Buy the Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: PANARACER
Located in: Tires/Tubes, Road Bike Tires, Road Tires
With the Panaracer Urban Max Road Bike Tire you can hit the city streets on a tire designed for them!
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(12), Excellent grip(8), Good cornering(7), Low rolling resistance(9), Puncture resistant(12)
Best Uses:
Commuting(15), Rain(7)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(7), Commuter(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(4)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cross Continent Performer
By Freddie from La Verne, CA on 5/22/2011
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

Did 3346 miles across the U.S. with only one set of tires, and only two flats from glass or wires.

 
Excellent for Commuting
By Les the CommuterVerified Reviewer from Petersburg, VA on 5/15/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
High Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

Exceptional tire. I commute/ride about 70-200 miles a week. I ride through an industrial area and was getting punctures and cuts every week on the original Kenda's that I had. I went in to Performance to buy the Forte Strada K tire but they seemed just as soft and thin as the Kenda Swifts. I bought the Panaracers because they seemed the toughest of all the road tires in stock. After 4 weeks, no flats, very little wear on the tire. I'm very impressed by the tires

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Intermittent quality
By RooddoggieVerified Reviewer from Tacoma, WA on 2/9/2011
Pros:
Excellent Grip
Cons:
Punctures Easily, Spotty quality
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

I commute to work on smooth, paved trails and intalled these tires 50 miles ago. After 2 flats I took the tire off to discover 4 separate punctures and slices through the tread in different places on the tire. Prior to purchasing examine the interior of each tire carefully.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
great tire...
By Adam the Olde Guy...Verified Reviewer from San Francisco, CA on 2/3/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

This is a pretty new arrival for me so i'm still in the test stage but so far i'm pretty impressed w/it...like the higher pressure(i got the700x32 for my city-bike) was under the impression that i couldn't use such a wide tire on my (front)Mavic Open Pro but the nice fellow at REI told me i could...(was using a Continental 28c Gatorskin which was lighter(i used to find myself popping wheelies all of the time w/that one;)I thought that was the only tire made in a first world country but this one is 'Made in Japan'(recall when that was derided as a sign of cheapness??)but this is and is cheaper as well.[...].i found the ride quality suffered w/the Conti at 116 lbs(rated pressure) so my wrists really appreciate this...Also went down on a corner on wet brick during a rainy spell we had w/the Conti and i expect this tire to be a bit more stable...(Was keeping the tires as slick as possible for the rollers but haven't been using 'em w/this bike...)And hey-it's a Panasonic(!) didn't notice that before but as a wannabe geek i kinda like that:)Rolling resistance will be a bit more but the tradeoff between that and comfort is definitely worth it.(to moi anywae)

 
AWESOME for MTB's/Hybrids!
By ksibetVerified Reviewer from Orange County on 8/24/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

I bought these for a bike ride down in Mexico for the 50 mile bike ride from Rosarito to Ensenada. Since I didn't have a road bike at the time, I decided to buy thinner tires, so it would make the bike ride a bit easier aerodynamically. They definitely made a difference and helped me out up that darn mountain in the freaking sun. These are nice, rough, gripping tires and thin enough to ride a mountain bike or hybrid bike to go a bit faster.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Commuter Tire
By Rain or ShineVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 5/27/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

I've had these tires for about 9 months and have had absolutely no issues. I put these on my touring/ wet weather commuting frame and have been extremely pleased. I commute daily through the streets of Chicago year round, and have yet to flat (60+ miles per week). Glass, potholes, random wires, and curb hopping are all in a days work with no issues. They are a little heavy, but on a steel frame with full fenders and a rack the weight isn't really even noticed.

I finally rotated the front and back at about 2000 miles, but only because it seemed like the right thing to do and not because there was a significant amount of wear.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great commuter tires
By Up hill both waysVerified Reviewer from Everett, WA on 1/30/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

Best commuter tires I've owned. Great high pressure, low rolling resistance tire for commuting. Commuted all summer, fall, and into the winter with no flats - about 800 miles. I used to ride slicks on the road, but the cornering was too scary on rain-slicked Northwest roads. No problem with these. Highly recommended.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for my daily commute!
By Seattlite CyclistVerified Reviewer from Seattle, WA on 12/9/2009
Pros:
Durable, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

The Urban Max came with an 80s hybrid road bike I bought from a friend. It was used for rear, and the front uses a slicker and narrower tire(28) from another brand. One flat after more than 800 miles, compared to three with the front. To my surprise, this Panaracer tire still looked fairly new without much wear. It's worth the money!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tire -gets the job done!
By JBikeVerified Reviewer from Newark DE on 10/20/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

Bought 700x32's for my cyclocross bike hoping to solve problems commuting on glass/debris strewn roads and they continue to surprise me with their durability and confident feel on the road.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Surprisingly Bad Puncture Resistance
By CommutaDocVerified Reviewer from Colororado Springs, CO on 8/19/2009
Pros:
Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

Bought these based on the name and reputation- after 2 years of Colorado mountain biking without a flat using MTB tires, I had 3 flats in a week when I switched to the Urban Max for commuting in the city (75% bike paths). All the flats were in different locations on the tire. I didn't ride them long enough to comment on the wear- I ditched them and went back to MTB tires- 500 miles without a flat now- I think I'll stick with REAL tires over low rolling resistance....

