poughkeepsie, N.Y. on 9/24/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, not one flat yet, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Rain, Serious Racing/Training

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

Can't beat the price for a tire that last 4000 miles with no flats.

[5 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not great against flats
By KenVerified Reviewer from Monterey Bay, CA on 9/15/2006
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Not commuting

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

Actually, it is more of being sliced than punctured. Tire does not handle glass very well at all. I've rated them lower because they are suppose to be "flat resistant". I have found them to be so-so in holding up to the glitter that is at the side of the road.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth the Money
By LeoVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, Ca on 9/7/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

[...] These tires are fast, comfortable and show no wear after 300 plus miles. No Punctures, just smooth grippy perfromance. Well worth the money.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
A step above GP 3000
By Jeff OVerified Reviewer from Lake Charles, LA on 8/9/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I just bought these tires in the Spring 06 and have about 3000 miles and yet to have a flat. They have multiple cuts from rocks, but have not cut the casing. You can feel the lower rolling resistance compared to the GP 3000. I have ridden on the more expensive Vittoria EVO CX with the 160 psi, and these feel just as good when it comes to the rolling resistance, and are cheaper and have done a much better job at punctures.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Continental Grand Prix 4000
By ZowieVerified Reviewer from Palm Harbor, FL on 6/29/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Rain, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I am on my second set of Conti's. I previously rode a set of the GP 3000's for over 4,000 miles on the hot streets of Florida with no punctures!
I am riding the G.P. 4000's and have to say that if you keep them inflated to the 120-125 psi, they will not let you down (pun intended!). I have over 2,000 miles on this set and they show only normal wear (have small cuts from road debris), but no compromises on performance. These are stellar tires!

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Truly high performance and cut proof.
By Phil from Portland, Or on 5/5/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I always buy expensive grippy tires but in the past I see lots of cuts right away and is ultimately their downfall. In the 3-400 miles commuting miles I have, these tires have no cuts and perform just as good as other more puncture prone tires. These tire just might last more than a single season!

[36 of 36 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice, light, no punctures yet.
By Jim Black, the Daddy Mack from San Marcos California on 3/10/2006
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Mount, Fast Rolling, Flat Proof, High Quality
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Racing

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Grand Prix 4000 Road Tire:

I have about 500mi on these new tires, and they are just right. Light, and fast I bought them as race tires but I can not bring myself to switch back to my heavier clunky training tires. No flats or puntures and really easy to mount to my Mavic rims.

For the amount of miles I have on them they do not seem to be wearing much at all.

I wish the colors were a little more vivid, I eneded up getting gray because the red was not very bright.

Overall I really like them, I just wish they were less expensive.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.