Buy the Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire image
 
(based on 27 ratings)
Brand: CONTINENTAL
Located in: Tires/Tubes, Road Bike Tires, Road Tires
High mileage and incredible puncture resistance team up in the fast-rolling, Continental Ultra Gatorskin road bike tire from Continental.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 27 reviews)
96% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(25), Excellent grip(20), Good cornering(14), Low rolling resistance(12), Puncture resistant(22)
Best Uses:
Climbing(9), Commuting(17), Rain(7), Serious racing/training(18), Sprinting(6)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(15), Casual/ recreational(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(8)
 
The BEST tire I've ever used.
By KentVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 5/29/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

I have a 2008 Specialized Tarmac SL S-Works that I purchased new in 2009 and immeadiatley replaced the factory tires with these Gatorback tires. This is my third bike and all three have had these Gatorback tires. I live in Dallas Texas and the roads in Dallas are horrible. As of this review, I have close to 6,200 miles on these tires without a single problem or flat. As stated earlier, the streets in Dallas are the worst I have ever cycled on, bar none. I have gone over rough patches of street, glass, rocks, smacked some awful pot holes, you name it, these tires have absorbed it all without a problem. I have gone through several inner tubes giving out, but thses tires are still intact and riding perfectly. They handle well, they're light weight, mount easily, and climb nicely. When I go for a ride, I don't want to have to worry about my tires and if they'll survive the streets of Dallas Texas. These tires are outstanding and I recommend them without hesitation. It's the only tire I ride and I'll never ride a different tire. Buy these tires, they're the best.

 
Tough Tires
By FJR1300 from Cody, WY on 5/8/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

These tires stand up well to the rough abrasive ashpalt road surfaces here in N.W. Wyoming

 
nice tires
By Mr. A.Verified Reviewer from Wyoming on 5/1/2011
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

I have not put many miles on these tires yet, but I can tell that they are everything that has been advertised.

 
i would buy these again
By mike the #clydesdale# from avondale arizona on 3/11/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

great tires, very durable. i wouldnt buy any other tire.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
No better tire in the world than this
By SebithekidVerified Reviewer from Canoga Park ca on 1/1/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

It's my 3rd pair of gators not cause they wear down easly but because I love them I had to stock up I'm a fairly new rider but I know a great tire when I see one and this takes the cake no doubt about it get this don't think about it twice

 
Better Ride than Specialized Armadillo
By old biker billVerified Reviewer from Memphis, tn on 10/12/2010
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

I bought a pair of Armadillo's for my road bike; nearly beat me to death! While on a charity ride another rider told me about the Continentals and I ordered a pair. They offer a MUCH better ride! I am very happy with these tires.

 
great flat resistance, ok grip
By Josh from Kennewick, WA on 9/13/2010
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Corners Poorly, Poor Grip
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

wow they last a really long time and they are really flat resistant. Being a heavy rider the 700x25 rode very well, smooth and durable. I went from 1 flat every 200-300 miles on PR2, to 3200-3500 miles before a flat and even then, the stem on the tube failed first. The rear has squared some, but not terribly. I do not trust them in the corners though, great training tires, but road feel and cornering suffer for it.

 
"Worth every penny"
By JackVerified Reviewer from Tucson, AZ on 8/30/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

This tire is awesome. I have had only one flat in 1400 miles,and that was because I didn't air up the tires before I left on my ride, I hit a sharp rock going through an intersection.
As far as this tire mounting hard, I'm not sure why people would complain. I have Easton EA90 and Mavic Open Pro wheels, and I have been able to mount them on both sets of wheels with light thumb pressure.

 
Weak Sidewall
By MetMonkVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 8/13/2010
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

Replaced my Conti Ultra's thinking that this would be the smarter way to go since I ride in NYC where broken glass, shrapnel, and bad roads are just something you have to accept.

