Buy the Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire image
 
(based on 29 ratings)
Brand: VITTORIA
Located in: Tires/Tubes, Road Bike Tires, Road Tires
The same great training/racing performance as the Vittoria Rubino Tech road bike tire is now available with a slick tread pattern in the Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick road tire.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 29 reviews)
92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(18), Excellent grip(17), Good cornering(20), Low rolling resistance(21), Puncture resistant(16)
Cons:
Punctures easily(6), Wears easily(3)
Best Uses:
Climbing(12), Commuting(5), Rain(4), Serious racing/training(19), Sprinting(10)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(16), Competitive cyclist(7)
Was this a gift?:
No(11)
 
Does the job
By Mark from Brunswick, ME on 6/16/2011
Pros:
Easy to Mount
Best Uses:
Commuting, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

Good value tire. Basic looking all black, slick. Rides fine. No problems so far...no flats, no sliding in the wet. I can't tell a difference in handling from previous tires. Installed with just hands and average effort.

 
Great Tire!
By Ralph the rider from Milton. NY on 6/2/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

Have been using these on all of my bikes over the last 3 years .... There great!

 
Good replacement for Michelin Krylions
By Lew from Taneytown, MD on 6/2/2011
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
High mileage
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

Changed to the Rubino Pro Slicks when the Krylions went up in price (they have very similar specs). I get about 7000 mile out of a set. I consider them worn out when you can see cord under the rubber, or start having a lot of flats. I weigh 165, inflate them to 115psi, and do 5-6000 miles a year. They just came out with a 700-25 which might be better for heavier riders

 
Flats
By dweebVerified Reviewer from L.A. on 5/30/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Climbing, Sprinting, Working Out
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

Tires came on my Scattante bike. I've had three punctures in the last three rides. Simple pinholes in the tubes that a better tire would have prevented.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
big difference
By deeVerified Reviewer from manteca on 3/28/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

i just swapped out my pro mondo II's and installed these tires. wow what a difference! i was doubtful of how these would perform on open roads and right away i noticed a +2mph diff.compared to my pro mondo II on the same gear. i pumped frnt/back tires to 118psi in cold weather.my pro mondo II's were good, but attracted too many flats and i was constantly digging out small thorns and glass

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome tires!
By mrc222a from Schaumburg, IL on 3/28/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

Long distance riding

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tire for the price
By SteveVerified Reviewer from Huntington Beach, CA on 1/7/2011
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I have put over 2000 miles on these tires and not a single flat. I inflate to 120+ psi before every ride and I weigh 190 lbs. The rolling resistance isn't as good as some higher-priced/higher-TPI tires, but for the price, they can't be beat!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent tire
By Joho from Minneapolis on 12/10/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

Fantastic tire! I get lots of miles and hardly any flats on these tires. Superb tire! Better than anything else I have tried, just a bit heavier that is the only drawback.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great TRAINING tire
By HabiVerified Reviewer from East Bay, CA on 9/25/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

Bottom line...this is a training tire. If you want a race tire, buy something else. I have used these tires for my whole time riding...20+ years. Although they have come in different names, thier construction remains the same. Solid! You won't be disappointed in the all around performance of this great tire.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Tire
By JEELx4Verified Reviewer from SA, TX on 9/6/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I'm 205 lbs and inflate to 120-125 PSI no problem. I've run these tires for 5,500 miles with one flat and just bought my second set. Great bang for the buck!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
great tire for the money
By shibamanVerified Reviewer from Sacramento Ca. on 9/4/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I have used this tire on the Death Ride, Auburn Century, and many other hard rides. I have the utmost faith in this tire. Sticky in the corners, flat resistant, not too heavy, and lasts a long time.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
and going and going and going...
By MotiveForcerVerified Reviewer from Bloomfield Hills, MI on 8/3/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Most miles ever, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