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent commuting tire
By Matt from Chandler,AZ on 8/2/2009
Pros:
Durable, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

I am using the 700cc size and have over 1600 miles on Phoenix area streets with only one flat which only happened because I hit a nail just right. No visible signs of wear yet. I'll buy them again.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value
By PacoVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 6/15/2009
Pros:
Durable, Inexpensive, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

I've had these on my commuter for over a year. I haven't had any flats. The rear is just starting to show wear after 2,000 miles. Great value in a tire.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good tires, advertised weight is far off
By JimVerified Reviewer from Florida on 3/25/2009
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

Performance advertises weight of 26 x 1.25 at 260g.
Actual weight is 360g. That is way too much of difference!
Otherwise they are good, reliable, puncture resistant tires. I've ridden about 1000 miles and have not seen hardly any wear.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tire - no punctures -
By Garytrueblue from Los Angeles, CA on 3/13/2009
Pros:
Durable Casing, Great traction, Long Wearing
Cons:
Low pressure capability, Shallow tread depth
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rough road cycling, Touring
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

Used these for two week tour in europe with LOTS of weight (40+ lbs of gear and me 210 lbs) and some rough roads, no flats, no problems. Some experience with wet weather and they have been great. Ive even done some rocky singletrack with them without any pinch-flats (60psi). They have an additional inner casing that adds puncture resistance and a bit of weight.
Nice overall and very confidence inspiring in corners.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Been pleased, buying again
By Dave of Boston from Newton, MA on 10/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Moderate-paced road rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

I found these tires durable, and as billed, puncture-resistant. I communte on city streets in and around Boston, over 1,000 miles per year. I use a cyclocross bike.
I bought 3 tires (I usually buy in 3's since rears wear faster) almost 2,000 miles ago. Each rear tire was on for 800-1,000 miles, front still had a bit of life left after 2 rears were finished. In all those miles, I suferred one flat in each rear tire, in both cases after I notced it was worn, but was too lazy to replce (until the flat). Front never suffered a flat.
I replaced with 23s (from another brand) which are only slightly faster, but twitchier and not nearly as good for commuting through pot holes and jumping on/off curbs.
These Panaracers are fast enough to keep up on friendly weekend road rides (those friends all on racing bikes with narrower tires), durable enough for commuting and they also do just fine in the rain.
(I am ditching my new 23's ang getting 3 more Panaracers.)

[15 of 17 customers found this review helpful]

 
Puncture resistant and practical
By Dan the CommuterVerified Reviewer from College Park, MD on 12/6/2006
Pros:
Good Grip, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Quality control issues
Best Uses:
Commuting, Touring

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

I bought a pair of these about 2 months ago. I had been having numerous problems with flats due to glass on the local roads, and those stopped immediately when I got these tires. They are in my opinion an ideal compromise between too-fragile 28 mm road tires and 35 mm cyclocross tires. They are quiet and they grip well.

The only reason I don't give these 5 stars is because one of my tires had a DEFECTIVE SEAM. The casing tore and caused a flat after about 3 weeks of using these. Returning it was easy, Performance is always good about that. But there are obviously some quality control issues with this tire model.

[4 of 17 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't Bother
By randomdancerVerified Reviewer from Boulder, CO on 10/8/2006

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

Puncture resistance is terrible. I've had five flats in about 900 miles, due to thorns, broken glass, and one teddy bear. Just kidding. But seriously, you can't advertise a tire as being "urban" if you forgot that means "increased likelihood of punctures."
Completely unreliable. I'm throwing these away.

[24 of 24 customers found this review helpful]

 
Durable as promised
By BrownbearVerified Reviewer from Paducah, KY on 8/22/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain

Comments about PANARACER Panaracer Urban Max Road Tire:

Put a set on my Surly Cross-Check that I use for commuting and other casual riding including gravel roads and trails. They have held up well in the over 2000 miles I have on them so far with no flats. The tread shows very little wear. They are quiet, provide a comfortable ride and seem to have fairly low rolling resistance. Well worth the money if you want a durable general use tire,

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.