I've had to replace two of these so far. And in both cases, both flats occurred towards the sidewall. The first was me hitting a piece of shrapnel and it just tore up the side of my tire making it completely useless. The second time around, I heard my tube go out but couldn't find a puncture. After replacing the tube and pumping it up, I noticed that the side just started to swell and the bead was all messed up.

I switched to the GP 4000 a few months back and am happy to say that I've been puncture free since then.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Only Tire I Ride
By RichVerified Reviewer from Woodburn, OR on 8/3/2010
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Hard to mount
Best Uses:
Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

I've put over 10,000 miles on Gatorskin wire bead tires. While no tire is flat proof, these have proven to be very good, averaging maybe 2 to 3 thousand miles between flats. Performance had a sale on folding Gatorskins and I decided to try a pair since they're lighter and I'd heard folding tires are easier to mount. They may be as durable as the wire bead but easier to mount .... hardly! They were actually harder to mount than the wire bead tire. Next pair will probably be wire bead but Gatorskins for sure.

 
best tire ever
By jefe the bomber from newark, de on 7/26/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

best tire ever, over 400 plus miles with no flat

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tire For Us Clydesdales
By The DudeVerified Reviewer from Tucson Az. on 7/11/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

Weighing in at 260 and rolling over some not to well kept or swept roads. These tires never got a flat for over 2500 miles. They also have great handling even over all the dirt, glass, cracks, pot holes and garbage all over our once well kept roads.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Tires Ever!
By Jen the little oneVerified Reviewer from Tucson, AZ on 1/9/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

These are the best tires ever made! I was only riding 3 months and had tons of flats (Tucson roads are riddled with debris!). A fellow rider stopped to help me fix a flat and recommended these. I was fairly new to cycling and decided to learn more about them. All the reviews were positive and I was sick of having flats EVERY RIDE so I ran to my local Performance bike shop and picked up a pair. Since then I have put over 2,000 miles on them with only one slow leak due to a piece of metal that got jammed in it (I have them paired with puncture resistent tubing). I didn't realize how great these were until I checked out my riding buddies tires and mostly everyone uses them (one is partial to another brand and one has a recumbent so the size is unavailable for him). I won't ever buy another tire again!

As for the previous reviews on difficulty installing them: I am a 100 lbs female with little arm and hand strength and I got both on my bike in under 20 minutes! They are a folding tire and any decent cyclist will tell you they don't like going on the first time. If you were folded up in a small packaging you wouldn't like to be crammed on a circular wheel rim would you? My point exactly!

Buy them they are fantastic! If you are extremely worried about getting a flat, pair them with the Forte Puncture Resistent tubbing. They are 4 times the thickness of a regular tire but can be bit heavy to some (I haven't noticed a big difference). I have raced with this combo with no problems....did El Tour de Tucson with them on 6 months of riding under 7 hours. It's doable!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
exellent tires
By vwarellano from san diego, ca on 10/24/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

over 2500 miles only 2 flats, still running ok, back tire is worn, if i had tire rotation in sure they will go over 3000 miles.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice tires but hard to mount
By MiamiBiker from Miami,FL on 6/4/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

I just purchased these tires and they seem very well made and durable. However, they are a serious pain to mount and had I known just how difficult I wouldn't have purchased the foldable kind. Also, they say to only mount on hooked rims which was not included on the specs page of these tires. So unless you have newer, hooked rims you are wasting your money on these expensive tires.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Dynamite
By Lookout Mt. Demon from Golden, CO on 5/10/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

After flatting twice on the glass laden streets of the 2007 El Tour de Tucson, I decided to compromise between a high performance tire and a tank tread. I finished in Platinum and kept the tires on all winter with two more races on the treads. I am now going to keep the same pair of tires for a 1400 solo bike ride to Michigan. Will taunt the midwest goatheads to slow me down. Dollar for dollar, there is no comparison for tires.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tandem tire
By Hank from Denver, CO on 3/19/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant, Safe
Best Uses:
Climbing, Rain, Tandem use
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

These tires are the only rubber I will put on our tandem, although I also run them on my fixed gear bike in the city.I agree with the comments re durability and flat resistance, but when we approach sixty mph on our tandem, I like the safety aspect of these tires. I run the front tire until I see wear in the middle of the tread, then move that tire to the back wheel. After that, I move the tire to my fixie.