These tires came with my Felt F1C several years ago. I rode them and rotated them and even I can't believe what I'm about to write but I got over 5,000 miles on one of the tires and finally pulled the other off when it went over 6,000 miles and there still weren't any threads showing! When they came in I didn't pay any attention to the pressure recommendations as my buddy told me they were rated to 145 lbs. so I typically pumped them up for fast training rides and several races to 140. (I weigh 180 lbs.) Turns out they aren't rated that high but they rode great and I won a race on them which was of course a very good event. I don't find them as pliable as some other tires (for handling), say the Vittoria EVO CX's but for a quantum price point lower and still at a weight that I will train and race on, 230 grams, I found these to be remarkable. Our roads in Michigan are less than pristine but I think I only had one flat on them for all those miles. They did not get cut up and they just kept on going. So for general fast training with some races mixed in I would rate it a 10! For use as a race day only tire I might suggest something with a little more "feel" and slightly lighter, such as the EVO CX's or perhaps a Vredestein SL.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great ride.
By ChurchmouseVerified Reviewer from Bloomington In on 7/18/2010
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Climbing, Rain, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

These tires ride and corner great, but are not as punture resitant as the Kevlar belted tires I normally use. I have had two flats in 1200 miles, more than normal for me.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best tire for the money
By idol bikerVerified Reviewer from sacramento, ca on 6/26/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I am a big rider at 230lbs and i have put over 800 miles on these tires, most of which are on a paved bike trail. I have not had a puncture, they do not have any cuts and the side walls are not cracking. I inflate to 115 psi before every ride and have not had a problem at all. i feel like i am riding faster but that could just be my perception becuase i got new tires. these replaced s set of vittoria zaffiro road tires.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
the best
By looker from Dayton, OH on 4/30/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I have ridden nothing but Vittoria Rubino Pro tires for about 4 years. Usually average around 4,000 miles per year. In all that time, I have had 2 flats. Usually replace the rear about every 3,000 miles, the front about every 4,000. They can be a little difficult to mount to the rim. I would not consider any other tire at this price.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value, Ride & Handling
By RapolsiveVerified Reviewer from Malvern, PA on 3/19/2010
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Climbing, Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I got these for last year to replace the aging Bontrager Race Lite tires that my used bike came with. They were on sale and had good reviews on here so I thought they would be good. I had a few punctures in the dry hot summers in the bay area of CA but I contribute that to the roads full of glass and debris. One day was the worse when I had 2 punctures the same ride on the same tire. I rode a century with no problem. I noticed when I rode these tires at around 105 psi and they were worn in that they rode well with no punctures. Be careful of riding them at high psi would be my advice. I would scoop up another pair on sale.

 
good buy
By long range commuter from seattle on 1/5/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

had these tires on my litespeed lasted over 2k with 2 punctures both by staple, durable and dependable tires, got another set for the bike no punctures yet at 700mile

[0 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Flat Tire King
By G HiggsVerified Reviewer from Stanford, CA on 11/14/2009
Pros:
Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I just bought these brand new tires and installed them the day of a 70 mile bike ride. The tires held up well for the first 30 miles, but afterwards I needed to stop every 10 miles to fix a flat. Every time I did so, it was a battle to get the tires off and back on. Despite my biking experience and knowing better, I was forced to use levers to put the tire back on. Overall, very disappointing.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good, durable training tire
By JKVerified Reviewer from Folsom, CA on 7/24/2009
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

Have put about 800 miles on these tires so far, including a 4-day 400 mile tour down the California coast. The tires are holding up exceptionally well. No punctures, not a single cut in the casing. My only criticism might be that they don't feel particularly "supple" at 120 psi. The casing is 120 TPI which should result in a supple tire so perhaps it's the PRB puncture resistant material under the tread that is making the tire feel "hard". I'd prefer a "softer" tire for racing but I think these tires are good for training.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tire for the $
By Smitty from NC on 1/1/2009
Pros:
Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I've been very satisfied with this tire. I have 1500 miles on my current set and not a single flat yet! These tires work great in a variety of situations - I've used them in crits and in the mountains. They corner well on tricky descents and fast corners. The only negative in my experience has been on wet road surfaces. Otherwise, this is a great tire.

