Buy the Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame on http://www.nashbar.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Nashbar
Located in: Bicycles, Frames, Frames/Bikes
Upgrade! Get carbon where it counts. Our hydroformed Kinesium Aluminum frame has Kinesis carbon wishbone seatstays. Compact sizing reduces tubing lengths resulting in a lighter, stiffer frame, while increasing standover height. Custom 3 step paint process results in a striking red that really shines in the sun. No fussy integrated head tubes here, we used a standard head tube for 1 1/8" threadless headsets. Build Requirements: 27.2 seatpost, 31.8mm seat collar, 31.8 clamp-on front derailleur, 130mm rear hub spacing, 700c wheels, 1 1/8" fork and headset. Downtube and Top Tube decals are not applied.

See built up Nashbar frames in our !

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Attractive(6), Attractive design(4), Durable(3), Handles well(7), Lightweight(8)
Best Uses:
Road biking(10)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(6)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better for Shorter People
By andykVerified Reviewer from Simpsonville, SC on 10/23/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Handles Well
Cons:
Weak paint
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame:

I'm 5 feet 6 inches tall. I purchased the 50 cm frame. The geometry feels much more stable than my first road bike i got online only 5 months earlier! The head tube angle and top tube length differentiate this AluC frame from other small bikes and/or frame designs. It seems to have the advantages of a larger size frame's stability, without sacrificing standover height.

The paint color looks bright and flashy, but it can be dinged-off rather easily if struck.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Price/performance can't be beat
By Home Bru Bikes from Maine and Florida on 10/13/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame:

I built my first bike to take to our vacation home. I found the ride every bit as nice as my carbon fiber framed bike. When I wanted to try Campy equipment I built another, then I wanted to try SRAM. I've built them for all of my family that ride - a total of 11 bikes.

We ride in the hills and on flats, 20 mile to 100+ miles, and for the money you can't beat it (maybe you just can't beat it period). They're definitely worth using some nice components.

I'm always getting asked what kind of bike it is and getting positive comments

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bang for the buck!
By Wheelie_PeteVerified Reviewer from Springfield, OR on 10/6/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Handles Well
Cons:
Brittle Paint
Best Uses:
Commuting, Criterium bike, Rain bike, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame:

I had enough boxes of parts laying around that I figured I could build another bike for wet rides and Tuesday night criteriums (always good to have a bike you don't really care that much about if you're going to do battle in a crowded criterium).Any way, the frame is a great deal for the money. But it is a [$] frame... My biggest complaint is that the paint job is one of the worst that I have ever experienced. My frame's paint is super brittle and cracks/flakes if you look at it sideways. The paint was applied so heavily that I had to face the bottom bracket...a LOT...to get a good surface for the external BB cups. Ditto on the head tube. Using really, really, nice cutters and reamers (read...very very sharp tools) the paint still chipped around the cut areas. No biggie, it's a [$] frame... I just got out the red sharpie and "fixed" the chips. If I had had the time I would have just stripped the whole thing down and powdercoated it. I bet you could shave another 1/4 lb off the bike just by stripping the paint.The frame isn't as stiff as I would have expected from a massive aluminum downtube, which makes it pretty comfortable on long rides and protracted climbs, but it doesn't sprint all that well...again...a [$] frame. I was actually pleasantly surprised how comfortable it was on a nice 50 miler I did Saturday.I would say, if you need to build up a backup bike, or a rain bike you can't beat this deal. Just be prepared to shell out another $40-$60 at a local shop for facing on the BB and the headtube so that your install of the BB and the headset works properly. Still, for under $200 an amazing deal for this frame.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awsome Frame!
By SpandexVerified Reviewer from Redmond, WA on 8/6/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame:

Best frame for the price hands down! After looking at other frames in the same price range I decided on the AluC. What a great choice!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Smooth 18lbs
By spikeVerified Reviewer from MT on 7/29/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame:

Very happy with this frame. Right around 18lbs with sram red shifters and rival derailluers. FSA aero RD600 wheels (really nice).

Might go with a sram red rear derail the rival pulleys seem a little noisy?

REALLY fast. I notice the carbon dampening for sure. Overall I am less fatigued/numb after a 50 mile ride.

I am between the MED and SMALL sizes. Because of the slack top tube i could probaly get away with a meduim as far as standover. BUT..the Top Tube length is on the long side and I would not want to be any more stretched out. So i went with the SMALL. I am 5'5" 30" inseem. I put a zero degree 90mm stem on it with compact fsa carbon bars.

Again..Very happy with the frame I like the "no brand stickers also...Just tell everyone it is "custom made".

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Absolutely great frame for price.
By GeorgeVerified Reviewer from Spokane, WA on 7/26/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Comfortable ride, Handles Well, Lightweight, Positive comments
Cons:
Paint chips easily
Best Uses:
Back-up road bike, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame:

I transferred the Ultegra 10 gruppo and everything else from my custom Calfee Tetra to this frame while the Calfee was being repaired after a tragic encounter with the garage door. I was really blown away by the ride when I had the bike out the first time and was worried I wouldn't be able to tell much difference from the Calfee when I got it back. Now I have a great bike for riding in the rain, taking on airplane trips and riding the trainer. Plus, I had a great excuse to upgrade the components on the new Calfee (which weighed a few grams more that the same size Alu-C frame). I couldn't be happier with my purchase at the [$]price. Even better price now.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best bike for the price!!!!!!!
By Pepe' La PewVerified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 5/25/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Lightweight
Cons:
Paint scratches easily
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame:

I still can't believe how great this frame is. I switched over all my mid grade components to this frame and it only weighs in at 19 pounds. It wouldn't be much harder to get it to 17 pounds. The price is the cheapest I've found, especially with carbon fiber seat stays.
I'm a century rider, and got many compliments on the color on my last century ride. My complete bike is only about 1.5lb heavier than most carbon fiber bikes and only cost me a third of the total price.
I did notice that the top tube is a bit long in relation to the seat tube leangth, but that can easily be compensated for with a shorter stem.
The only thing I've noticed is the paint does chip off fairly easily, but it's such a classic red, that automotive touch up paint will cover up the few nicks on the under side.
A must buy for anyone building their own bike!!!!

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Frame, good price
By Clark GriswoldVerified Reviewer from Tomball, Tx on 5/13/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame:

Upgraded from existing frame. I was able to swap over all components except the fork. The steering neck was longer on this bike than my existing one, but it allowed me to upgrade my fork while I was at it!
First weekend I did 77 miles and love the frame - it rode much smoother than my old one.

[10 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Heads will turn!
By highspeeddeathVerified Reviewer from Battle Creek, MI on 3/26/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame:

Great frame, great hill climber and sprinter and all day comfort. The red is beautiful. Put over 2500 miles on 2008 season, bike paint looks new! I built mine with high-end components. I suggest a set of aero wheels for this bike. also suggest a full carbon fork. Frame can be built to 17 pounds if you desire. You can't do any better for the buck.

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
great frame
By trekwinilizedVerified Reviewer from Swartz Creek, MI on 3/15/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar AluC (pronounced a-lu see) Road Frame:

great took getting hit by a car to damage. carbon was still good after crash.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 Nashbar All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.