As to cost, I could have bought a car for the price of our tandem, so I don't care. Nothing beats the security of a good tire at speed.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tire
By DneboyVerified Reviewer from Phila, PA on 1/7/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Long Life, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

This will be my third set of these tires.
The first two were wire beads, the third will be kevlar.
Wire beads were a little difficult to mount.
The first I only had two puntures in over 3000 miles. The second set I had no punctures with a little over 4000 miles on them, I do rotate every 1000 miles. I could probably get another 1000 to 1500 miles on the second set, showing little wear.

Ordering the kevlar, though they are more, I am hoping they will be easier to mount\dismoount.
I recommed these tire to "EVERYONE".

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
2800 mi. and very happy with the Gators
By docsroute from Central Massachusetts on 12/27/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Very Difficult to Mount
Best Uses:
Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

I purchased a pair of these last year near the end of the cycling season, put 200 miles on them and used them this year to put 2600 more miles on them.I ride on rough roads with lots of glass , metallic debris and other sharp stuff and had one puncture on a thumb tack. They are initially very difficult to mount on a rim, but I found the remount after the one flat was easy. The tire had softened and stretched a bit to make it alot easier to remount.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tires
By Roger the rider from Arvada, CO on 11/27/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

I love this tire. No puncture flats and one flat from a hole. Very easy to change tire. Much easier to change than the wire bead variety.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
No flats at 800 miles
By Ridin' RickVerified Reviewer from Foster City, CA on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

After 10 flats in 3000 miles on my last tires, I got these. Got 800 miles on them so far and no flats! They run extremely well. Love them!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
No Flats with this tire
By frisbee91Verified Reviewer from Delaware on 8/18/2008
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

I was getting one flat per week with the sharp stones and road debris I encounter on my commute. With the gatorskins, I've had no flats in over a month. I got the folding kind because they were out of the wire type at my local store. I think they were a little hard to mount, but I guess that's just preference. They are a bit pricey, but it beats wasting time with a flat.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
What a silky ride
By Fresh Air from Del Mar, CA on 7/11/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

I purchased these tires because of their reputation as good puncture resistant tires. But surprise! They are so silky compared to the stock tires that came on my bike. I love them, what a sweet ride.

[9 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Tires
By SpidermanVerified Reviewer from B.I., WA on 1/2/2007
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Serious Racing/Training

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

Put these tires on just before I did the Tour of the Unknown Coast in Northern California. The locals call parts of the road as "skectchy". Well they were more than that - pot holes, gravel/dirt parts, ect. These tires were unbelivable. No flats, rode solid and cornered! I have now put on 2,500 miles without a single flat.

[9 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
The BEST bike tire ever made!
By Fla-roadieVerified Reviewer from Tampa Bay on 11/24/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

Simply put, I have tried many other road tires on the market and these Ultra Gatorskins are by far the best. So far I have 2000 miles on this set with NO flats, and I have ran over some nasty stuff. The ride quality is decent as is the rolling resistance and the Kevlar bead keeps the weight down to an acceptable level.
Superb tire, I will never buy anything else!

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
good tires
By ivan from tacoma on 10/19/2006
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
no flats

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

no flats at 2000 miles!

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Use them, love them!
By Jeff, the truck driver from Toledo,OR on 10/15/2006
Pros:
Damn near punture proof, Durable, Good Value, High Quality, Looks great
Best Uses:
Urban riding

Comments about CONTINENTAL Continental Ultra Gatorskin Folding Road Tire:

I'm an over the road truck driver, my favorite form of fun is to pull my bike out of the sleeper and explore where ever I'm at. These tires let me do that without having to worry about fixing a flat in a sometimes less than desirable location. I've pulled glass, thorns, a thumb tack out of the tread with no punture to the caseing, Killer tire, I'll never use anything else!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.