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Minimal puncture resistance
By Faceplant from Lafayette, CO on 10/28/2008
Pros:
Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I'm more into mountain biking than road biking but I commute to work 5 miles each way on bike. Anyway, 1st flat in the 1st 30 miles. I got a goat's head about 1/16 inch to the side of the center tread. Either the Kevlar belt is just only about 3/8 inch wide and only under the center tread or it is just easily punctured. This tire is quite limited at reducing thorn punctures. The cheaper Forte with Kevlar performs about as well. I bought these tires for [$] and I think that tips the bank for any tire when you compare how much material is in a bike tire compared to a car tire. Since so little material goes into a bike tire for the money, they could surely put more Kevlar belting into them. I wouldn't recommend it for over $30.

[3 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent tire for the money
By SlickVerified Reviewer from Aliso Viejo, CA on 10/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

Replaced my Conti's with this for a century charity ride and the difference was tremendous. Quick rolling, smooth gliding, quiet, tacky enough for those attacks through the corners and up the hills...felt like I was flying a stealth fighter. I'm still waiting for my cycling buddies to catch up to me....

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
great tire for racing
By HawkeyeVerified Reviewer from Lake St. Louis, MO on 9/8/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I have put over 2000 miles on these tires and I have not punctured a tube yet. Amazing! The tires have many cuts on them and the sidewalls have developed several cracks. I enjoy how these tires ride.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tires very resistant to flats
By MauiVerified Reviewer from Knoxville, TN on 8/18/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Rain
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

Great Tire I have them on all my Road bikes the Kevlar compound is very durable. The only con on this tires is they can't be folded up and put in your pocket because they are so rigid..But it is not necessary because they are flat resistant.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Smooth & Fast!
By JeffVerified Reviewer from Buffalo, NY on 8/10/2008
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

Got these just prior to a Sprint tri, and mounted them promptly on arrival (i know better to make last minute changes, but had no choice). put in a couple rides before the tri to break them in, and they worked great on race day. I find them to be very fast with smooth ride. can't comment on durability yet, but no issues thus far. i did find the width to be a bit narrower than my old 700x23's, but that could be b/c my old tires were so flattened out. overall - highly recommended.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Happy with this tire
By Tellico JimVerified Reviewer from Loudon, TN on 4/23/2008
Pros:
Durable, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I have put 3000 miles on the first set of these tires, bought my Litespeed on Ebay secondhand and don't know how many miles they had before. I was worrying about the life and had my first flat today, ordering a new set.

I am an amateur rider so answering some of the other questions is difficult, ride about 105 miles per week.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
They came on my litespeed, I like them..
By C TrainVerified Reviewer from Piney Flats, TN on 8/20/2006
Pros:
Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Good all around tire

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

I like the tires, handles good, rides good, good value for the money.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice all-around tires
By JeffVerified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 7/13/2006
Pros:
Good Cornering
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

They do get cut up pretty easily... last pair lasted around 1500 miles, albeit on pretty nasty roads. On the other hand, they're easy to mount, light, and corner well -- I've never crashed on them, as I have on cheap, no-brand tires all too often -- so I'll keep 'em!

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
MY NEW FAVORITE TIRE!
By FELT THIS! from COLORADO on 7/11/2006
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Climbing, Sprinting

Comments about VITTORIA Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Road Tire:

LOVE THIS TIRE!! FAST AND HAS EXCELLENT GRIP! THE ONLY CON IS THAT IT IS A BIT SOFT, SO I HAVE A FEW SMALL CUTS....BUTS THATS AFTER 700+ MILES. ITS ALSO A LITTLE PRICEY BUT WORTH IT!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.