Buy the Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire on http://www.performancebike.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Michelin
Located in: Triathlon, Triathlete Bike Gear, Tires/ Wheels
100% Silica Energy rubber mix for excellent grip and low rolling resistance Casing with cross-ply fibers for flexibility, performance and light weight Puncture resistant reinforcement minimizes the effect of tread cuts
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 11 reviews)

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(7), Excellent grip(9), Good cornering(8), Low rolling resistance(8), Puncture resistant(4)
Cons:
Wears easily(3)
Best Uses:
Climbing(5), Serious racing/training(8)
 
The Gold Standard
By JohnVerified Reviewer from Billings, MT on 1/8/2007
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training

Comments about Michelin Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire:

This tire seems to have become the "gold standard" by which other tires are measured. Durability is exceptional for a race tire like this. With a softer compound tire, one would expect fast wear, but I've had my second pair for over 3,000 miles. My first pair lasted 2,100 miles.

Grip is good. I have used more grippy tires (Bontrager Race X Lite) but these only lasted 800 miles.

I will buy these again!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super low rolling resistance.
By XrockettXVerified Reviewer from Ventura, Ca on 11/12/2006
Pros:
Durable, High Quality
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Fast Training, Light weight, Racing

Comments about Michelin Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire:

Love these tires! Will never ride anything else.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tires
By ToddVerified Reviewer from San Francisco, CA on 9/22/2006
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Expensive But worth it
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training

Comments about Michelin Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire:

My wife and I just got back from Cycle Oregon. In 500 miles of chip seal, glass, rocks and just about anything else you can think of, I did not have a single flat. Very fast tires with low rolling resistence. I will purchase these tires again without hesitation.

 
Awesome tires -- See below
By ScottVerified Reviewer from Irvine, CA on 9/8/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training

Comments about Michelin Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire:

Over 2800 miles on these tires and the back (no rotation) is finally showing a bit of tread. During that entire time, I have had one pinch and one puncture flat. I ride mostly decent road surfaces but some glass & rocks are always there. Also, I am a bit lighter than most (155#) so may not be as prone to punctures.

Still, the ride on these tires is smooth and true (even now) and the cornering has been great.

It is time for me to buy another pair.

Happy riding.
Scott

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I WILL purchase this product again
By YuppiepuppieVerified Reviewer from Grayson, GA on 7/26/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Rain, Serious Racing/Training

Comments about Michelin Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire:

I purchased two sets of these tires prior to the Bike Ride Across Georgia, and have been exceptionally satisfied with the performance and results. They seem to roll better than previous tires that I've used (-could be my imagination) and I don't notice the normal cuts and abrasions that seem to form after a thousand miles. I weigh 195 pounds, and my riding partner is around 140 lbs, so the weight span between the two of us is significant. Still, we both have experienced a remarkable ride, even on roads that would be considered marginal. I highly recommend these tires, and will ultimately replace them with the same brand/type.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pro2 Race...These are Rocket Ships!!
By III from Lehigh Valley, PA on 7/9/2006
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training, Sprinting

Comments about Michelin Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire:

These tires are smooth, supple, fast and they stick in the corners. They are excellent tires for racing or fast training. They are a great ride but with anything like this there are trade-offs. The speed and great cornering are offset by the quick wear. Don't expect to get a full season out of them. Currently I have 1000 miles on them and the rear tire has flattened on the top. All in all I'd ride them again.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fast Tires, Good Life
By EdVerified Reviewer from East of Pittsburgh, PA on 7/5/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
No wear indicators
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training

Comments about Michelin Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire:

I put over 2,000 miles on the rear tire before noticing wear. Actually it went from no noticeable wear to threadbare in places pretty quickly. Still I can't complain. They are light and have a very nice road feel. The front tire is fine. I will definitely buy them again.

[6 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not for larger riders
By Jon MagsVerified Reviewer from A Mile High on 6/26/2006
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily, Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Climbing, Serious Racing/Training

Comments about Michelin Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire:

I have used these tires for only approxiamtely 500 miles now and another 50-100 on my trainer this past winter. I have had a number of flats on the rear wheel since I went over 500 miles (on computer). The front has been fine. These might not be the best rear tires for larger riders. I commute 30 miles/day and am switching the rear tire out to something better suited to durability. ROCK ON and ride safe!!

Performance Bike Response: It is always best to choose a tire based on how you will be using it. This tire is designed for maximum performance in race conditions. Resistance trainers wear soft compound race tires very quickly.
--Performance Tech

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pretty good tires
By King Green Bean from TN on 6/18/2006
Pros:
They're yellow
Cons:
Wears Easily

Comments about Michelin Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire:

I think they wear a little fast. They got a flat spot on the rear wheel after approx 1200 miles. Previous Michelins did a little better. But, they're light and fast.

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
lots of good fast miles
By long time cyclist from rochester mi sarasota florida on 5/11/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant, Very puncture resistant
Best Uses:
Climbing, Long fast tours

Comments about Michelin Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire:

I get about 5000 miles on my rear tire and the front lasts forever.

[15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent tires
By Simi CyclistVerified Reviewer from Simi Valley, CA on 5/6/2006
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training

Comments about Michelin Michelin Pro 2 Race Road Tire:

Have been using these and the original Pro Race for a couple years now. Excellent grip. Great cornering. Wears quite well. My current set has over 1000 miles with no visible cuts. My Synapse came with Hutchinsons which were thrashed in no time, then I switched to the Michelins.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2009 Performance Bike All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.